We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away in Paradise.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alaska Camp & Hotel
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tucked away in Paradise.”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Excellent value for money camp/hotel. My room was basic for a hotel but excellent for a camp, in keeping with its surroundings literally tucked away in the heart of Dahab. If you are wanting somewhere to just relax or for diving then I would recommend Alaska, they assisted me with everything from dive guides to helping with my trip to St.Catherines trip. Jackie was always on hand with a smile for helpful information and also for a sun downer at the local bar 'Churchills' which is a brief walk away. The 'arisha' is a great place to hang out and use the free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glynster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    56
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
83
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Its the best place if you travelling like a backpacker or as couple.
Nice cozy place, clean rooms and friendly stuff.
Prive is very nice and location is in the heart of Dahab.

I always go there everytime I go to Dahab.

Room Tip: In summer , Dont even think to get a room without AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alaa_Ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I stayed here for one week in November 2011 and had a great experience. The hotel/camp is centrally located in Dahab. Jackie is very service minded, helpful, friendly and nice to chat with and so is the rest of the staff. They helped me out to book the mt sinai climb which I also can recommend.

There's free wifi in the seating area where you can hang out. The room is spacious and the bathroom is very nice for being such a cheap place. Will definitely stay here when I go back to Dahab.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emm4m4ry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

The room was very basic but that is what I paid for. The service was outstanding. Ended going out for dinner and drinks with some staff. They are very welcoming. Everything was in walking distance. Great location. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingDyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The Alaska is a great value. Rooms are basic but clean. Our beds were fine.

It's a nice location in the middle of the boardwalk area. Although there isn't an attached restaurant, you're right across from some good ones and the Alaska was giving out discount cards for the Yalla Bar when we visited.

The manager is very nice, helped us figure out which snorkel gear fit us right and rented it out at a reasonable price, bought our bus tickets back to Cairo for a small service fee, and arranged a good, reliable driver to take us to the Blue Hole.

The place was very empty when we were there, which is really a shame, but it was nice and quiet for us!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StayWithFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

What a wonderful time we had in Dahab. Alaska was an excellent place to call home for the week+ of diving. The staff were professional, courteous and helpful, and did a great job of providing a comfortable, safe and convenient home to relax in. I would definitely stay here again, and highly recommend it to any budget holiday seeker.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avanthomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Alaska Camp is very well located, just off the main promenade in Dahab, very close to the bridge. Everything is within easy walking distance: the beach, dive centres, shops, etc.

We stayed there for 10 nights in March/April. Our reception was very warm, the staff generally being friendly and helpful.

The room we had was pretty basic, but clean and comfortable. We had a fan and an en-suite bathroom.

I would definitely recommend this camp as an inexpensive place to stay in Dahab. We will be definitely staying here on our next trip!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lapechejaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.5 mi away
Penguin Village
Penguin Village
#16 of 52 in Dahab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jowhara Hotel
Jowhara Hotel
#13 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dahab Plaza Hotel
Dahab Plaza Hotel
#30 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seven Heaven Hotel
Seven Heaven Hotel
#21 of 52 in Dahab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.6 mi away
INMO Divers Home
INMO Divers Home
#28 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Camp & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Camp & Hotel

Property: Alaska Camp & Hotel
Address: Masbat South Sinai, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Dahab
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alaska Camp & Hotel is right in the heart of Dahab. Only 10 metres from the main beach area and the sea it makes the perfect base to experience and explore Dahab - great value, fantastic atmosphere and the opportunity to meet other travellers from all over the world. With 30 rooms over 2 floors, Alaska Camp & Hotel still retains the relaxed atmosphere of the old beach camps, with Bedouin seating areas in which to chill out and enjoy your stay. Our staff are on hand to help you get the most out of your time in Dahab and experience everything that this unique town has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alaska Camp And Hotel
Alaska Camp Hotel Dahab
Alaska Camp Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing