We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Dahab !!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alaska Camp & Hotel
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best in Dahab !!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

This is our second visit and we were not disappointed !!
Great relaxing atmosphere, freindly staff, very clean and functional rooms.
Diving, snorkelling and windsurfing 20 metres from the hotel !!!
Thanks Alaska and thank you Jacky for another great time !!!!!!!!!!!

See you again **********

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PapillonNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    56
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
83
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2009

Our room in Alaska Camp was really clean with a comfortable bed and plenty of space. It was the nicest room we stayed in over the 2 weeks were were in Egypt. The location is good - right by all the shops and restaurants but tucked away so it seems quiet and relaxed. The staff are really helpful and the breakfast was good becasue rather than just the usual bread and jam, there's also a variety of fresh fruit, plus the eggs everyone keeps mentioning here. We'll definitely stay here again if we go back to Dahab.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhoe00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

rooms are newly built so nice and clean, fully tiled bathroom. great outdoor/indoor wifi lounge and yard/gardens very well kept.
breakfast was great value because for the price of 2 coffee in street they will make you fresh coffee, (we had turkish with milk and was best we had in egypt) eggs your way,cereal, toast/spreads, yogurt and very good quality fresh fruit.
found the staff very helpful and friendly, had flu so they made me fresh teas twice daily with leaves off trees in yard for no charge.
perfectly located right amongst the restaurants, dive shops, cafe and bars.
highly reccommend

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramsaysigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick St John
Level Contributor
406 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2009

After an awful holiday, being pestered to death in Luxor I'd vowed never to visit Egypt again but I'm pleased to say I was persuaded to give the Red Sea coast a try. I found Alaska Camp on Trip Adviser and all my enquiries were promptly answered and I couldn't believe the price (around £11 a night for a double room en-suite). They also recommended Sea Dancer for some diving trips and arranged my taxi which was ready and waiting for me. I was very pleased with my room and the hotel is just yards from the heart of the village but also very peaceful. I only had one breakfast there but it was excellent and there was plenty of help and advice on hand. Most of the bars and restaurants run around the edge of the bay, and many offer free sunbeds for the day with good snorkelling right on the doorstep - it's ridiculously cheap even before the Yall Bar (which is in the same ownership as Alaska Camp) give you 20% off - I came back with over £200 left!
You need to be aware that unless you ask, rooms are not made up or cleaned however I didn't find this a problem. I'm very much hoping to go back next June and Alaska Camp will be the first place I'll want to stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AttitudeAdjuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

This place is amazing -- I almost wish it could stay a secret - but the guys running it are so wonderful I wish them all the success and popularity they deserve.

Dahab was my final destination after a 3 month traveling/backpacking (flashpacking) trip around the Middle East. I planned to stay for 2-3 nights, but ended up staying 8 nights because the Alaska Camp & Hotel was so lovely!

It is super-clean and brand new. The beds were so comfortable it was hard to leavve the room! The bedrooms are large with very tall ceilings, and a lot of thought was put into the functional yet stylish decor (table, mirror, stool, armoire with hangers, etc). The bathroom is extremely large by Middle East standards - with fresh hot water (many hotels in Dahab only have salt water and/or lukewarm water).

The location is perfect. A huge plus -- it is quiet! Even though it is right smack in the middle of the bustling Dahab waterfront promenade - which can get noisy -- the Alaska Camp is tucked into it's quiet little alley and very peaceful.

The staff are fantastic. They are helpful and accommodating, but not overbearing. If you need anything at all (room to be cleaned, a fresh towel, snorkel equipment, directions, a restaurant recommendation, trip info) - just ask and they'll help you out -- but they don't follow you and bug you to book tours, do this, do that. Rami, Sabry, and the hard-working guys are fantastic - always a smile on their face and always willing to help out.

The breakfast is a great deal - 20 EP for a fresh buffet - with eggs cooked as you like.

This was by far the best hotel I stayed at in my entire trip. And an incredible value -- considering the quality and comfort of the hotel it is a super value.

Be sure to have dinner & drinks at Yalla Bar (also owned by Alaska & a great pub/restaurant)! And their recommendation for diving (Sea Dancer) is top notch and professional.

Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GetOffYourTushyAndGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

I staied 5 night in this hotel... I visisted several camps and hotel in Dahab before deciding to go for Alaska. It is great value for money in comparaison to all the other places I visisted in Dahab and the rooms are really really clean and the hotel is calm and the staff very helpful and frendly. I payed 130 EGP per night for a big room, AC, own bathroom, balcony.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julient05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

we had a lovley chilled out break couldnt of asked for anything better. Rooms clean and spacious and very much good value. We would definatly return and next time i would take my son faby place for kids very safe. ALL the staff were lovely nothing to much trouble. Just up the road is the Yalla bar and they do the best veggie curry i have ever tasted also the tequilla sunrises are devine.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotusblossomScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.4 mi away
Penguin Village
Penguin Village
#26 of 52 in Dahab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jowhara Hotel
Jowhara Hotel
#14 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dahab Plaza Hotel
Dahab Plaza Hotel
#31 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seven Heaven Hotel
Seven Heaven Hotel
#20 of 52 in Dahab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.6 mi away
INMO Divers Home
INMO Divers Home
#27 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Camp & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Camp & Hotel

Property: Alaska Camp & Hotel
Address: Masbat South Sinai, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Dahab
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alaska Camp & Hotel is right in the heart of Dahab. Only 10 metres from the main beach area and the sea it makes the perfect base to experience and explore Dahab - great value, fantastic atmosphere and the opportunity to meet other travellers from all over the world. With 30 rooms over 2 floors, Alaska Camp & Hotel still retains the relaxed atmosphere of the old beach camps, with Bedouin seating areas in which to chill out and enjoy your stay. Our staff are on hand to help you get the most out of your time in Dahab and experience everything that this unique town has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alaska Camp Hotel Dahab
Alaska Camp And Hotel
Alaska Camp Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing