We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but with a Couple Big Negatives” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windrift Resort Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windrift Resort Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia,SC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice but with a Couple Big Negatives”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed at Windrift in Signature 1 BR Suite for 3 nights while in the area for a wedding. The room set up was very nice and comfortable (fold out couch, 2 bathrooms etc) BUT the room came complete with a couple big negatives.

The room had 2 small balconies but they were essentially unusable because we were directly above the exhaust fans and garbage area for the restaurant. Also, the room was next to the elevator and it made so much noise we literally ran the bathroom fan all night to drown out some of the noise.

Not exactly what one expects in a $400+ room. Anyway, a mixed bag. Nice, renovated property but beware of these drawbacks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Creekcrawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    54
    26
    15
    22
See reviews for
73
45
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodhaven, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I've been coming to this hotel since 1977 and I go back every year. I love this place, this beach and these people. There have been many changes to this resort since then, but all positive. The rooms have been redone and now have a modern, updated vibe to them. The beds are extremely comfortable and the bathrooms are well appointed, although small (but how big of a bathroom do you really need?) They can now host weddings, beachfront, which is wonderful. The food, the drinks, the view, cannot be beat. I just love to sit on my balcony with a glass of wine and look at the ocean. It offers something for everyone-the pool, the beach, the nightlife. I agree with barbara b., Rick is my hero also. He runs a well-oiled machine effortlessly and efficiently. His boss(es) should be extremely happy with his performance. He makes me feel, every time I go, like I'm coming home and I'm welcomed with open arms. He is surrounded by a great staff-Maureen is great at the front desk for all your needs; you will want Rachael taking your orders at the pool and Zack waiting on you for breakfast in the morning. You will also be lucky if you have the dynamic duo of mother and daughter, Cass & Karen, as part of your housekeeping staff. The beach is so beautifully kept. It is truly my paradise and I will continue to go and stay here every year for as long as I can.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 3rd floor midway down, on the pool side, to have the best view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joanm914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I was just a guest 6-07-14. While using the public bathroom off of 80th St. I mistakenly dropped my key ring into the the new, very efficient, commercial pressure toilet, while reaching over to flush it. It was swept away to my devastation. It contained my father's Tiffany key ring (60 years old), 5 assorted keys & a Vovlo ignition fob. They immediately closed the very popular bathroom as "out of service", contracted a plumber to pull the toilet, and sent in a camera, to hopefully locate my lost item. I was told to just go back to the the beach, and enjoy my time, while awaiting the results. This was a Saturday, at 4:30 in the afternoon. They had a major function going on upstairs, which meant this bathroom was vital to guests. They called to tell me the cost, and I agreed to pay half of the expense, as they offered to pay the other half. ($360.00) What hotel steps up to the plate and absorbs half the cost for something that was clearly my mistake? The Windrift does! One hour later, I was was called by the front desk to let me know my keys had been retrieved. I took them back to our room and soaked them in the sink with very hot water and shampoo. To my amazement, when trying the fob the next morning, it WORKED!! I will be forever blown away by the experience.
I can't say enough about how accomodating Rick was, to step up to the plate. He was genuinely concerned about my devastation and eager to right a bad situation. I felt I was being treated as royalty. We texted the next day, as to how the fob miraculously worked. He said in his 30 years there, he had never had this situation before. He only requested that I share my experience on tripadvisor to let everyone know how special the Windrift family is.
I love the Windrift and always will......................
My two night stay was delightful. Great food, beautiful beach, nice bedding, friendly staff, great parking space and I was happy that the rates were off season & travelling with a friend, rather then my spouse, which meant the tab got split in half!! Pricey, but look at where you are!!!!! The whole experience was magical. Thanks so much Rick. You are my hero!

Room Tip: Third floor - Northside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Spent a Saturday evening with my wife drinking and dancing... Had such fun, a great live band on the first floor and on the second floor!! They served food, looked good but didn't eat! Was only drinking and dancing!!! Will return soon :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Coyi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Hill, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

2 nights here over Memorial Day weekend. Beautiful hotel on the beach. Well appointed and sharply designed. Best view at a bar in the mid Atlantic area. Gorgeous.

Great food. 3 different levels of bars and restaurants. With fun music.

Wonderful beach hotel with great view of the ocean. Can't wait to come back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank epatrickjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

A very nice hotel and an unbeatable location - steps from the beach is correct !
Room was very clean and ready on time, bed was a little lumpy, but not too bad.
The restaurant service and food were great!
The pool and hot tub were awesome - great place to stay, we've found a favoriteon the Jersey Shore!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean or pool view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
166 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I spent one night at the Windrift for a little getaway.
We had gotten the package for a night with the hundred dollar credit to spend there.
Front desk was very nice and efficient.
Our room was ready when we arrived and had a sideways view of the ocean, which was OK, because we had mainly wanted to be away from the club so it was quite.
We made reservations for dinner downstairs and then went up to the bar upstairs. A very bright pleasant space. Great view of the ocean.
Very good service. Sat and talked for awhile, then got changed for dinner.
Fine dining. Very good seafood. Great service again.
After dinner we went into the bar downstairs and they had Jim Bannack (sp?) playing the piano. More like a one man band kind of setup. Very talented guy and worked the crowd very well. Friendly people there. Had a good time. Good service again.
Back to the room. It was very clean and comfortable.
Breakfast in the morning upstairs was great too. Again good service.
I really liked the wood decor in the hotel. Looks like it was remodeled recently.
I have nothing bad to say about it at all.

Room Tip: Away from the club is best if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marktgriffith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avalon
0.1 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
0.9 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#1 of 6 in Stone Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
9.1 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
12.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#16 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windrift Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windrift Resort Hotel

Property: Windrift Resort Hotel
Address: 105 80th St, 105 80th Street, Avalon, NJ 08202-1037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your dream oceanfront resort in Avalon. Located on the beach at 80th Street. Hotel Accommodations include 72 standard hotel rooms, 6 oceanfront suites, and 10 condominiums. Featuring a zero entry pool with hot tub Dine with your family in one of our 3 restaurants. Our Level 2 restaurant and tiki bar feature the only oceanfront dining on the island. Enjoy our Brick Oven Pizza kitchen, Sushi and Oyster Bar. Our 5 lounges allow for all your entertainment needs, whether that be at our piano bar or by the stage with a live band. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windrift Hotel Avalon
Windrift Resort Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing