We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to return to!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shams Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shams Hotel
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The place to return to!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed in Shams Hotel with friends by a recommendation of our dive instructor. Location is right on the beach, with excellent restaurant and breakfast choices. Cozy place with friendly and respectful staff. I preferred a bungalow over the traditional hotel rooms, which added perfect mood for our vacation.

Will definitely stay there again when we are diving next time in the Red Sea!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikaGarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamsiii, Owner at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2016
Dear Nika,

Thanks for the nice words & thanks for taking time to review us
I am happy you have enjoyed your stay & looking forward to see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    90
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
44
91
44
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

based on my experience, Shams is the best hotel in El Mashraba, Dahab.
when it come to breakfast, room service, the location, that friendly staff and specially by the sea, I'm totally satisfied. Next time I should try the diving experience with their diving center.

Room Tip: You should stay at the bungalows :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fouad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamsiii, Owner at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2016
Dear Fouad,
I am glad you liked your stay at Shams Hotel
You are always welcome to come any time
All the best & see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

The staff are very friendly, breakfast is excellent and right on the sea, and we stayed at one of the bangalows rooms, very nice and clean, I think they are still renovating them so there was a couple of small things that needed to be fixed. Definitely going back again to Shams, I won't think twice.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank YaraSallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamsiii, Owner at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2016
Dear Yara,
I am glad you liked your stay at Shams Hotel
You are always welcome to come any time
All the best & see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

the hotel is perfect , I tried 3 hotels in Dahab before Shams , but Shams really has the best rooms and location .
The breakfast is great with allot of varieties and the divers there are professional.
I stayed in Dahab 6 days , 4 nights in Shams Hotel and 2 nights in other hotel , really there is no comparison between them , Shams is the best is everything ( rooms , service , food , location , etc....)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M0hamed_Anis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamsiii, Owner at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2016
Dear Mohamed

Thanks for your time to review us
I am happy you enjoyed your holiday in Shams Hotel & in Dahab
Looking forward to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

Ive been in dahab too many times and i always been staying in shams hotel good prices and friendly team . The dive center is great is ideal to start your scuba diving learning , very profissional team of divers and also very friendly hamada , hamdy and ahmed they all will be a great assistance for you cheers

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamsiii, Owner at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2016
Thanks for your time to review us
I am happy you enjoyed your holiday in Shams Hotel & in Dahab
Looking forward to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Shams has a lovely relaxed atmosphere, and it benefits from being positioned in a quiet spot by the sea front, within a two minute walk from the central restaurants and shops. This makes it perfect, as you can enjoy the night life of Dahab and have a peaceful place to retreat when you wish to get some sleep yourself! The accommodation is clean and comfortable and you are well looked after during your stay. Shams restaurant provides lovely food and a great selection of breakfasts and juices that you will remember for ever! It's a really chilled place to relax by the lapping red sea and enjoy a post diving drink.
The dive shop is ran in an efficient but relaxed way, so you can get the most out of the diving opportunities available, without ever feeling any pressure to hurry! The equipment is kept in perfect condition - it's all new anyway, and the dive guides and instructors are patient, organised, extremely knowledgeable and very safety conscious (and nice people as well!)
I really enjoyed my stay (March 2013) and would recommend Shams for those looking to dive, rest and relax!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamsiii, Owner at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2016
Dear Jenny

Thanks for your time to review us
I am happy you enjoyed your holiday in Shams Hotel & in Dahab
Looking forward to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

hotel shams is our favorite for five years now. Because the shamspeople are not only very friendly but also very funny and kind. The hotel is small so it makes you feel at home very easy. It's clean, light and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamsiii, Owner at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2016
Thanks for your time to review us
I am happy you enjoyed your holiday in Shams Hotel & in Dahab
Looking forward to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
2.1 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
1.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Penguin Village
Penguin Village
#24 of 52 in Dahab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acacia Dahab Hotel
Acacia Dahab Hotel
#6 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.6 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#7 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shams Hotel

Property: Shams Hotel
Address: Al Mashraba Street, Dahab, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shams Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shams Hotel & Dive Centre – the premier budget accommodation catering for rec, tec and CCR divers in Dahab. Shams Hotel recently opened in 2006 and comprises two stylish accommodation facilities. Designed in an oriental style, the hotel is located right in the heart of touristic Mashraba in Dahab, about 15 metres away from the shores of the gorgeous Red Sea. We welcome you in our airy and scenic reception area, where you can check out our latest dive trips, safaris, entertainment options and selection of books to escape right there... right now! Between the hotel and the beach, comfortable Bedouin-style seating and chilling areas enable you to enjoy breakfast whilst contemplating the harmony of the rolling waves on the ocean... feet in the water, or just about. The hotel is kept small, with a friendly feel and atmosphere, and offers a total of 20 single, double or triple rooms. The accommodation options are divided between 14 standard hotel rooms located at ground or first level, and 6 wooden bungalows. Most rooms present a sea or a mountain view, and are just perfect for your ideal romantic escape to the delightful sea resorts of Egypt. Families are groups are well-catered after too... trust us to make your vacation eventful or restful, just as you wish it to be! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shams Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing