We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but strange room layout”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windrift Resort Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Reviewed 28 November 2005

The Windrift was clean, well-maintained, and ideally located on the beach. We had a two-room efficiency with a very small bathroom and vanity area which were, in my opinion, poorly designed and inadequate for a family. In addition, the room had only one small TV, which was in the sitting area with the pull-out sofa and unviewable from the bedroom.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BoogRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 215 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2005

For a beach motel, the Windrift is highly recommended. Clean, upgraded rooms are very comfortable. Stay on the 2nd or 3rd floor for a nice ocean view, but try not to stay on the Golden Inn side as it's a little noisy due to trucks and personnel serving that property. The pool is very nice, the bar is large and has entertainment, and everything is steps from the beach. Just make sure you have $20 cash for each beach tag as a deposit.

Stayed: August 2005
3  Thank lordnwench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2005

We just returned from a wonderful stay at the Windrift. My husband and our 3 children (15,13,10) had a great time in Avalon/Stone Harbor. This resort is a little gem on the Jersey Shore. I hadn't been to the Jersey shore since my senior trip to Wildwood in '78! Many of our friends visit this area and now I know why. The hotel is right on the beach, which was beautiful and well kept. It had a great pool and bar area that was easy to get to from the beach. We ate lunch there every day and they had a guitar player/singer in the beach bar area which was nice. Our room was a divided efficiency. It had a king bed and a pull out sofa and kitchen area. It was very clean and updated. The bathroom was small but it served its purpose. We also had a balcony and the room had plenty of natural light. We've done vacations at all inclusives in the Carribean and cruises. I have to say that we all enjoyed the laid back atmosphere of the resort and would definatly recommend the Windrift and hope to go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Harrisburg, PA
19
Reviewed 14 July 2005

Visited the Jersey Shore for the first time in my life. My husband grew up going to the great beaches in NC and SC and even VA. Even he was blown away with the absolutely beautiful beach in Avalon. The hotel staff was gracious and helpful from the moment you pull up to the front door. Valet parking is available if you like. The "joint was jumpin'" when we arrived at 11pm from Central PA. Even though there are live bands (really good ones) and a pianist downstairs, I could not hear them from my room. At all.) The rooms were really nice, very clean. We stayed in the motel room style room. We didn't need anything else, and we brought food for B-fast and lunch with us. A nice sized small fridge is in each room (which is thoroughly cleaned before you get to use it...very nice) I was thoroughly impressed to actually hear a vacuum cleaner running when I dropped by the room around lunchtime one day. People, they iron and starch the sheets and pillowcases. 'nuff said. I watched the lifeguard broom and then vacuum out the pool every morning. Very comfy deck chairs for lounging by the pool. Gorgeous views from our 3rd floor room. The restaurant is wonderful, with reasonable prices. We ate like kings but didn't ache in the wallet the next day. The people there must have been coming to this little piece of heaven for most of their lives. We felt like we stumbled upon a well kept secret that has been guarded for quite a long time. We spent half our vacation talking about how and when we were coming back. There is even a changing room/shower available to you when you check out so that you can visit the pool or beach for the day then get cleaned up before you begin your trip home. You get pool tags and beach tags (bring your cash, you need $20/person to "rent" your beach tags!). So, bring your sunscreen and have a fantastic time!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2005

Just got back from their Sunday to Thursday special pre-season. The hotel has a great location for people who want a quiet stay near the beach. All three restauarants and their personnel were great. Eat in your bathing suit at the pool, or on the roof top deck, or in your room, or dress for dinner at the restaurant. The staff are the best. The rooms are clean and there is a variety of rooms offered. We had the divided efficiency but found that we could have done with just the motel room as there was a deck for lounging over the restaurants and a balcony off all rooms, plus a coffee maker and refrigerator. Get a third floor room for more view. The second floor really does not have an ocean view but you can always go to the deck. The only problem was the bathroom was just at the headboard of the bed Also, I'm not happy with a sink outside the toilet area....turning the door knob after using the toilet skeeves me if you can't wash your hands in the same room. Also, there should be better communication between the wait staff and the kitchen. Those poor waitresses and waiters have to climb stairs and run back and forth between the bars and the kitchen. There should be some form of computer station to enter the orders instead of running back and forth...you may have to wait almost 20 minutes between requests for drinks or food or a napkin...Other than that it was the best we have stayed in on the Jersey Shore for rest and relaxation. It is elevated and there are carts for getting your luggage into the rooms. Entertainment was ok and there are bands during the season so I'm told it gets better. Wing night on Tuesdays brings people from all over. The beach is just over the dune a short walk from the rooms. It is very clean no shells or rocks etc. A large recreation area is across the street with tennis, basketball, softball, swings and a skateboard park. The town of Stone Harbor is a few blocks away for shopping. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank PPCb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Milton, PA
114
Reviewed 8 September 2004

Been staying there every summer for 5 years. Great pool, great bar, clean rooms, showers are a challenge! I love it there. Can't wait to get back next year!

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avalon
0.1 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
0.2 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#2 of 6 in Stone Harbor
275 reviews
9.1 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,236 reviews
12.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windrift Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windrift Resort Hotel

Address: 105 80th St, 105 80th Street, Avalon, NJ 08202-1037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your dream oceanfront resort in Avalon. Located on the beach at 80th Street. Hotel Accommodations include 72 standard hotel rooms, 6 oceanfront suites, and 10 condominiums. Featuring a zero entry pool with hot tub Dine with your family in one of our 3 restaurants. Our Level 2 restaurant and tiki bar feature the only oceanfront dining on the island. Enjoy our Brick Oven Pizza kitchen, Sushi and Oyster Bar. Our 5 lounges allow for all your entertainment needs, whether that be at our piano bar or by the stage with a live band. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windrift Hotel Avalon
Windrift Resort Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing