We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another brilliant holiday at Mercure Bay View!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to this hotel and will hopefully be retuning for a third as it's just a brilliant place to be!!

The hotel was practically empty with literally no more than 20 people staying there (and we made up 7 of those!). The staff members, be it at reception, around the pool (Ali), at the bars (Reda) or serving in the restaurant are some of the nicest people I've met and couldn't do enough for us. They are fun, polite and accommodating. They definitely make this hotel what it is and did a great job at making a quiet hotel seem a bit more alive.

The grounds are beautiful and kept immaculate. The rooms are big and more than adequate for what any normal person would need. The beach is lovely and would normally have a bar open but this was closed during our visit (18th Sep - 3rd Oct) due to the lack of guests (the pool bar was open and always fully stocked!).

The sea is entered via a jetty and is absolutely beautiful. Snorkelling off the steps was amazing and like being in Nemo's fish tank! There is always a life guard on hand (during stated hours) who seems to know a lot and happily advised us on the best time to enter the sea. We found the sea was calmest around 3pm.

The food was more limited than when we visited last year but again, due to the lack of guests, this was understandable. You can get pizza, burgers, hot dogs or chicken sandwiches from around the pool (all lovely) and the evening meal was always nice. Towards the end of our stay, we requested the chef cook something a bit different for us which he did without question.

Dahab town is a cool little place if you want to escape the hotel for a night. It's not busy or geared up for clubbers but is a relaxing place to sit and have a few beers. I took my 2yr old son and happily went into the town with him and my mum on a couple of occasions and felt 100% safe. If the shop owners called us to go in their shops, we just said no and they left us alone.

All in all, if you're looking for a relaxing and quiet holiday, this is a great choice. There is no evening entertainment or pool games but this is exactly what we love about the place.

We were probably a bit spoilt but have no doubt the service would have been the same if the hotel had been busier.

Last thing to mention is how great the staff were with my son. They were constantly checking he had juice, made sure his toys were ready around the kids pool every morning and just generally made a big fuss of him everywhere we went which was lovely. It's a great place for toddlers who love to run, explore and swim.

Room Tip: Level 4 is nearest to reception, the restaurant and evening bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhereNext66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel. set in beautiful surroundings. Staff all very pleasant .rooms very clean .The rooms are set on 6 levels. but if you have mobility problems you can always request the electric buggy which will take you anywhere ,Food was varied and plenty of it. Very relaxing

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ghiza123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Due to the trouble in cairo there were only about 15 people in the hotel during our stay, thankfully we went with friends.
The rooms very clean with mini bar and gorgeous view of the sun rise from Sauidi every day.

Staff, all very friendly and helpfull especially Ramadan and Reda. Although all the staff were great and made us feel welcome.

Food, i cant comment im a fussy eater but i managed with pizza/burger/chips at the pool bar and evening meal there was no buffet with there only being 15 people but i managed with chicken or beef.

Snorkling is amazing and only 2 minutes from the pool to the sea.

I would definatly return to this hotel just to see the staff again they really made our holiday great.

Transfer, we book a private taxi due to having kite stuff and he worked at the hotel during our stay and happt to take you into Dahab town for a small price.

Cant wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Firstly, if you are travelling to Sharm El Sheikh and require return transfers from airport to hotel,
be wary of booking 'A2B' transfers, their service is disgraceful. On arrival after pandemonium finding the company we sat on the mini bus for 45 minutes for no apparent reason before going
to the hotel!

They request you to call them 48 hours before departure to confirm pick up time from hotel -
airport which we did and agreed a 1PM pick up 'Haha'. At 1.20pm we called them to find out
where they where? on its way, 5 mins they said ! at 1.35 we called them yet again and told
the following; you either wait for the mini bus to arrive, get your own transfer or stay in the
Hotel and miss your flight, charming! Our party contained 6 adults and a 2 year old little fella.

At 2.15, an hour and 15 mins late, the mini bus finally turns up already with 4 adults on board!
there was 7 of us all with 2 cases each plus hand luggage,with the cases from the other
Passengers there was NO possibly way in the world that we would all get in the mini bus! The
Driver who could not speak English called his office, I spoke to them again and explained the
situation, an unbelievable rude and arrogant man once again told me to sit in the hotel and miss
Our flight!!!!

We ended up paying another company to get us all the airport.... It's up to you folks...but 'A2B'
airport transfers in Sharm El Sheikh is not for me ever again!!!!!

Mercure Bay View Dahab.

With the problems in Egypt of late the hotel/ complex was sadly empty with a maximum of 20
Guest there at any one time so it's difficult to comment on the service would the hotel have
Been running to normal capacity.With all areas, restaurant, pool and bar being totally unoccupied
we found the service to be excellent as basically we where they only group to be served!

The hotel it's self is very clean, the food was very good and if requested they would cook what
you asked for.The staff where all very polite and would go out of their way to make your stay
pleasurable.The rooms are very clean with tea/coffee facilities etc, the mini bar in the rooms
for some unknown reason not on the all inclusive? The complex it's self is really nice and kept
to high standards.All in all we had a great holiday at the Mercure Bay View Dahab, thanks!!

Just one thing to add, the hotel is built on a very steep slope and therefore may not be
suitable to all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RaymondC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

A perfect place to relax for a few days in the lovely Egyptian sun. Lovely quiet hotel, pool and reef and fantastic views of the Red Sea, Saudi and the mountains. Staff were amazing - so helpful and attentive - they make this hotel what it is! Special mention firstly to restaurant manager, Mohamed, who is doing such a great job and never seems to stop, and also to Ali at the beach bar who made sure that I was never without a drink!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gin_and_tonic_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Secluded and quiet, but within a cheap taxi ride to Dahab town. Lovely hotel, gorgeous views of mountains and the sea. Sunrise over Saudi is a real treat. Private peaceful beach with good snorkelling and a beach bar for refreshments. Went with a friend of similar age, late twenties, and loved it. Food not brilliant but can't complain for all inclusive. Alcohol readily available although bar man a bit on the slow side! Room clean and well equipped. Dahab itself is ok, not many tourists around, decent selection of restaurants, gift shops and watering holes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank birdybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A-Naiem, General Manager at Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear our valuable guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Dahab Bay View. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

what a fantastic holiday we have just had. the mercury hotel is amazing and so are the views and scenery. from the pool guys to the recepionist were all nice people. made us feel welcome ask them for anything and you got it. would we go back my answer is a big YES thank you to you all for making are stay so good. BARBARA WILD ......

Room Tip: all rooms are very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank barbie66-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A-Naiem, General Manager at Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear our valuable guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Dahab Bay View. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
7.1 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
2.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon Hotel
5.1 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#2 of 53 in Dahab
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#9 of 53 in Dahab
405 reviews
1.3 mi away
Happy Life Village
Happy Life Village
#13 of 53 in Dahab
564 reviews
2 mi away
Jaz Dahabeya
Jaz Dahabeya
#3 of 53 in Dahab
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort

Address: | Qunai Valley, Dahab 46617, Egypt (Formerly Sol Dahab Red Sea Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dahab
#8 Family Hotel in Dahab
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
Price Range: £25 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located next to 18,000 m2 of private sandy beach overlooking the Gulf of Aqaba Three swimming pools (two for adults and one for children), one of them heated in winter The resort captivates the senses with unrivalled facilities and a relaxing atmosphere. Great diving spot and world-famous windsurfing destination 217 fully furnished rooms, family rooms and suites overlooking the sea Great choice of restaurants and bars to delight your taste buds and indulge your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Dahab Bay View Hotel Red Sea And Sinai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing