We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdoor dining - Great for Groups and Families!”
Review of Sylvesters

Sylvesters
Ranked #51 of 66 Restaurants in Avalon
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outdoor dining - Great for Groups and Families!”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Nice big menu good for pleasing different tastes - including non-seafood options - a necessity for my kids. Bring your own beer or wine - they will supply openers, ice buckets and cups. The crab cakes, she-crab soup, and scallops were delicious - fried flounder, shrimp, and soft-shelled crabs - not so much. They were stingy with the lemon and the tarter sauce was decidedly unimpressive. My kids were quite happy with the the chicken caesar wraps and chicken tenders. Our server was clearly more interested in sitting at the "help" table and checking her cell phone but service was adequate if not attentive. I like these places by the sea - picnic tables, food served in take out containers and informal enough to go to straight from the beach. But if an elegant night out is what you are after - this is not it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francesca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    9
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a rip off!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Hard to believe that they charged $29.00 for two small soft shell crabs served in a styrofoam takeout box. The only "side" was a tiny container of cole slaw. Though fries come with the dinners, apparently that doesn't include the specials. I asked! Oh, I forgot. We also were served two stale rolls. Never again....very high prices for mediocre food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mb82Philadelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Only did take out”
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

We only had the takeout dinner but wouldn't get them again. We had a $200 takeout bill for 8 people and evryone one just said "really?" After we finished dinner. Some of us had what was supposed to be crabcakes but it came in 2 tiny foil molds, more like crab imperial, but it was ok but too pricey. The reest was just bland fries, tiny portions of coleslaw and prepackaged tartre sauce. Totally overpriced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovetonenana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Good Take-Out Choice”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We've found Sylvesters to be one of the best seafood take-out choices on 7 Mile Island. The seafood is always fresh, tasty and reasonably priced. We particularly like the broiled crab cakes--chocked full of fresh crabmeat with no filler. The accompanying french fries and cole slaw are pedestrian, but the crabcakes make up for this. If we're going to eat out, we prefer something with a little more ambiance.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewJerseyDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Flies, mediocre food, poor service and more flies”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is outdoor dining under a canopy with ceiling fans and stand fans that do nothing to keep away the hordes of flies on your food. GROSS! Food was nothing special and the servers were more interested in sitting around talking to each other than noticing the customers. Never again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beachmom60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sylvesters also viewed

Avalon, Cape May County
Avalon, Cape May County
 
Avalon, Cape May County
 

Been to Sylvesters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing