We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Basata

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Sea and Sinai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Basata
DOHA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

i've been to Basata with family for the second time for relaxation, the place is perfect, basic , you can enjoy reading, swimming, snorkeling,...starry sky to sleep under , very inspiring, it's not costly at all.i've been there while i was a college student this was 1985 i met with the same man Sheriff (the owner),i liked the idea. he still keeps the hospitality, respectable place, order and charm. it's nice for relaxation seekers.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEMMISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    7
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
7
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

the 1st resort that was established in Sinai. not only a business, but a way of life.

بساطه ، Basata = Simplicity .

Simplicity in it's perfect form. more than what a human being needs won't be found there, but it's a place where u can find what is not available except for few places in the world. a place on the Cost made only from natural stuff, even the 2 floor, thick walls and off-white chalets which r made from mud that locals use to make there houses, then decorated by using a unique beautiiiifuel wood, as well as the huts where u can have a romantic night with candles and sea voice, then wake up 5 meters far from the sea, run straight and jump in the blue range water of the colorful red sea (diving sites are close by).

what a place......
The owners Marya & sherrif serves a dinner for everybody of fish or a vegetarian meal. in the rest of the day u r able to cook ur meal using a small but sufficient variety of fresh food.
YOU CARRY NOTHING WITH U THERE.
no, not because of thieves but because u pay everything in the end only.
How? u write what u use on a paper hanged in the reception. it's a great feeling .

in addition to all this simplicity and safety of being there for singles, couples or families with children. The owners who lives there since 20+ years with their children made so far
a school for their children and the Beduin's children in the area, a salty to sweet water station so that u can take a bath, drink or brush ur teeth with fresh, sweet and local water, what u can't have else where in Sinai desert. they established also "himaya" the organization for cleaning the sea water and coasts and recycling the trash.

So it's the "simple empire" which is waiting to host u in the cleanest and most silent place ever , empty ur mind or fill it and learn from what surround u.
if u decide to go reserve as soon as u can , because it's full all year long. Owners recommended us to visit during November to May period.

P.S : I have to say also that the owners of the place and me r semitic, so they can't be anti-Semitic as the Dookiti guy said in his review. They host jews like any other place in the world but they will continue to not accept any ISRAELI till israel stop it's lunatic killing demolishing and humiliating palestinians and other arabs in the region. when it starts respecting they will respect it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darweech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

Shariff and his German wife Maria do not allow Jews and Isrealis in 'because they cause tention'(BTW Israelis were the ones who opened the place in the 80ties!)
In short-they are antisemitic
I was there Saturday and they sent an armed guard to send me away(ten years ago I took the whole place for my birthday)
They pretend to be people lovers and envoirment lovers while they are ripping tourists-nt the locals!
In German(the people they love dearly)I would call them POTZ!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Dookiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

Really, i dont have the words to describe Basata camp. it is the best relaxing place, away from the busy modern life and the crowdness of the cities.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Egypt-Ram1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

I was in Basta a while ago. This place is a rip off.
First of all, foreigners pay a lot more than egyptians ( i did too allthough I was travelling with egyptians). You serve your self from the kitchen and wash your dishes, thats not bad but at the end they rip you off. Alcohol int allowed and once you arrive you get instructed not to be "romantic" in public... whatever that means.
other than that the hits are nice but this is definately no the hippy place it strives to be. Another interesting aspect is that Israelis are not allowed in!!!!
Dont take your dog. I know 2 people whose dogs got poisoned in Basata.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank carolinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2008

Basata was beyond my exepctations. Granted I was there only one night, so cooking my own food and cleaning the dishes afterwards didnt bother me, although had i stayed there longer it definately would have!

The huts were much much better than i expected and the sea was literally just metres away. The atmosphere is cool and calm and very relaxed.

One problem was getting there, make sure you plan this carefully because we caught the coach from cairo to sharm and taxi to basata and got totally ripped off, later found out a bus take you directly from Cairo to Nuweiba via Basata and much cheaper.

Would definately stay again, but not for more than two nights a pop as on holiday i really cant be bothered to cook and clean. But definately worth visiting!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imsy_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2008

Nestled between the mountains and the Bay of Akaba is the ecocamp of Basata. It is hard to describe in words the tranquillity and calm one can achieve staying on the beach in a reed hut. Crystal clear waters teeming with marine life. Coral reefs waiting to be explored are just the appetizer to this wonderful experience. Perhaps the most compelling part of Basata is the salty/sweet scent in the air that embraces your nose and later penetrates your clothing to give you a final allure to Basata’s shore on your way home. Idyllic merely describes the place, while enchanting defines the people. Our host (and his family), the staff and the guests combine to form a social group that welcomes the most hardened traveller into a warm friendly atmosphere. It is not uncommon after the evening meal for total strangers to sit, play the guitar and sing while having tea and coffee under the stars. A warm gentle breeze wafts over the sea to rest on the beach acting as a cosy blanket for those sleeping in the open-air huts. Sunrise and sunsets provide a spectacular backdrop for this oasis in the modern world as the mountains, sea, beach and community greet each day with a renewing vitality. Weeks, days and hours have no meaning here as time stops for those who dive into the azure blue waters or relax lazily on the beach. However, once home again those of us who have tasted Basata’s hospitality months, weeks, days and hours become the means for us to count when we will next escape to Basata’s shores.

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — warm showers only
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joedivanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Sea and Sinai
0.0 mi away
Nakhil Inn & Dream - Nuweiba
0.0 mi away
Nuweiba Coral Resort
Nuweiba Coral Resort
#2 of 15 in Nuweiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.0 mi away
Habiba Beach Lodge
Habiba Beach Lodge
#4 of 15 in Nuweiba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Adrere Amellal: Desert Ecolodge
0.0 mi away
Bedouin Star
Bedouin Star
#15 of 39 in Nuweiba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marsa Shagra Village
Marsa Shagra Village
#1 of 12 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basata

Property: Basata
Address: Taba Road, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 189 Speciality Lodging in Red Sea and Sinai
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Basata Hotel Red Sea And Sinai
Basata Egypt/Red Sea And Sinai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing