We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a great summer stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Beachcomber Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Loved the convenience of the hotel to the beach and neighboring restaurants.

The pool was one of the highlights being private and surrounded by pretty trees.

Our room was well maintained and a comfortable layout for hosting visitors.

And general management goes out of their way to take care of you.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feather10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Beachcomber Resort is a wonderful family spot. It is also the only resort in the Avalon/Stone Harbor area that would waive the typical 3 night minimum. It also cost about $150 less than most of its peers. It isn't fancy but it's comfortable and just perfect for spending a few days at the beach.

The only challenge at the Beachcomber is their computer system/front desk staff. I don't know whether it was technical or human error but booking reservations, check-in and check-out were painful. The people at the front desk were very nice but they couldn't use their system.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Positano613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This is the third year my sisters,cousins and I stayed at the Beachcomber Resort, and we had a wonderful time! Our accommodations were comfortable and clean. We stayed on the third floor and we had views of the ocean AND the bay! The swimming pool was so refreshing. We enjoyed cooking out on the grill in the pool area one evening. We love that the beach is so close, and we were able to walk to delicious restaurants. The staff was very friendly as well. I highly recommend the Beachcomber! It would be great if there was an elevator, at least for when we bring groceries upstairs!

Room Tip: I recommend the third floor rooms because of the view and also because of the breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernieandfred_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Just returned on Friday June 15 from a mid-week getaway with my sister. I have been here before and it never disappoints. My sister was new to the Beachcomber and she is positive she and her husband will visit sometime in the future. We stayed on the 3rd floor, had a view of ocean to the right and bay to the left. Our housekeeping staff was so professional and accommodating. Eddie is the best! Upon request, he helped carry our heavy suitcases and cooler down to our car when we were ready to leave. The front desk personnel are so polite and helpful. The pool area is great... private and tropical with the variety of plants and trees. Nice tables and umbrellas, and 2 grills to cook on if you feel like grilling up some tasty shrimp or chicken. Again, you will not be disappointed with the cleanliness of this place and the value. Their prices cannot be beat. You will not be disappointed...the rooms are immaculate and appointed with nice beach decor. Looking forward to more "getaways" in the future.

Room Tip: The 3rd Floor along Dune Drive gives you a view of ocean and bay (on a clear day).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

We love this little hotel in Avalon, NJ. I just got back from a weekend at the Beachcomber Motel Resort and it was really great! This units are all individually owned and have recently been upgraded. This is more of a condo style place so there isn't lots of staff or amenities but it was perfect for what we wanted! And the few staff members that were there are just super sweet and helpful!
It's located on 79th and Dune Dr which is where Stone Harbor meets Avalon. Waking distance to the beach, and a few blocks to town. We stayed in the 2 bedroom 2 bath room on the first floor. It was very clean, spacious and had new appliances and flat screen TVs in all of the rooms! Free wifi and a full kitchen. There is a decent sized heated pool in a little courtyard in the back so it's sheltered from the wind and really nice! We hung by the pool all day and my 3 year old and I swam a bit! We packed some food with us and made breakfast and lunch which was
super convenient.
Overall we have a wonderful experience at the Beachcomber! My family used to stay here when I was a little girl and it was really neat to be able to take my son there 20 years later! I live in California now so I dont get to the shore very often, but I will definitely stay here again!
Thanks Beachcomber for a great weekend

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suemas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Wow.... what a transformation! The Beachcomber in Avalon NJ has been our family's favorite shore destination for many years and it has always been a friendly, serene and beautiful place to stay and now it is even better!!! It still has the charm it always did but now they have newly decorated rooms with modernized kitchens and flat screen tv's! We can walk to 3-4 restaurants and bars within seconds, take a walk on the beach or just hang out by the pool. The staff are all still there and so friendly... thanks for a great weekend!! Jenna C

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The Beachcomber is the place to stay in Avalon. There are a number of places we could stay on our weekend getaways but enjoy the Beachcomber. The staff is great and extremely accommodating. The rooms are nice and have all the ammenities you would need. The rooms have a kitchen area and allow us to bring the food and beverages we need for our stay. Pivately run there is a strong sense that they want each of your stays to be special. We especially enjoy the Concord Cafe a couple minutes away. The food is great and the service is wonderful. We have reserved future dates in both the spring and fall. You can't beat there rates. The beach is a block away and the resort has a heated pool.

Room Tip: Go online to choose the right room for your stay and the number of people in your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avalon
0.1 mi away
ICONA Avalon
ICONA Avalon
#1 of 5 in Avalon
325 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#2 of 6 in Stone Harbor
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,284 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colonial Lodge
Colonial Lodge
#3 of 6 in Stone Harbor
45 reviews
17.5 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 31 in Ocean City
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachcomber Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Resort

Address: 7900 Dune Dr, Avalon, NJ 08202-1072
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Avalon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range: £96 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beachcomber Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Beachcomber Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Avalon
Beachcomber Hotel Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing