We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and simple”
Review of Jowhara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jowhara Hotel
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Our impression of this hotel is that it is, quiet, simple, but clean and no bugs.
It`s close to the boulevard where the restaurants and all the shops are, within 10 minutes you walk there.
The english owner Tracy makes breakfast in the morning, and you can ask her for anything.
You have to bring your own towels. Th prices are good.
Its also possible to go scubadiving at the Dive In Scuba Center, they will pick you up at 8.45 in the morning.
We had very nice stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CAM1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Jowhara Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2011

We stayed at the Jowhara hotel with the 4 of us. Everything was well taken care of and nothing seemed to be a problem. We asked, they arranged..... The staff is extremely friendly. They don't only take care of their guests, but also of their cats, and that was realy nice to see. Tracy is a very pleasant host who definitely makes you feel welcome. For Mohammed there was nothing he wouldn't do for you, very helpful. Suleiman also kind and helpful. After one day the Jowhara hotel had become our home. The rooms are basic, but a real pleasure with the airco. Talking about 'value for money', you couldn't do any better. The diving school they make use of (Dive In) is well organised and safe to dive with. They take diving serious but don't loose sight of the fun part. When we first saw where the hotel was located, we were a little bit disappointed, as we thought it would be more in the centre (seaside) of Dahab, but at the end we enjoyed taking the little walk pass all the shops and the quietness of the area. (and the good thing: the supermarket, cash machine and liquor store are next door). So altogether: we will book here again without any hesitation, and rather today than tomorrow..... ;-)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niekje44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

This would have been my 3rd visit to this Hotel. I would only ever go to the Jowhara as I find the accommodation and the staff are very Pleasing and As a Sole Traveler It is important to me to feel safe as a women in a foreign country.
There is a wonderful Cafe that is Run by a English Very Friendly Lady Who accommodates your every need, the Food is Top Notch and you know by the open kitchen on view its a very clean place. I must admit I did enjoy every breakfast there.
The rooms are everything that i require and the Noise level in the hotel is kept at a minimum and I never had any problems at any time ON MY 3 VISITS. It is also Lovely that I was remembered and felt very welcomed by all.
There is a supermarket next door which is very convenient and A wide variety of restaurants a stone throw away. Plus the beech is literally 30 second walk.
In my opinion. it is the heart of Dahab.
Very Reasonable Prices. Very Friendly Staff. Great Food on Premises. Dive Center on Premises. Will accommodate your every need. Have even helped me on transfers and trips when I needed it.
Hope to see you all soon

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gemmacobwebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

The owner was great and helped us planning all our outings, we even were allowed to use the kitchen. Location is great, I think in central Dahab, not on the water, but that didn't matter to me. The rooms are clean and simple, the bathroom water is salty, but I think that is the case with most hostels in Dahab. For the price, it was great.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatimaf36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

a cheap hotel i thought when i booked. BUT its not cheap in the way you may think.
a simple but clean accomodation in the southern part of dahab - the more quiet area of the "town" but still close enough to reach everything u like to go. the stuff is relaxed, very friendly and helpful. you need something? the get it for you or tell you how to manage to get it yourself.
all the rooms which are big enough have a own bathroom with hot water. the beds are clean and comfortable. small wardrobe, free wifi (which also reaches the rooms in the backpart of the site).
there is also a office of the "dive in" diving center which is located bit further south. if you have any questions about diving just ask. i can absolutely recommend diving with them! good in price, experience and kindness!
tracey the british manager who also runs the breakfast café is very nice and will help you with any question you have.
when i got sick the looked after me, i felt to be in good hands. more like in a family than in a hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monophob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We wound up here largely by accident but had a great experience. The room was clean, the staff was friendly, and the location was fine (it's hard to go wrong in tiny Dahab).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mram28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

A small friendly, clean hotel within easy distance of the main shops/restaurants in Dahab. Good food at Tracey's English cafe and hotel is in a nice quiet location, even though there are lots of shops and restaurants all around.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveSinai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.3 mi away
Dahab Plaza Hotel
Dahab Plaza Hotel
#24 of 52 in Dahab
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
INMO Divers Home
INMO Divers Home
#28 of 52 in Dahab
66 reviews
4.7 mi away
Happy Life Village
Happy Life Village
#14 of 52 in Dahab
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
524 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
0.0 mi away
Dyarna Hotel
Dyarna Hotel
#45 of 52 in Dahab
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jowhara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jowhara Hotel

Address: El Mashraba Street, Dahab 069, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Price Range: £16 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, friendly Bedouin-run hotel in the centre of Dahab. Although we are centrally based you will find us tucked away like a secret garden and very quiet and peaceful. All rooms are very clean and comfortable and many people who come for a night end up staying a month due to the tranquility of the place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jowhara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing