We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Beachcomber Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

The Beachcomber has undergone many changes. You have to check it out!!!! Beautifully decorated rooms, flat screen tv, wifi and the best secluded pool on the island. 1 block from the beach and walking distance to several restaurants. Price is amazing!!!!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    47
    15
    10
    4
See reviews for
81
41
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

What a very nice place. The staff was friendly and the place we great. We had a really nice room, super clean, and freshly painted. Pricing for the offseason was excellent. We are heading back down when the temps go up.

Room Tip: The front desk will assist you in what your wanted. We wanted the quieter side and they made it happ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enjoylife17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We had 2 connected efficiency rooms for 6 adults. A little tight at sleep time otherwise worked out well. Close to the beach front. Close to recreation fields. Close to many restaurants. Furnishings were dated.Hotel was very clean. Staff could not have been nicer! Pool area was great. Grills available for guest use. Free WiFi for guests. 3 floors and no elevator, but not a big problem for us. one parking space per unit. Great little kitchen area. Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sanfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We (4 adults) stay in the one bedroom efficiency for 3 days/2 nights recently. We were in a corner unit, 3rd floor that had ocean views, nice treat. The place was very clean and had everything that we could ask for. Two TVs, good air conditioners, plenty of towels and kitchen was stocked. Pull out sofa was new, comfy. Bed in the bedroom wasn't comfortable but it's the beach. Location is a quick walk to the beach (1 block) and on same road as two nice outside restaurants, tiki/beach bars. Pool is very clean and nice surroundings. The staff is all friendly!
Beach comber worked great for us, I'd return for sure as long as it's not more than 3-4 of us.

Room Tip: third floor, corner unit - 317 or 318 sunrise side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amsandbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed for 3 nights for our first visit to the Beachcomber. Overall very pleased and happy with our accommodations. It was a last minute trip so I couldn't be too picky regarding what room we wanted because of the limited availability. The staff was very friendly, quick to clean-up an kept the entire grounds very clean and comfortable. The pool might be the best in town with its private setting and plenty of chairs/tables for all. We have young children and The Beachcomber worked out great. Close to the beach, park, pool, bars/restaurants but also quiet and cozy for the family. Next time we will plan in advance and upgrade to a bigger and newer room!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmort024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We had a 3rd Floor 1 BR & also the efficiency next door. Great location, wonderful pool and helpful staff. The housekeeping department is great - on top of everything!! Definitely recommend the Beachcomber for anyone looking for a shore stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwankySocialite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Brunswick, NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We had a 1 bedroom unit on the 3rd floor. Overall I was very happy, the unit was clean and pleasantly furnished-shore appropriate. Two air conditioners were more than enough to keep the place very cool. The kitchenette had everything you would need, dishwasher, small fridge, and 2 burners, plenty of plates etc. One block to the beach. Two other local motels have restaurants/bars attached and were noisy so this was a good stay if you wanted to make sure you were not disturbed. My only complaint was that the bed was not comfortable, but I am admittedly very picky about this. I believe each unit is individually owned so I would recommend asking about amenities and furnishing when making a reservation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avalon
0.1 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#1 of 6 in Stone Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
12.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
12.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachcomber Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Resort

Property: The Beachcomber Resort
Address: 7900 Dune Dr, Avalon, NJ 08202-1072
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Avalon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beachcomber Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Beachcomber Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Avalon
Beachcomber Hotel Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing