We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alaska made Dahab feel like home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alaska Camp & Hotel
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight
1 review
“Alaska made Dahab feel like home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

Thanks to Jackie and all her friendly staff at Alaska, my stay in Dahab was a prefect treat to beat the January blues. My friends and I chose the camp because it was the first good all rounder we saw on websites and in Lonely Planet. We initially booked just a couple of days, convinced we would find an apartment to share to for better value. We were wrong! After exhaustive searches and talking with others in Dahab, we kept on extending our stay until we finally realised we would not find better and remained in the relaxed ambience of Alaska for the rest of out three week stay. Breakfast was always perfect and the value was unbeatable. With all the staff, from management, to cleaners and night security, nothing was too much trouble and we made some genuine friends. Relaxing, secure and unbeatable value!

Thanks guys, missing you already and cannot wait to bring more friends with us next year. (Or maybe later this year!)

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    56
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
83
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2010

I've been to Alaska at least 5 times since June 2009. I've been with my husband, my parents and friends... People are always welcoming and ready to help you with whatever you need: places to visit, to do snorkeling, diving, etc. Also, you'll get a 20% discount card for every meal (including bevarages) that you eat at Yalla!, a restau-bar nearby next to the sea with excellent food quality (the best in town!), with tables and deckchairs to spend all your day long there, under the sun and enjoying excellent ice-creams!
Also, bear in mind that even though you can find places at the same price, here in Egypt is not common to find clean places, and Alaska is really clean and comfortable, their rooms are really nice with excellent ambiance!
Just enjoy, you cant ask for more!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reginacalcagno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of wight
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2010

We have stayed at alaska the past two months, in this time we have become good friends with all the staff,who are lovely people that are always there to help you.
Since we have been in Dahab we have checked out most of the camps and hotels and find Alaska to be the best value for money.
The breakfast is great lots of fresh fruit,eggs how you like and much more.
All the rooms and the grounds are very clean and you can have your sheets changed when you like.
If you want to organise a trip to Sinai or Jordan the staff could not be more helpful.
Great hospitality,Great value we will be back!
Ed and Ana, Isle of Wight

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edstents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

we arrived to a very warm welcome from Jackie and a pot of tea. The previous weeks travelling across Egypt with 4 (ages 19, 13, 15, 5) children had taken its toll but Alaska provided us with the opportunity to relax and recharge our batteries. The rooms were basic but very clean. I understand towels are alo provided if requested which i didn't know at the time.Breakfasts were good but we opted to eat at Yallah bar (20% discount offered- the children's fav. haunt for food- we tried others but we kept returning here)
Staff were very friendly and the outdoor seating area a comfortable place to lounge around in the evenings.
Trips to the blue hole, Mount Sinai (sunset) and camel rides were arranged easily. We also hired snorkelling gear daily which was a good price. We would love to return!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittlemissBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mountains
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

clean, simple rooms with plenty of hot water. free wi fi, television in outside chill out area. access to kitchen if needed. staff is friendly and trust worthy. central to all the action but still quiet. excellent backpackers choice. scuba diving shop was in the process of opening in the hotel when we were there.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darkgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise-MarieHolst
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

The location is great, the rooms were nice, the shower not so good, the service bellow average and the breakfast poor.
I think what struck me the most was that after our check out, we aksed if we could take a shower and we were told we could use the staffs shower, which was cold water only over "a hole in the ground toilet". to take a shower you litterally had to stand in the toilet. Thats not a way to treat staff and not customers either.. The breakfast was not worth the money, and the boss not very nice. However we chose to stay there as the rooms were clean, the bed was good and the location excellent. I would still recommend it, but you could probably find better for the same price.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise-MarieHolst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

Hi,
I've been to alaska camp with my girlfriend in December 2009. This place was recommended by a local . We had the room for a really cheap price and the room was clean with a nice balcoon.
The camp is situated right in the middle of the main street and you are 2 minutes walks from really EVERYTHING (restaurants, shops, divecenter, beach...)
Inside the camp, you can rest in a lovely place with lot of pillow. You can have tea and there's someone over there 24/7.
I'll go again to Dahab, i will sleep again to Alaska camp! Be there or Be square :)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stéphane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.4 mi away
Penguin Village
Penguin Village
#26 of 52 in Dahab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jowhara Hotel
Jowhara Hotel
#15 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dahab Plaza Hotel
Dahab Plaza Hotel
#31 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seven Heaven Hotel
Seven Heaven Hotel
#17 of 52 in Dahab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.6 mi away
INMO Divers Home
INMO Divers Home
#27 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Camp & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Camp & Hotel

Property: Alaska Camp & Hotel
Address: Masbat South Sinai, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Dahab
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alaska Camp & Hotel is right in the heart of Dahab. Only 10 metres from the main beach area and the sea it makes the perfect base to experience and explore Dahab - great value, fantastic atmosphere and the opportunity to meet other travellers from all over the world. With 30 rooms over 2 floors, Alaska Camp & Hotel still retains the relaxed atmosphere of the old beach camps, with Bedouin seating areas in which to chill out and enjoy your stay. Our staff are on hand to help you get the most out of your time in Dahab and experience everything that this unique town has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alaska Camp Hotel Dahab
Alaska Camp And Hotel
Alaska Camp Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing