We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated hotel”
Review of Port Said Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Port Said Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Port Said
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Second visit to the Pot Said hotel.

As I was on business, the booking was based on location as the hotel is only a short drive from the airport.

Rooms are dated and smell damp (both visits).

No tea making facilities is poor for a hotel these days also,

Food was buffet style although there is al a cart options either choice may disappoint depending on personal taste.

Staff are plentiful and attentive to needs.

Internet is pre-pay via vouchers,

Pool is clean, gym is in need of an upgrade.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

They said that this is one of the best hotels in Port Said , but I discovered that is not true at all

It is just a normal hotel .. which deserve to be rated as a 2 or 3 stars hotel not 5 stars , I don't know how this hotel has a 5 stars ranked !!

The service is very poor .. not professional at all .. specially ladies working at the reception in the morning shift

The rooms on the Canal view has a poor view , and the noise coming from ships passing in the canal distiurbed the guests and prevent them to sleep quietly

I took a room in a third floor , with a canal view , the price was high regarding the disatisfaction I got ..

The room was poorly furnished , the beds were uncomfortable , instead of a king bed as i request they offered me 2 beds associated. The view was poor , not as i expected ,

The TV in the room was soooo terrible , old with no clear image

when the hotel manager felt that I am not satisfied , he promised me that they will transfer me to a better room .. but this hasn't happened .. just a talk ..

bathroom was clean .. but normal . Breakfast was not bad composed of oriental food.

However the hotel has a very good location and however the hotel is vast , and has a pool which is not operated in winter , the surface of the hotel is not well used

a good italian restaurant is in the hotel , but they refused to make me enter because a VIP person was coming ...

Lady in the morning shift which made the check out is horrible ,

All the hotel deserve to be a 2 or 3 stars hotel .. It is very bad hotel to stay .. if you go on a vacation try resta sonesta , I haven't try it but they told me it is good

Room Tip: If you want a room on the canal try to have a higher floor starting from 5th floor or higher , but r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Dr W G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in June.

The staff are not very helpful at all.

The room was old and naff.

The food was edible.

I had an alleyway outside my room where people on mopeds were driving up and down at stupid hours honking their horns.

Lastly the beer was over priced and when I settled my bill the next morning I was over charged and only stupidly noticed after I had paid. I raised this issue with the receptionist and I asked to see the receipts that I had signed. She only had my signature for 6 beers but charged me for 11. They would not refund my money but could not prove that I had drunk those beers. Because I didn't.

I would rather give this place a wrecking ball instead of 1 star.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank zak9986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This hotel is consider the best hotel in port said although is not as luxurious as any other hotel in Egypt's main cities.

the rooms are spacious with nice view on the suez canal ... the breakfast buffet is nice with lots of varieties.

The hotel is highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ahmed-allam79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Although it is too expensive (the most expensive hotel in Port Said) I wish there was another option to book for my business trip in different hotel.

To have a cup of green tea in the morning; you have to bring your own tea bag! And you might be lucky if the waiter brings you some hot water or he may not pay any attention to you. Actually, I do not understand how they choose their staff at this hotel. The waiter in the breakfast restaurant never smiles and does not even reply thanks. Just he lets you feel in the early morning like they are not happy to host you there!! Although it is relatively big restaurant where the breakfast is served, no area is really reserved for non-smokers. It is only one table marked so, however surrounded by smokers on the adjacent tables. The egg frying pan looks like never cleaned and also fresh eggs are not clean.

Bathroom mixers are too old and rusted in almost all rooms. The shower is very primitive and hard to manipulate. Sometimes you try to call home service and you receive no answer along one hour. And if the room service answers, then they may bring the tissues you request and may not.

Door lock chains are broken or to be broken in many rooms. To get a bottle of water; you pay EGP 25 instead of EGP 2.5 in the market. Very poor internet service and however too expensive (25EGP per hour).

Last time, the bathtub in my room was accumulating water and the room smells too bad like there was a rotting fish meal beneath the bed.
In all rooms you suffer a big noise coming from the plumbing system. All the time I hear the noise of water flow inside the pipes at night.

Really, I hate that I have to stay at this hotel because of my company agreement.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Khaled_Esmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We found it as a nice hotel for families ,nice location ,good breakfast but the room's furniture was little bit old ...for the price it was good for the value...I reccommend it for families but i do not think it would be nice place for the honey mooners

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank menna83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

One of the few good hotels available in the city of Port Said. Good location. Its an old hotel and rooms lack in cleanliness and hygiene. WiFi is expensive. Breakfast is good but didn't like the dinner. Staff asks for TIP especially the BELL service staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MANMINDER R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Port Said Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Said Hotel

Address: Atef El Sadat St, Port Said, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Port Said Governorate > Port Said
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Port Said
Hotel Class:5 star — Port Said Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Motor Hotel situated on shore of the Mediterranean, at entrance of the Suez Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Port Said Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helnan Port Said

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing