We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing spot by the sea.”
Review of Matarma Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ras Sudr
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Matarma Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Well run Matarma Bay is full of charm. We spent a weekend there for a yoga retreat with a group of 15 yogis, each and every one rated Matarma as an excellent location on anonymous feedback forms, several wanted to do a retreat there again. The food, the rooms, the sand, the sea, it's just beautifully taken care of. Well done Matarma Bay.

Room Tip: All rooms are directly on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandala_Yoga2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliAwadi, Owner at Matarma Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for enjoying your stay, we will be happy to host you once again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure to pass by and spend a day in Matarma and it was definitely a well spent day! Food was oustanding especially that there arent many good choices in ras sudr... location is great..beautiful beach and I the beach beds are just awesome!... staff is extra nice..definitely going there again and again and again...

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank lulueg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Thanks to my friends who kept insisting, finally i made it there & i wish i have discovered this spot on the season beginning. Such a wonderful place, they took care of everything. they have great hygiene, speakers everywhere, wifi, amazing food & breakfast (u gotta try the shish tawook & wedges!) they got the drinks, the munchies & the ice cream lol
Rooms r just great, with an ac, a nice bathroom & a tv with all the entertaining channel if u decided to cocoon inside although the main hut always has nice chilled music. All rooms just right on the beach beside the main hut. Service is awesome & prices are very reasonable.
& anything u'll ask for u'll find it there.
Super market, & cilantro are 5 min. away from the resort

If u have the right company, or u wanna have some time on own, this place is a truly a treasure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Riham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a weekend, and I really enjoyed my stay. Rooms are very well furnished and very clean. All the necessary items are found in the room. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

The beach area is really nice, some rocks here and there but a very nice beach with a very nice setting and very well furnished.

The food served in their restaurant is very good, we had breakfast and dinner and bother were really really good. I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Ras Sedr it really is a great place

-- Small note though, they didn't have a mini bar in the room when we stayed there (maybe they changed this) and it was a bit of a headache as we had a baby with us. The staff however were very helpful and offered to store the baby's food in their Kitchen's refrigerator, a mini bar however in the room would have been more convenient

-- We also had a connected room and our neighbors were really loud, which was very loud at night so I recommend getting a room that is not connected to other rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not connected to any other room as the sound can be a little annoying at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Omar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My new favorite spot in Ras Sudr.

Beautifully decorated modern rooms with stunning views on the beach which is just a few steps away.

The lounging area is great to chill out after a long day of kite surfing and the food is delicious.

Room Tip: There are different sized rooms to cater for all budgets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NDefouni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My wife and I loved this place. I can honestly say that this is now my favorite spot in Ras Sudr especially with the price The design is just so relaxing and easy on the eyes. They have one of the best beaches that I've seen in Ras Sudr. The staff were really friendly and attentive to our needs.

The breakfast was included with the room rate and it was superb! They're very generous with what you can order without extra charge. You also get to drink as much tea and coffee as you want.

One other thing I really enjoyed was the music selection they had playing in the main area. Just really good selection of chill out and you get a surprise track here and there of great classics from a very diversified selection like Frank Sinatra and Fayrouz.

It's a perfect getaway spot for anyone living in Cairo since it's just two hours away. My wife and I are definitely planning on coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kilomanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Just compliments to this place. Given the assumption that anyone reading this is looking for a place to stay at in Ras Sudr, I'd totally recommend going there any season of the year. Been there twice and it's easily become a favourite resort at Ras. The boutique hotel hasn't operated a full year yet, but I predict great success for it past their coming anniversary for years to come. I've been a guest at several other well know hotels in the area over the past 4-5 years and little do they offer that you can't get here. The hotel's platform is so efficiently designed; your room is meters far from the beach, minutes(two) to walk to the main hut(the restaurant) and reception. Rooms are simple cubicals layed out next to one another, clean; again space given is all you need and could ask for. Nothing complicated and relatively very well priced. Best menu by far and the food is consistently excellent. The staff and owners do a very decent job of running the place and are easy to reach whenever needed.

Going by someone's recommendation, that Matarma's beach wasn't a beginner's spot to kite, I've never surfed there. There is no sports/ kite centre there anyway but if you don't plan on taking surfing lessons then you're cool. My only complaint, is the nearest mosque (at Hacienda) is not as near as when I used to stay there. But thats just me being spoiled after having everything within earshot at Matarma.

Enjoy :).

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mahmoud F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ras Sudr
4.5 mi away
La Hacienda Beach Hotel
La Hacienda Beach Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ras Sudr
62 reviews
14.9 mi away
Cancun Sokhna Beach Resort Managed by Accorhotels
0.7 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ras Sudr
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Porto South Beach
Porto South Beach
#3 of 25 in Ain Sukhna
509 reviews
29.4 mi away
Mousa Coast
Mousa Coast
#3 of 9 in Ras Sudr
26 reviews
18.8 mi away
El Jabal Sokhna Hotel
El Jabal Sokhna Hotel
#9 of 25 in Ain Sukhna
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matarma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matarma Bay

Address: Ras Sudr | Cairo, Sharm El Sheikh Road, Ras Sudr, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Ras Sudr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Ras Sudr
Price Range: £2 - £4 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matarma Bay is located in the middle of all kitesurfing centres in Ras Sudr. The hotel is comprised of 27 luxury bungalows, most of them with sea view and a couple of hours away from cairo, sandy beach, most of the bungalows have LED flat screen TVs and Acs. The hotel has focused on providing guests and outside visitors with a delicious international menu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matarma Bay Egypt/Ras Sudr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing