We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in Avalon, reasonably priced”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sealark Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Avalon B&B and Inns
Cape May, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great spot in Avalon, reasonably priced”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The Sea Lark is the only Bed & Breakfast on the 7 mile island of Avalon & Stone Harbor. It is one block from the beach, and a very short walk into town. There are a variety of rooms to fit your budget. The owners didn't hover over you, but were available when needed. I found it clean and very nicely decorated. The sitting room was very comfortable, and the breakfast offered was delicious, fresh and had something for everyone's taste. The rate was very affordable, even cheaper than the "budget" hotels in Stone Harbor. They are open year round, which is a plus if you want a weekend get away in the spring or fall. They also offered free wireless.

Room Tip: Pets are only allowed in one of the rooms, so you need to check availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mb1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    13
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
12
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
san jose ca
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed in the apartment across the street. We have never been in such a terrible place and we have travelled extensively.
The place was rundown and very dirty. There were spiders on the bed and the bedspread had not been laundered, probably all summer. Maid service consisted of simply throwing the bedspread on the unmade bed - the bottom sheet and mattress pad were all crumpled and not smoothed out at all.
The biggest insult was a sign in the kitchen that said they would be happy to wash our dishes for an extra $25 - are you kidding? We didn't use even one of those filthy dishes. The Health Department would find this place "interesting".
DO NOT GO THERE!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Avalon hotels

NJ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

First off, I have one very simple requirement in an accommodation: Be clean. I wish I had known what I was getting into, or took the previous reviews seriously. We stayed in the apartment across the street from the B&B. The room was not cleaned once (if ever, all summer) the entire time we were there. Apparently cleaning consists of making the bed and emptying garbage. Thankfully, there was a vacuum in the closet. The filter was so clogged, I had to take it out to use the vacuum. Once I did, the amount of filth that machine picked up was sickening. The couch was covered in dog hair, so we had to use the bed spread as a cover. The linoleum and tile on the floors was filthy. I didn't dare go barefoot the entire stay.

The owners are simply not nice people. We were forced to leave early due to an oncoming hurricane (mandatory evacuation). When we let the owners know, we received an "ok". No, apologies, no offers of a partial refund, nothing. They got our money, and that's all that mattered.

I will say that the breakfast was pretty good, and not a simple continental breakfast.

I can't vouch for the actual B&B, but the apartment is simply disgusting. Hopefully these negative reviews that are piling up will do some good.

Room Tip: Avoid the apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NjTikiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

we stayed at an apartment across the street from the bed and breakfast with our three young children for one week. It was a great disappointment; even a college student would feel this place is creepy. the apartment was dirty, many lightbulbs were broken, the couch was torn and the rooms were simply run down and depressing. the shower still had soaps and shampoos from prior visitors and my rough-it husband couldn't even bring himself to use the shower for the week we were there, it was so disgusting! (he showered at a friend's). there were clothes and tissues on the floor left by a previous renter. one room had an air conditioner, the other did not. the proprietor, a woman, was unfriendly and rude to us. do yourself a favor and find somewhere else to stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Convient to beach & stores. Great accomodations. Would highly recommend it. Especially enjoyed the breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wsellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I booked my stay at the Sealark due to the convenient location. It turned out to be such a wonderful experience. We stayed in an apartment that allowed all our friends to be together. We had a deck in the back where we could all hang out. The couple that runs the B&B did everything to make our stay extra special. They were always available for everything we needed. The breakfast was so delicious. It was nice too that they have you sign up for a time so you can ensure there is room for you and your travelmates to have a lovely breakfast together. I cannot say enough great things about this place. My only sadness was that they ran out of cookbooks with their wonderful recipes.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PATraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The only way to describe this place is horrible. It is dirty, the hosts are not friendly, the breakfast was awful, and it was expensive. We stayed for two nights as we were visiting friends who rented a house in Avalon. I wish we had done more research but went with "the only bed and breakfast in Avalon". Our room/apt was so moldy and smelled so bad. My children actually asked if we could go stay somewhere else. Our sheets had a stain on them and the place was so antiquated, it was a sin for what they were charging ($230 a night). The breakfast was minimial and quite honestly not that good....they should be embarrassed. Both days we had to go out to breakfast after as we did not find the meal appetizing. The one good thing is the location to the beach, but quite honestly it did make up for all the bad about it.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank eastcoasttraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avalon
2.6 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
185 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
2.6 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#2 of 6 in Stone Harbor
271 reviews
11.7 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,185 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sun 'N' Sand Motel
Sun 'N' Sand Motel
#1 of 1 in Stone Harbor
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sealark Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sealark Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sealark Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3018 1st Ave, Avalon, NJ 08202-1738
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely turn of the century building. Tastefully decorated. Daily breakfast buffet with hot and cold dishes. We are new owners and very enthusiastic about our new venture. We are making some improvements, but hoping to preserve the charm of this old house. All rooms are air-conditioned and heated. We are open year round. We are one block from the beach, and one block from the stores and restaurants of Avalon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sealark Hotel Avalon
Sealark b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing