We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great restaurant!”
Review of Avalon Rose on 8th - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Avalon Rose on 8th
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sewell
1 review
“Such a great restaurant!”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Can't say enough good things about the food at this restaurant. There last night with a party of eight. Everyone raved about their orders. The stuffed mushrooms are over the top good (had them last week there also). This week I had that famous clam chowder; that could have seriously been the whole meal and I would have been happy. Steak was excellent, broiled seafood got great reviews, all in all just great food! Lauren and Judi did a great job serving us too! Reservations are a must though or forget getting in there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Perfection with no exaggeration”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Our dinner was the best I've ever had in Avalon. The food, both the taste and presentation, was perfect. From our starter salad to the Malt Ball dessert, the food was simply delectable! The waitstaff were attentive and friendly. Will certainly be coming back soon!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyler D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Seashore dining at its best!”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Enjoyed a delicious meal off season and again in July. Began with the award winning chowder - how could you not - it was delicious, filled with jumbo lump crab in just the perfect base, not too thick and not too thin. The blackened scallop appetizer was so flavorful and nice exterior crispness. Shared entrees of salmon and tuna and each has a perfect blend of herbs and sauces. I cannot wait to dine at Avalon Rose again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oreland, Pennsylvania
1 review
“It's All In The Food”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Avalon Rose is a must visit gem. The restaurant has a cozy decor with wrap around bench seating for larger parties. The service was impeccable and the owner was very friendly with the guests. However, the highest grades go for the food. From the award winning clam chowder, to the scallop appetizer, to the steaks or fresh seafood special, this place is a must. And just when my wife and I had enough, the malt ball sundae gellatto was the cherry on top.
Can't wait to try the next masterpiece on the menu. Thank me later!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Music to die for (or kill you)”
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Our table of 7 was less than thrilled with Avalon Rose. First of all, it's a somewhat stuffy environment (think hotel restaurant). When we called ahead and asked if it was appropriate for toddlers they assured us it was. It wasn't. Our party quickly shrunk from 11 to 7. The food was inconsistent. The scallops were great, but the swordfish was charred and overlooked. Upon notifying the server, we were offered a free dessert to compensate for the swordfish meal. Other much better options in Avalon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mwmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avalon Rose on 8th also viewed

Avalon, Cape May County
 
Avalon, Cape May County
Avalon, Cape May County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing