We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the ONLY place to stay in Avalon/Stone Harbor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Beachcomber Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the ONLY place to stay in Avalon/Stone Harbor”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just returned from another stay at my favorite condo! Everything was just how I have come to expect it to be - clean rooms, well-supplied kitchen, convenient appliances and friendly staff (especially housekeeping). The fact that the pool is pretty secluded has always been a plus; it feels very private since it's not right along the sidewalk. The tables and grills are great for outside dining. I prefer the southern side since you can enjoy sun on your "porch" for most of the day. The ONLY problem we had was getting internet access in our room - seems the front rooms are in a "dead zone" that the management told us they are working to correct. Otherwise, we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dots4thgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    47
    15
    10
    4
See reviews for
81
41
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Just stayed at the Beachcomer, room was spotless, staff was super friendly, pool was heated, 2 minute walk to beach, nice and peaceful. Rooms all equipped with kitchens so nice as we had a 2 year old along. Before we left we booked a longer stay for next year. The only reason i rated the kids activities lower is because we were there after labor day and activities do become less, this is not the resorts fault. They are very kid friendly including floaty toys in the pool. Cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: We liked the larger rooms for family, everyone had a bit of privacy. Pool view is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachcomberresort, General Manager at The Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your review, we were happy to accommodate you and your family. We take much pride in our establishment and we believe in going above and beyond to make each and every guest and comfortable and happy as possible! We look forward to seeing you again next season, enjoy your holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

For many years we rented a house in nearby Stone Harbor, but this year we were limited to a four day stay so we needed an alternative. The Beachcomber was the ideal solution. The poolside 2 bedroom/ 2 bath unit was perfect for our family of 4 (including 2 teenagers) and much more reasonably priced than other nearby (and less suitable) options. It's a short walk to the beach and we really enjoyed the pool and its lovely setting at the end of each day. The kitchen is a bit tight with only two burners, but we managed to prepare three meals a day and the gas grills were a real plus. As was being able to eat outside on the patio. We will definitely come back!

Room Tip: We liked the first floor poolside location since it made it easy to use the outside area. It was qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backpackingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachcomberresort, General Manager at The Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
I am so glad that we could accommodate your family! The pool side suite is one of our top sellers! We look forward to seeing you and your family again next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is our second time to the Beachcomber. Last year we stayed on the 3rd floor. We actually had two rooms on last year's visit, one in the back and one in the front. We enjoyed the front better. It was pleasant in the morning to sit in the sun and watch life go by. This year we were there August 22-25 and opted for a unit on the ground floor facing the street. It was great, clean, quiet, comfortable. What more can you ask! The management here cares about this property and it shows. We hope to be back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms were all quiet. Third floor rooms in the front have a nice view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkTwainElmira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachcomberresort, General Manager at The Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
We look forward to seeing you again next year! Happy to see the great reviews, it helps to know that we are doing exactly what we set out to do....PLEASE! Have a wonderful winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom unit which was stated to sleep 4-6. It was really tight for 6 and I believe should not state "for 6". In actuality, there was a queen size bed, a queen size pull out couch, a twin size pull out couch, and a foldout bed (so I guess there technically was room for 6). However, the couches and foldout bed were very old, and the mattresses were stained and very dirty. I did not feel comfortable with my two year old and three year old sleeping on them, so the four of us piled into the queen bed while my sister and her husband slept on the queen pullout sofa. I know that the units are individually owned, and each experience may be different. However, I was very disappointed. The room had a strange smell; although you did get used to it after being in there for a while. Another thing is that they were very stingy on the linens and towels initially (and definitely didn't have enough pillows for 6 - just be aware). They were fine providing them when you asked for them, though. We left one day early because we just wanted to get out of there and get home. We took a hit with the third night because it was "a three night" minimum and we already paid for the third night.

Room Tip: Bring your own sheets, blankets, and pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 644kellyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We love it! The pool is so nice, the location is perfect, and compared to a lot of other places nearby, it's really the best buy. We have gone back for 7 years straight!

It's a little challenging carrying all of the stuff up and down the stairs so pack wisely. I bring our down comforters from home because I'm not crazy about the blankets.

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floor rooms facing the pool have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photobuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montville, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This was our 3rd year staying at The Beachcomber and in spite of some rainy days we were really enjoying ourselves. The hotel is so homey and the personnel are extra friendly and very professional, especially Stephanie, Lauren, Penny, Marilyn, Nancy, Michael & Gene. When my wife suffered a TIA (minor stroke) everyone jumped into action calling 911 and taking care of every detail including Lauren/Stephanie providing taxi service to me upon my return from the hospital when no taxi service was available. When I brought my wife back to the hotel the next day there were flowers and get well card signed by all. We were very impressed with everything, including the amenities of heated pool, relaxing patio with 2 Weber grills available and one block away from one of the most beautiful, gently graded beaches on the Jersey shore. We know where we will be vacationing from now on. We have reservations for last week of September, as well as next summer. Kudoos to Nancy for our room care.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bea Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avalon
0.1 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#1 of 6 in Stone Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
12.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
12.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachcomber Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Resort

Property: The Beachcomber Resort
Address: 7900 Dune Dr, Avalon, NJ 08202-1072
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Avalon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beachcomber Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Beachcomber Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Avalon
Beachcomber Hotel Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing