We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Resort at the Jersey Shore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Beachcomber Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Middletown, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A True Resort at the Jersey Shore”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was my second visit to The Beachcomber Resort. I loved it last time and it seems like they have upgraded everything in the last year. The Lobby was renovated. The whole pool area is new. They added a kids pool and a huge hot tub. It is beautiful at night. My room was obviously recently renovated. It seems like the staff has changed as well. Take the time to introduce yourself to the Manager Stephanie. She is a wealth of knowledge about the area and has great recommendations. The staff seems to never stop working for the guests. They even had movies on a big screen by the pool at night for the kids. On Saturday evening, they had live music by the pool as well. The beach is across the street. I will be back again next year!!! Thanks for a great vacation!

Room Tip: While they do not have a restaurant, they have two barbecues by the pool that you can use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachcomberresort, General Manager at The Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Steve, I am very happy to hear of your experience. We strive to execute an amazing experience to each and every one of our guests. I enjoy talking with the guests and letting them know my recommended picks around the island. It means a lot to us that we could make your stay so enjoyable, and we thank you for your review! Look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    47
    15
    10
    4
See reviews for
81
42
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed at the Beachcomber for the first time last week. After a disappointing first room we were offered an newly remodeled room. What a pleasant surprise, this room was beautiful. The staff definitely goes out of their way to accommodate. They keep everything immaculate from the room to the backyard oasis to the walkways. We ended up staying a extra night. As for the Avalon area you can't beat it. Walking distance to a number of restaurants and bars. Beach is beautiful. Only minutes from other New Jersey shore destinations. Hated to leave. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nohd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachcomberresort, General Manager at The Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
I am so happy that we were able to make your stay one to remember! We cannot wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perkasie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We've been coming to Avalon for years. The Beachcomber was great. Had perfect weather and a great time. Stayed this past week the 3rd floor with great views. Nice clean room and staff was very nice too. The pool & hot tub were truly amazing can't wait to return again!!

Thanks
JC

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jc0518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachcomberresort, General Manager at The Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience and we look forward to seeing you again next season!

Very Fondly,

Stephanie Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Employees made me feel at home and were very courteous. Loved my room. The cleanliness was outstanding! I would recommend this piece of heaven to everyone. I can't wait to visit again. Also ,the movies and crafts they had for the kids were a great touch.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachcomberresort, General Manager at The Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
This year was our first year adding all the new activities such as arts and crafts and movie nights and we are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed it. Making sure that each guest has an amazing experience is a top priority at the Beachcomber. We look forward to having you back next season and hope that you enjoy your summer!

Very Fondly,

Stephanie Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We reserved a third floor 2 bedroom 1 bath unit through bookings.com
When we arrived, the room they had for us was directly in front of the pool on the first floor. It was very noisy and we didn't want to stay there. The manager was not very sympathetic or helpful. We ended up asking for a refund and went toanother motel.

Room Tip: don' t use bookings.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank nellander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachcomberresort, General Manager at The Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
I am very sorry to hear of this experience, and I hope that you could contact me to discuss the issue. I would be more than happy to help resolve the issue so that we can assure it never happens again. You can contact me at the Beachcomber Office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

It was advertised on one of the pet friendly web sites for a great pet friendly establishment which was the reason we chose it. The stay was great but the next day we got in trouble for having a little dog.

Room Tip: Don't take an animal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank skayparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Beachcomber is our choice destination for our annual sister/cousin gathering. We really enjoyed the updated pool/hot tub/patio area! The landscaping was pristine, and the lights in the pool were magical for swimming after the sun went down! It was so nice to be able to swim until 11PM! We loved grilling poolside as well! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Hopefully there will be an elevator in the near future to help all the folks on the 2nd and 3rd floors when they bring all their goodies for their stay. Our room was so comfortable, and this year, we had a larger refrigerator which came in handy for 5 sisters! The beach was only a block away, so that was a plus! I highly recommend this fine place for anyone who travels to Avalon, NJ!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernieandfred_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachcomberresort, General Manager at The Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Once again we loved having you and your family stay with us this season! We always look forward to seeing the familiar faces year after year. We are happy that you continue to choose the Beachcomber for your family getaway it truly means so much to us that we can be apart of your family just as well you are a part of ours! Have an amazing summer.

Very Fondly,

Stephanie Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avalon
0.1 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
423 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#1 of 6 in Stone Harbor
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,142 reviews
12.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
666 reviews
12.4 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachcomber Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Resort

Property: The Beachcomber Resort
Address: 7900 Dune Dr, Avalon, NJ 08202-1072
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Avalon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beachcomber Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Beachcomber Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Avalon
Beachcomber Hotel Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing