We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - Pricey during peak times”
Review of Desert Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desert Sand Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location - Pricey during peak times”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Extremely clean hotel with great friendly staff. Our suite room was huge and well appointed. Another plus, this hotel has both an outside and inside pool, wow. Also beach access was within easy walking distance and parking on site was great. Recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2strokefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    58
    12
    13
    11
See reviews for
74
32
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We bought a deal for this hotel on living social and it was well worth the money! Although I'm not sure if it's worth the money during the high season around $260/ night without the coupon. The hotel was very clean and our room was nice with a full fridge and kitchenette in it. Avalon is such a great place to visit! This hotel was much closer to stone harbor though which didn't matter to us because we love it there as well. The beds were pretty comfy and it also has an indoor pool which is nice if it's raining outside and you're located only a block away from the beach entrance which the hotel provides beach passes. All in all we had a great experience there

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Skook80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildwood Crest
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was the first time coming to Avalon, and we had no reservations.
We were lucky enough to find a room at the Desert Sand. The front desk crew was super friendly especially the young woman named Liz. After checking in we had a slight problem with the refrigerator, callled the front desk and the maintenance man came and fixed the problem right away. The room was very nice and clean as well as the outside. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barto, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Only positive things to say about the Desert Sand! The staff is wonderful - friendly and helpful in the office and when we had a concern about our room, we had two maintenance employees in within 30 minutes and the minor problem was addressed professionally and to our satisfaction immediately. The location is awesome - one block to the beach and close to Avalon and Stone Harbor. Parking is free and plentiful. The rooms are immaculately clean, and the pool and sun deck area are as well. Beach tags are provided for your stay, too. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Second floor is great - no noise from pool or traffic ( not that there is much anyway) and laundry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tribemembers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

There is really nothing negative to say about this experience. First, we found an amazing deal on Living Social for this hotel, which made it all the more worth it. There was only one minor hiccup upon check-in where we were given the keys to a room that was already occupied. The manager on duty fixed it immediately and was very apologetic. Gratefully, the people in the room were out. :-)

We were in the Deluxe Efficiency Room on the first floor. We were steps away from the outdoor pool (which the kids loved!) and just outside of our room were tables with umbrellas and lounge chairs. The kids loved eating breakfast outside every morning. We also tried out the indoor pool and it too was great.

The room was clean and quite big enough for 3 adults and 2 children. The management was responsive anytime we needed anything. The walk to the beach was quick, although you do have to cross a 2 lane road. The hotel provides beach tags, and lots of places to clean off after going to the beach.

Overall, this was a wonderful end of school year vacation - I only wish we could have stayed longer than 2 days.

Room Tip: Definitely request a first floor room, especially if you have kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kmywalker3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Reasonably prices, very nice accommodations for a motel, the staff was very nice, and the rooms were clean and the house keep did a fine job. Close to Stone Harbor, Wildwood, and the main drag in Avalon.

Room Tip: Book in advance and you'll make out better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treblok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Neck, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The staff was absolutely 1st class, the rooms were adequate and comfortable. The location is super, just a block off the beach and they give beach tags for you to use during the stay. The refrigerator, which is larger than most hotel's. and microwave are a nice added touch. I wouldn't hesitate to return. Just wish they took American Express.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moose957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avalon
0.2 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
0.0 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#2 of 6 in Stone Harbor
264 reviews
12.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
694 reviews
9.1 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Sand Resort

Property: Desert Sand Resort
Address: 7888 Dune Dr, Avalon, NJ 08202-1070
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Desert Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Sand Hotel Avalon
Desert Sand Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing