We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel i've ever been”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Sun Hotel Dahab
Ranked #46 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The worst hotel i've ever been”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

we only had to sit for only 1 night as part of a trip and it was on 18 oct. 2013.the problem was with the following:
1. staff is not enough for running a hotel(only 2 for HK, 2 for buffet serving and cleaning... etc)
resulted in:
1.Rooms,towels, lobby,restaurant tables,pool and everything is unclean.
2.service is too slow
3. no maintenance for the rooms as the bathroom door can't be closed.
4. no soap, or shampoo... we got the towels upon request.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abeermelligy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    82
    32
    35
    77
See reviews for
43
126
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We're not the most sensitive family (I went to several archeological expeditions). But now this place is awful.
I hope that this is due to that riots stuff. It's about 10-15 guests in 90 rooms right now.
Seems that because of that there's no food, drinks and hot water.
Personel tries to be nice, but you have to struggle to have a glass of red wine for supper.
Pool is cold and dirty.
No safe sea entrance (you still can use the one in the next hotel).
If you have a choice now - buy just plain tickets and book a hotel in Dahab.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denniskl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dahab hotels

Bromham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

After several holidays in Sharm decided to try Dahab. Sea Sun Hotel looked great as advertised.
Arrived evening 17/9/13.
Very quite to be told only 6 guests in total because most foreign tourist's
had been prevented from travelling due to Egypt's problem.
The few staff present were fantastic and couldn't do enough for us especially Oma and Micky.
Afraid it went downhill from there on. We were shown two rooms to choose neither were great,
Wall light hanging by wires, only one bath towel, half a toilet roll.
All meals we had no choice only what was put in front of us and to be fair they were presented
very well. We understand no chef present.
The pathway leading to the beach had dog foul that had been there sometime also the beach
had dog and apparently camel foul. The sun beds were filthy and hadn't been cleaned for some time.
I'am sure this hotel has seen better times but we were so disappointed with everything that we left for another hotel after 4 days.
I would not recommend Sun Sea it certainly doesn't live up to it's presentation.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rodney v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Spent two weeks chilling by the swimming pool.Food wasn't five star, but the room was perfect.Free shuttle bus to Dahab was a plus. New manager with a heart of gold and a few laughs.Would I go back and visit again? Of course I would......and so should you.

Room Tip: It's a 40 minute walk to the Blue Hole.Price of food and drink is overboard! Take your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I travelled alone to this hotel in late June, 2013 and I thoroughly enjoyed my holiday. The rooms are large and spacious and any problems one had were sorted out straight away. The rooms were cleaned very day to a high standard. The food was a bit repetitive at times but I only failed once to have a meal and I am a fussy eater. The staff are great. The beach is lovely and other guests stated that the snorkelling was great too. The mini bus taking you into town in the night is very handy and it is just enough time to look around. If I returned to Dahab I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The rooms nearer the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannette g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

great holiday great hotel and a new fantastic manager

i recently went to the sea sun hotel in Dahab for a break and also to go snorkerling in the red sea. it was amazing and whilst i was there a new manager had taken over.

what a breath of fresh air

great food
great service the staff are amazing

thank you for a fantastic holiday to all the staff and expecialy the new manager what a great person to have x

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizc0le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband and I visited here when the riots were going on (I've selected September 2012 on the drop down list for when we visited as it won't let me go any further back than that and I've just started to get to grips with Trip Advisor and catching up on my reviews). To be honest, it was a cheapy little getaway break. For the money we paid, it was money well spent. The week we stayed it was very quiet as a lot of people weren't going due to the riots.

As it was quiet, the staff did their absolute utmost to ensure we had a great time. We met the chef who tried to accomodate all our needs. if you're a fussy eater then all inclusive isn't for you 9but this goes for any hotel in any country). My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed every meal even though the chef struggles to get ingredients to cook with due to the riots.

Our room, the pool and the hotel in general was clean enough (I'm not going to say pefect but then again, we didn't pay 5* prices).

You can't fault the hotel or staff as they're trying extremely hard.

I wouldn't say that Dahab is the best place in Egypt however, it's a great place to visit. I especially recommend a visit to The Blue Hole which is a 10 - 15 minute walk from the hotel. It's quite an eerie place as there's a wall with all the names of the divers who never returned. However, the sea is just beautiful with all the coral and stunning fish - it's a great place to snorkel. This isn't a party place, it's very quiet but that's great if you're looking to relax and chill out.

If you're looking to book a holiday here bear in mind the price you're possibly paying. This is a great hotel if you get it at the right price but as with all holidays - if you're looking for 5* then go to a 5* hotel and pay the extra. For my husband and I, we were more than happy!!

Room Tip: If you're not happy with anything, just talk to the staff (without shouting at them) as they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayButterfly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.0 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
0.0 mi away
Happy Life Village
Happy Life Village
#16 of 52 in Dahab
550 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dyarna Hotel
Dyarna Hotel
#44 of 52 in Dahab
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon Hotel
0.0 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#8 of 52 in Dahab
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Sun Hotel Dahab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Sun Hotel Dahab

Property: Sea Sun Hotel Dahab
Address: 53 Blue Hole Road, Dahab 2345, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Sun Hotel Dahab 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Sun Hotel Dahab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing