We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Love the bar pizzas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Windrift Restaurant

The Windrift Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 63 Restaurants in Avalon
Price range: US$0 - US$33
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, American, Bar, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love the bar pizzas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Tasty ! and entertainment is always fun ! There is always entertainment when we have been there- either at the piano bar area, or the bar- club area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mattnmia277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    72
    63
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great view, perfect for a windy day at the beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We live at the beach during the summer and this is our first year that we tried the Winddrift's main dining room, since the revenovations. We usually sit at the outside bar for cocktails but we have never dined.

We came off the beach on a windy day to get a snack and sat in the part of the dining room that faces the ocean. The frameless patio doors were open and it was just beautiful! We could have been anywhere in the world! The food was good and priced competitively with beach prices.

We have been back several times to enjoy the view and atmosphere!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyFamily004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pizza, Sushi, Wing Night - What more can you ask for?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

One of my favorite places in the Stone Harbor/Avalon area to grab drinks and dinner! Their brick oven pizza is very good, I've tried several and The Giuseppe is my favorite (garlic, mozzarella, artichoke, eggplant, peppers, and prosciutto). The sushi is also good here, very fresh! If you are at the shore on a Tuesday in the summer I recommend going to Wing Night. Get there EARLY so you can get a table, my favorite seat for Wing Night is upstairs and outside. You have a beautiful view of the ocean and if you can manage to grab the tables with couches you have ample space and the crowd around you does not affect your experience at all. The bars here have just a great beachy vibe that I love and always enjoy all summer long at shore!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Windrift Restaurant is adrift....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Several friends told us that the Windrift Restaurant was much better this summer, so we decided to try it again after a two year hiatus. The cocktails were good, as was the salad. The rolls had been in the warmer drawer too long...very dry. The green beans were swimming in butter, and the baked potato was undercooked. The crab dishes were average at best....not worth the price.
One would expect seafood of better quality from a restaurant oceanside.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cdil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best lobster bisque”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

This place was nice to sit outside on the deck. The food was average, but the lobster bisque was probably the best I've ever had. Big chunks of real lobster.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arpils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Windrift Restaurant also viewed

Avalon, Cape May County
Avalon, Cape May County
 
Avalon, Cape May County
 

Been to The Windrift Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing