We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Gone Wild-Greaseband Reunion Weekend in Avalon, starts at the Sealark!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sealark Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Avalon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Our girls weekend started by checking into this charming, well pointed B & B, greeted by our Hosts John and Pat. The room was so sweet and perfect for our girls weekend. Each room has their own bathroom, ceiling fan, A/C unit. Their is so much charm in this house built in 1901.

The breakfast is unbelievable, with lots of fresh fruit, yummy muffins and a french toast dish to die for. I came home with two new Recipes.......they were That Good.

Its in a great location, walking distance from the beach and shopping. You will love this place. They do except pets as well. A rarity in B & B;'s.

Room Tip: We had Room 4 which has two twin beds, perfect for that girls weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TVL4Ever3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

As one who grew up in the Ocean/Monmouth County area of NJ within a 1/2 hour of the water, going on vacation "to the shore" was an entirely foreign concept to me -- until I started dating a guy from Philly. I had never explored much of the south Jersey Shore area beyond Cape May or a bi-annual outing to Atlantic City, so Avalon and Stone Harbor were new to me. The Sealark was recommended to us because a person in our family knew the owners. There are so many great things to say about the Sealark, I don't know how to order my comments. I would say the best thing about it is the location -- one block from the beach and the main drag of town. The price is great as well -- you can visit slightly off-season, or even until the end of June, and you'll have a much more reasonable rate than some of the motels down the island. I have read the negative reviews about the apartment across the street, and I've never been in it, so I can't comment. I've been to the main B & B twice, and it's clean and comfortable. Everything isn't brand spanking new, but for a good reason! Some of the furniture accent pieces and decorative items (as well as pictures) are antique. Staples like beds are new and clean, and comfortable. The owners are very nice people. They enjoy talking with guests, but are not pushy or overly familiar. They are very genuine, helpful, and know a lot about the area. If you need anything, all you need to do is ask. The Sealark is the perfect place to be based for a weekend or longer at the shore -- each time we've gone, we've taken time for Cape May and Cape May Point, Stone Harbor, and the Ocean City boardwalk. The B & B experience is not for everyone -- some folks want the big hotel or a gazillion amenties, and they don't want to be in a house-like setting. But, if you love the B & B experience, and if you are looking for comfortable, enjoyable accomodations that will TRULY feel like your home at the shore (it is for me), you MUST book here.

Room Tip: We've chosen Room 2 which is a small suite. There is a small room with a couch and TV in one are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SLSNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

rooms in main house are tastefully appointed; breakfast was made to order. Very comfortable lodgings; owners are courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: stayed in room #2-separate sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jzskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We have been staying at the Sealark Bed and Breakfast for 11 years. The place feels like a second home to our family. It is located one block from the town shops and one block from the beach, boardwalk and playgrounds. The area is very safe and has sidewalks that allowed our children at an early age to adventure out to the candy store, arcade, ice cream shops and library.
Pat and John (the owners of the bed and breakfast) are wonderful people that are like family now. They are the most honest and accommodating people you will have the pleasure to meet. They provide a wonderful breakfast each morning that includes a different cooked item. During the breakfast, this is the opportunity to talk to the other guests and hear about fun things to do in the area. The place has so many returning guests that we have developed friendships with the other guests over the years that make breakfast a fun event each day. During breakfast, the rooms are cleaned, sheets are changed and towels are replaced. What a treat over renting a shore house!
Pat and John are always there to offer any help to make it a wonderful vacation. We normally stay in the apartment style rooms across the street from the bed and breakfast that offer a private deck with a gas grill along with a full kitchen when you want to eat in. The place is pet friendly and our dogs just love it there. There is a grass yard for the kids to play in and puzzles, books and TV for the rainy days (not many of them in Avalon).
If you are looking for a wonderful place to have a family vacation, this is the spot!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 965BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The Sea Lark is the only Bed & Breakfast on the 7 mile island of Avalon & Stone Harbor. It is one block from the beach, and a very short walk into town. There are a variety of rooms to fit your budget. The owners didn't hover over you, but were available when needed. I found it clean and very nicely decorated. The sitting room was very comfortable, and the breakfast offered was delicious, fresh and had something for everyone's taste. The rate was very affordable, even cheaper than the "budget" hotels in Stone Harbor. They are open year round, which is a plus if you want a weekend get away in the spring or fall. They also offered free wireless.

Room Tip: Pets are only allowed in one of the rooms, so you need to check availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mb1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed in the apartment across the street. We have never been in such a terrible place and we have travelled extensively.
The place was rundown and very dirty. There were spiders on the bed and the bedspread had not been laundered, probably all summer. Maid service consisted of simply throwing the bedspread on the unmade bed - the bottom sheet and mattress pad were all crumpled and not smoothed out at all.
The biggest insult was a sign in the kitchen that said they would be happy to wash our dishes for an extra $25 - are you kidding? We didn't use even one of those filthy dishes. The Health Department would find this place "interesting".
DO NOT GO THERE!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank emelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

First off, I have one very simple requirement in an accommodation: Be clean. I wish I had known what I was getting into, or took the previous reviews seriously. We stayed in the apartment across the street from the B&B. The room was not cleaned once (if ever, all summer) the entire time we were there. Apparently cleaning consists of making the bed and emptying garbage. Thankfully, there was a vacuum in the closet. The filter was so clogged, I had to take it out to use the vacuum. Once I did, the amount of filth that machine picked up was sickening. The couch was covered in dog hair, so we had to use the bed spread as a cover. The linoleum and tile on the floors was filthy. I didn't dare go barefoot the entire stay.

The owners are simply not nice people. We were forced to leave early due to an oncoming hurricane (mandatory evacuation). When we let the owners know, we received an "ok". No, apologies, no offers of a partial refund, nothing. They got our money, and that's all that mattered.

I will say that the breakfast was pretty good, and not a simple continental breakfast.

I can't vouch for the actual B&B, but the apartment is simply disgusting. Hopefully these negative reviews that are piling up will do some good.

Room Tip: Avoid the apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NjTikiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avalon
2.6 mi away
ICONA Avalon
ICONA Avalon
#1 of 5 in Avalon
304 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
2.6 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#2 of 6 in Stone Harbor
281 reviews
2.6 mi away
Desert Sand Resort
Desert Sand Resort
#5 of 5 in Avalon
145 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sun 'N' Sand Motel
Sun 'N' Sand Motel
#1 of 1 in Stone Harbor
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sealark Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sealark Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3018 1st Ave, Avalon, NJ 08202-1738
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range: £88 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely turn of the century building. Tastefully decorated. Daily breakfast buffet with hot and cold dishes. We are new owners and very enthusiastic about our new venture. We are making some improvements, but hoping to preserve the charm of this old house. All rooms are air-conditioned and heated. We are open year round. We are one block from the beach, and one block from the stores and restaurants of Avalon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sealark Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sealark Hotel Avalon
Sealark b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing