We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What's Happened to Circle Pizza?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Circle Pizza

Circle Pizza
Ranked #51 of 63 Restaurants in Avalon
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“What's Happened to Circle Pizza?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Got a Circle take-out pizza last night. We've used them on family vacations in Avalon for years, and we did so cause they were a reliably good pizza. Well...no more!
Called it in, came over early to pick it up so it was hot. Noticed they had no warming rack for finished pies, and by the time I got it home a few blocks away it was stone cold. And like others said, with a slick of oil floating in the middle of it. It also had a few token pepperonis on it. All in all, the worst take-out pizza I've had in years. We tried microwaving it and blotting up the oil, but I was embarrassed to serve it to my family in from Seattle.
So, lesson learned and a cautionary tale for all of you on the island.
Goodbye Circle! We'll go Concord, Poppies, maybe even Stone Harbor Mack's next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NortheastUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    12
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avalon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worse over priced pizza”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I've been ordering from Circle for over 20 years. The last 2 years the pizza has been HORRIBLE. Delivered the wrong order, sent new order which was stone cold. Pizza arrived with puddle of grease in the middle, in edible. Went to order 1 large pie & 1 order of fries...$35.00. Cancelled my order.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mkwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

The pizza is great. You can negotiate their prices down for whole late night pizzas, which prices increase after the bars close. Seriously, I witnessed prices go from $20 per pizza to $22 per pizza. Is the person selling whole pies to those in line advantage of drunks, you be the judge. In any event, the pizza is great and worth waiting in line for.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillylaw26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresher, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stopped here for pizza on our bikes...husband is a "pizza connoisseur"so he wanted to try it.
It was disappointing..crust was not crispy and not too much depth of flavor in the sauce. Might come again to give it another try, since it is one of only a few pizza places in Avalon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nellevets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Needs new management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We called in our order, told to come in twenty minutes. An hour and a half later, no pizzas. They kept putting us off, and finally said they never got the order. Forget this place if you want to eat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Circle Pizza also viewed

Avalon, Cape May County
 
Avalon, Cape May County
Avalon, Cape May County
 

Been to Circle Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing