We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!”
Review of Cafe Loren

Cafe Loren
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Loren is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 66 Restaurants in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 23rd St.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We have not been there this year, but have been going there year after year. It is a "special occasion" restaurant for us. Pricey, but worth it. We have not had a bad meal there ever. Service is impeccable. Nothing negative about this gem. It should be rated #1 at the Jersey shore!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    14
    1
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oldwick, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had a reservation for 12 for a family gathering. The service and food were simply perfect. The salads were very special, and the entrees were really quite creative. The Veal Loren was very well prepared with a thick slice of veal with a shrimp and crab topping. The sea scallops was also an excellent choice. The dessert selection was very nice and very freshly prepared. All in all, a great experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Franz1957-61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Stronger than the Storm with a Beautiful new Decor”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Our first fine dining experience of the summer season was at Cafe Loren for Memorial Day weekend. Much to our surprise the restaurant was totally renovated from the damage that Sandy had caused to the Jersey shore. Now everything about Cafe Loren is just perfect! The Food, People and Decor all combine to create a wonderful dining experience. Still the best BYO at the Beach in all of Cape May County. Thank you Patty and everyone at Cafe Loren for making our shore guests your pleased guests.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJF0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overdressed seafood”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

At Cafe Loren, we all ordered different seafood dishes. The fish itself was good, but it was over-dressed. Too many different sauces and flavors were combined. For example, my son got halibut (nice fish) with tomato chutney (too sweet), risotto (oddly flavored) and orange-ginger sauce (too strong) . We would have preferred a more simple presentation that let the delicious seafood shine through. Bring your own bottle; they don't sell wine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenkintown,PA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Special place”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This was our first time at Cafe Loren, it was a special occasion and it fit the bill. The food was wonderful, great service. I have to make a special mention and a hats off to the hostess....You are THEE perfect hostess (6/21/13). TY Cafe Loren for a wonderful evening!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dekoorbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Loren also viewed

Avalon, Cape May County
Avalon, Cape May County
 
Avalon, Cape May County
 
Stone Harbor, Cape May County
Avalon, Cape May County
 

Been to Cafe Loren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing