We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a beautiful quite place”
Review of Shams Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shams Hotel
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a beautiful quite place”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I just LOVED Dahab, it blew me off by it's amazing views, the quietness, that sense of familiarity in a very good sense. People there are really nice and friendly, better than many other places I've been to in Egypt.
Shams Hotel is really cozy,comforting and beautiful.
Thanks for your hosting =)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lobna_Ghanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamsiii, Owner at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2016
Dear Lobna,,

Thanks for choosing Shams Hotel , It is great to read that review
So happy of the positive experience you had here & looking forward to see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    94
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
46
99
47
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Me and a group of friends stayed there last month and had a fantastic time.... Not only is the hotel clean and the restaurant fantastic, the owners and the staff are all very polite and helpful and can arrange airport pickups from sharm.... the restaurant on the sea serves fantastic breakfast as well as all day meals.....they are close to the bustling center so that you feel you are close to all the action but far enough so u dont hear all the noise and the crazy clubbing all night that happens around the mashraba...i will definitely be staying there again...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelishka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamsiii, Owner at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2016
Thanks for choosing Shams Hotel , It is great to read that review
So happy of the positive experience you had here & looking forward to see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This was my 4th stay at Shams Hotel in Dahab and, despite travelling there on my own this year, yet again I didn't want to leave.
It is perfectly situated on the promenade with amazing views from the restaurant and shops behind the hotel so you can get anything you need.
I dived with Shams Diving Centre while I was there and also arranged a trip to the Coloured Canyon through hotel owner, Shams, who also lent me a small backpack to carry my water and camera etc for the trip. It really is a one stop shop for activities in Dahab.
I didn't look at staying anywhere else when booking my holiday to Dahab as have always enjoyed my holidays at Shams and it now feels like a home away from home, with many of the same staff greeting you year after year - always a good sign!
I look forward to going back next year !!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamsiii, Owner at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2016
Dear Rebecca,

Thanks for taking the time & reviewing us
It was great to meet you & looking forward to see you soon again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

it wasn't my first time there, good value for money, rooms are clean, perfect location in the middle of the walk, near to everything and quiet at the same time, I will always stay at shams whenever I visit Dahab

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank refaat m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamsiii, Owner at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2016
Dear Refaat,

Thanks for taking the time & reviewing us
It was great to meet you & looking forward to see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I made my reservation for this hotel online and after I stayed for 10 days I discovered that the owner wanted to charge me a higher rate than we initially agreed. There was no mentioning of the increase in price during this time despite having talked over the phone. The discussion became heated with threats of bring the tourism police. The rooms are not in good condition with obvious health risks (see pictures). I decided to leave and found better locations so will never return to this place again. I have serious doubts on the legitimacy of this business, when I left they could not produce an official final bill with the business registration and tax numbers. Instead someone created an invoice on a white paper using the diving centre computer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoBeshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shamsdahab, Owner at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2015
Dear Mohamed
Thanks for making the booking with us for your stay in Dahab & i am sorry for the miss understand has happened .
It is clear Mohamed when you book a single room then you use it as a double it is not the same price Mr Mohamed - that is where the misunderstand has come -
We has offered you a room But you chooses another room after you has checked it
at the end we are sorry for that miss understand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

It was not my first stay at Shams and still every time I'm back to work I found myself thinking of the next vacation. the place is direct by sea, quiet, clean and very friendly staff. It's managed by the owner who is so keen to make always an unforgetable stay. diving center is fully equipped for everyday adventure and manged by very friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youssef_anwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamsiii, Owner at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2016
Dear Youssef

Thanks for keeping coming back to Shams Hotel & i would like to thank you for taking the time for that review
It is always nice funny time when you are here , can't wait to see you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The hotel is clam with clean rooms and directly in front of the sea. Staff is friendly as well.

You will be safe there. Its location in the middle of the town makes it easy to commute around for any shop or restaurant.

I will stay in Shams when I visit Dahab again!

Room Tip: Try to book a room that is facing the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 451Reema123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamsiii, Owner at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2016
Dear Reem

Thanks for choosing Shams Hotel & taking some minutes to write that review
We are glad with your positive experience and look forward to welcome you very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
2.1 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
699 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
1.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Acacia Dahab Hotel
Acacia Dahab Hotel
#6 of 52 in Dahab
274 reviews
1.6 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#7 of 52 in Dahab
376 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shams Hotel

Property: Shams Hotel
Address: Al Mashraba Street, Dahab, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shams Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shams Hotel & Dive Centre – the premier budget accommodation catering for rec, tec and CCR divers in Dahab. Shams Hotel opened in 2006 and comprises two stylish accommodation facilities. Designed in an oriental style, the hotel is located right in the heart of touristic Mashraba in Dahab, about 15 metres away from the shores of the gorgeous Red Sea. We welcome you in our airy and scenic reception area, where you can check out our latest dive trips, safaris, entertainment options and selection of books to escape right there... right now! Between the hotel and the beach, comfortable Bedouin-style seating and chilling areas enable you to enjoy breakfast whilst contemplating the harmony of the rolling waves on the ocean... feet in the water, or just about. The hotel is kept small, with a friendly feel and atmosphere, and offers a total of 20 single, double or triple rooms. The accommodation options are divided between 14 standard hotel rooms located at ground or first level, and 6 wooden bungalows. Most rooms present a sea or a mountain view, and are just perfect for your ideal romantic escape to the delightful sea resorts of Egypt. Families are groups are well-catered after too... trust us to make your vacation eventful or restful, just as you wish it to be! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shams Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing