We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
loved it

just amazing The show explained the relaxation of this amazing temple and then the story of Ramesis... read more

Reviewed 1 January 2019
sam_lkl
Well done & dramatic

We really enjoyed the sound and light show. It’s very well designed and organized. The music is... read more

Reviewed 30 December 2018
Consultcinda
,
Michigan City, Indiana
via mobile
Read all 247 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Abu Simbel
from US$514.00
More Info
from US$429.00
More Info
from US$1,555.00
More Info
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
160
51
24
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
51
24
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sound and light show magical experience great setting king ramses lake nasser amazing temple take pictures his wife entertaining translation headphones philae audience projected arabic narration egypt
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

As much I enjoyed seeing Abu Simbel by day as much a was disappointed by the night show with lights. They use the temples as a white screens without using much of the beautiful fronts statues of the temples. The projections are not very vivid so it's a bit hard to see what they try to show. It is suppose to be open sitting but when we arrived they decided that the japanese got to be at left and the other right side. They said that was only because the show was presented in japanese and it would be easier to fix problem with translating devices if all the users were at the same place. Lame excuse because we said that we don't need translation but still we had to sit right. Probably a bakchich thing once again. And guess what : my device got problem and nobody was there to fix it. If not necessary, go see the temples by day (After 11h00 is better because all the big buses are gone) and leave for Assouan to watch the Nile with the sunset.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

I also saw the shows in Cairo, Philae, and Karnak. This one was my favorite.

They decide the language at the last minute based on the nationalities represented in the audience. The evening I was there, the show was in French.

I was quite skeptical about the translation headphones, but as other reviews say, they are great. It’s nice to adjust the volume of the show to your own liking. Music and sound effects are only played through the speakers so you don’t get a weird echo or distortion. The show itself features not just sound and lights, but also image projections which really help to tell the story.

Also as other reviews mentioned, the lights stay on for about ten minutes after the show finishes to allow you to take photos. The Nefertari temple lights were shut off first so start there and then work your way to the main temple afterwards.

For other photographers, tripods are allowed. I was camped out off to the side and the workers were okay with it as long as I didn’t block the projectors.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Don't miss this show while visiting Abu Simbel... it's a must attend show, the story is well said and the music is amazing.... I will search to find this music

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Mohamed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

The biggest complaint we had was that the temples are insufficiently lit during the show. One has difficulty in discerning the various scenes, and it is impossible to film or to photograph anything. Except once the show is over and the temples are properly lit up - proving that it can be done. If you are staying overnight in Abu Simbel, you should see the show, but there are other, better ones in Egypt - we particularly appreciated the Sound and Light show at Philae

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank WorldwideAtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

The best Sound and Light show I have ever attended, more beautiful than Al-Karnak and nice as Philae. The place is clean and neat, people are extremely friendly and organized. The show is outstanding and the music makes you feel melted with the temple. At some points the music would be louder than the speech but you can get it eventually from the topic, highly highly recommended If you are visiting Luxor and Aswan. It's a must for the finale.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank nouranelsherif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews