We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alaska Camp & Hotel
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“absolutely great”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The place is great! Location is optimal, in the centre of Dahab, and it offers great value for money (big and clean room, good matrass, ventilation). The staff is extremely friendly. Highly recommended, I will definitely go back

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Manuela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    56
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
83
40
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sverige
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We chose Alaska after a tip from a friend and never felt disapointed. Traveling in Egypt can sometimes be frustrating, especially finding accmodation up to standard. If you are looking for luxuary look somewhere else, but if you want a clean, affordable room with a nice atmosphere in the middle of Dahab then this is your place. Egypt is noicy, but at Alaska it is calm.

Dont be suprised by the mosquitos though, this is a problem through out Dahab, not just at Alaska and you will need your repellend spray with you at all times after sunset.

Room Tip: If you are going to Dahab during the warmer season, just add those extra LE for a room with at least...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank -LiaMaLi-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2013

had such a great experience at Alaska hotel. The room I shared with my partner was clean with a good bathroom. It isn't luxury but definitely good quality for the great price. All of the staff were very friendly and especially helpful. They were able to help organise taxi's, activities and just gave good advice for the area. It is also located close to restaurants, the red sea and the best dive centre (Sea Dancer Dive Center). When I get the chance to return to Dahab I will be back to stay at Alaska without a doubt.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by how nice the Alaska Camp and Hotel turned out to be. I was looking for an affordable place in the centre of it all and never thought that it would turn out to be so nice. Jackie is a darling and very helpful. I forgot a connector plug at home and they immediately helped me get settled. I can definitely recommend this place. Rooms were big an clean. I can definitely recommend them.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Alaska hotel is inset from the dahab strip; despite being more expensive than similar dahab hotels, the majority of their rooms do not have an ocean view. I'd recommend against taking their breakfast; it's affordable but terribly underwhelming.

While the room was clean and fine, we had a very bad experience booking a trip through the hotel. We requested to go for a hike in the mountains, and were shuttled to the camp where they make the bedouin dinners. Once there, we were informed that they only make these hiking trips at night, so we were stranded up in the hills with nothing to do for several hours, eventually walking ourselves down to the highway. It was an awkward and miserable experience, and we ended up paying 150LE for two glasses of tea and a taxi ride.

The hotel refused to apologize, and we left very unhappy. It's a shame, because really everyone else involved was very nice except for the two people working at the desk, the first of whom sold us the trip unethically (in that she assured us a hike was possible when it was not), the second of whom refused to apologize.

Be warned!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyfellow6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Havingjust returned from my fifth diving trip to Dahab, I cannot recommend Alaska highly enough for good value accomodation in the centre of town which is quite sufficient for anyone on a diving holiday. The rooms are large and clean and the beds comfortable. The bathrooms are basic but there's plenty of hot water and they are in good order. For the money I think you would struggle to do better in this town. If you want the luxury of a full hotel Alaska is not for you, but if youre out all day and all night, it's a perfect place to lay your head.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stirrup_pump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This is my first trip to Dahab and I will be back to Alaska Camp. I have stayed 9 days and enjoyed the convenience and location. While here I have met people from Slovenia, Belgium, England, US, Japan, and Australia. It is very welcoming, laid back and helpful for booking things. I am too old for the backpacker hostel and this is many steps up from that but has that friendly flavor. Breakfast is adequate, rooms are clean and safe. Transport to and from Sharm is very reasonable. I like to snorkel and have many choices here. As a single female traveler It is a great place.

Room Tip: Ground floor, fan was enough for Spring weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatfromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.2 mi away
Dahab Dorms
Dahab Dorms
#39 of 52 in Dahab
12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dahab Plaza Hotel
Dahab Plaza Hotel
#21 of 52 in Dahab
330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Penguin Village
Penguin Village
#13 of 52 in Dahab
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jowhara Hotel
Jowhara Hotel
#14 of 52 in Dahab
87 reviews
0.6 mi away
INMO Divers Home
INMO Divers Home
#30 of 52 in Dahab
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seven Heaven Hotel
Seven Heaven Hotel
#25 of 52 in Dahab
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Camp & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Camp & Hotel

Property: Alaska Camp & Hotel
Address: Masbat South Sinai, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Dahab
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alaska Camp & Hotel is right in the heart of Dahab. Only 10 metres from the main beach area and the sea it makes the perfect base to experience and explore Dahab - great value, fantastic atmosphere and the opportunity to meet other travellers from all over the world. With 30 rooms over 2 floors, Alaska Camp & Hotel still retains the relaxed atmosphere of the old beach camps, with Bedouin seating areas in which to chill out and enjoy your stay. Our staff are on hand to help you get the most out of your time in Dahab and experience everything that this unique town has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alaska Camp And Hotel
Alaska Camp Hotel Dahab
Alaska Camp Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing