We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Treat”
Review of Cafe Loren

Cafe Loren
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Loren is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 65 Restaurants in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 23rd St.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always a Treat”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

You can eat out at many restaurants in Avalon and Stone Harbor, but Cafe Loren is one of the few where you can dine. The menu has changed little over the years because so many guests appreciate the consistent quality that has made this restaurant the top choice on 7 Mile Island. We usually dine at Cafe Loren three or four times a season, to celebrate a special occasion or to treat ourselves to a great night out. All the entres are reliably good but our favorites are the filet, the veal and the pan seared scallops. What sets Cafe Loren apart is the ambience, accompanied by exceptional service. Although at times it can get noisy in the larger dining room, the tables for 2 and 4 near the front allow for a relaxing and truly enjoyable experience. Be sure to treat yourself to fine dining at least once a season at Cafe Loren.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    14
    1
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Little Gem and BYOB”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We spend a great deal of time in Avalon but never tried Cafe Loren. My husband booked it for my birthday and it was a delightful evening. It is a little place that has been in Avalon for years. It has a very pleasant vibe and the food and service are excellent. My husband had the halibut and I ordered the Veal Loren. Both were excellent and good sized portions. We are making plans to take some friends back to enjoy this restaurant. You do need to make a reservation as it is not a large place and is usually booked in advance.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and BYO”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Enjoyed a evening here with three couples. The food was delicious and the service was outstanding. We were lucky to get a table. We tried to make a reservation a week before but were told that they were booked solid for the week. We were lucky that someone must have made other plans and a table opened up. I am glad we were persistent. The fish was delicious and the steaks were cooked to perfection. Next time I am in Avalon, I will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tfisch100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sewickley, PA
Level Contributor
256 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Superior dining ”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Six of us come here every year for dinner, while we're spending a couple of weeks in Stone Harbor. It is the best restaurant in the Avalon/Stone Harbor area. Excellent, well-prepared food in a comfortable setting. BYOB, but that's not a problem as there's a liquor store next door, so the wine list is what you make it and you can be your own sommelier.

I normally have a Jersey tomato and mozzarella salad, followed by the Veal Loren, which consists of three medallions served atop half roast potatoes, topped by a shrimp and crabmeat. Really very good. Others had the scallops; also good, but not the best we've had in the area. The service is friendly and professional. All in all well worth a visit and a more than pleasant way to spend the evening.

Helpful?
Thank Oberst06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolute Gem”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Food is positively fabulous. Presentation and service are exceptional. I look forward to going every summer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Loren also viewed

Avalon, Cape May County
Avalon, Cape May County
 
Avalon, Cape May County
 
Stone Harbor, Cape May County
Stone Harbor, Cape May County
 

Been to Cafe Loren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing