We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average food”

Via Mare Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 63 Restaurants in Avalon
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
quito
Level Contributor
135 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Can't say this place is to be recommended. The food is not very flavorful and not worth the trip. Average Italian but pricey for what it is.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank donaldg753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    10
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
168 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nicely done”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This is your prototypical vision of a family style Italian restaurant with the obits of owners and famous locals hanging from the waiting room walls. The food was well executed although the bread could have been better with crustier more robust bodied choices. Everyone was pleased with their entrees and this is a staple choice when down at the shore.

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vineland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't go”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We were very disappointed with the owner's attitude and the pasta was cold. We had an argument.

We paid the $80.00 bill left the food and left with no resolution.

Don't go. McDonald's is better

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank ron b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned Italian Food”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We always love going here for great Italian food. We grab a few bottles of wine & some friends and enjoy the great dining experience. The staff is always friendly and Chef Mario always cooks the best Veal I've ever had.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hdcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Skip this one”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Noisy, mediocre, yet pricy meal options. We were disappointed and will not be going back.
Avalon has too many other excellent choices to waste time and money here. They are behind the times.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Via Mare Restaurant also viewed

Avalon, Cape May County
Avalon, Cape May County
 
Avalon, Cape May County
Avalon, Cape May County
 
Avalon, Cape May County
 

Been to Via Mare Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing