We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baaaaaaaad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Baaaaaaaad”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My advice for every one not to visit this hotel ever

Simply this hotel is the worest one i have ever visit in my life
Service is bad
Staff is very aggressive
Some item was stolen
Restaurant is very far from room
When.we arrived it takes more than 3 hours to have our luggage in rooms
Nothing is good there
They have nothing to provide for there clients
Nights is very boring there
It will be my first and last time in this bad hotel!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank ahmad h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    144
    59
    32
    21
See reviews for
91
180
29
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I will not stay here again even if I am held at gunpoint. The place is veryyyyy dirty and the service sucks. They say it's because the management has changed, but based on thw previous reviews here, it changed to a worse one.
When I checked it the toilet was dirty and smells awful, the shower was dirty and had dead insects stuck to the floor. The basket and mini bar were not emptied and the cups had coffee marks.
Not to mention dead cockroaches and alive geckos.
The staff is friendly, yet useless. They didn't offer irons in the rooms, but they offered to take my blouse and iron it for free. This good gesture turned into an awful experience when I had ro wait for about 6 hours until someone came to pick it up (although I called three times and insisted I need it in about an hour or less).
The second day the key didn't work, so I called the reception to send someone to open the door for me. I kept waiting in the scorching sun for 20 minutes until I found one of the housekeeping staff by chance to opwn the door for me, otherwise, no one would hav3 opened ot for me till now.
I am currently staying there, but I will check out tomorrow to find anywhere else to spend the rest of the vacation.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Shaymaa_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I'm egyptian,I book in this hotel twice a year with my family and since we discovered Dahab and the bay view resort &spa we became addictives to Dahab and this Hotel, really adorable and the staff are so friendly.

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISRAA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

stayed here alittle while ago
and it was great/trouble in cairo so few at hotel but all the same the staff where great
could not fault this place i thought it amazing
the lunch@ the pool bar great all in all would defo stay again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 129mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I and my wife stayed for 7 nights , It was a great vacation
the rooms were clean , comfortable with a great sea view
food was varied and some was very good in quality
the hotel was quiet at this time of the year , you can relax and take a break of your daily life pressure
the location is perfect with the mountains behind you and the sea in the front
the most special for this hotel is the stairs, it is every where in the 6 levels of the hotel grounds but you can also moving by the club cars
the beach is rocky , but clean
The service was very good in the restaurants and the house keeping
there is a shuttle bus directly to Dahab town four times a day , it is a nice town
i like to thank every one of the staff specially Mohamed in the reception and Fayed of house keeping, and Walid , the pool bar man and Mohamed from the pool area and Walid in the Blue restaurant
I like to thank Mr.Karim the hotel manager for his efforts
Finally i have to say it is safe to travel to Dahab there is no fear at all , i traveled by my car from Cairo along 6 hours and it is very safe road ... enjoy your stay in Dahab

Room Tip: The second and third levels near of the sea and main pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isaac E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The stay was simply very good, only few comments on the food variaty, a bit less options but no comments on the quality.

The rooms were very clean and neat, service was very good as well as the prices.

Room Tip: The hotel consists of multi levels from the beach up till the reception, the nearer to the beach is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank omartawfik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to this hotel and will hopefully be retuning for a third as it's just a brilliant place to be!!

The hotel was practically empty with literally no more than 20 people staying there (and we made up 7 of those!). The staff members, be it at reception, around the pool (Ali), at the bars (Reda) or serving in the restaurant are some of the nicest people I've met and couldn't do enough for us. They are fun, polite and accommodating. They definitely make this hotel what it is and did a great job at making a quiet hotel seem a bit more alive.

The grounds are beautiful and kept immaculate. The rooms are big and more than adequate for what any normal person would need. The beach is lovely and would normally have a bar open but this was closed during our visit (18th Sep - 3rd Oct) due to the lack of guests (the pool bar was open and always fully stocked!).

The sea is entered via a jetty and is absolutely beautiful. Snorkelling off the steps was amazing and like being in Nemo's fish tank! There is always a life guard on hand (during stated hours) who seems to know a lot and happily advised us on the best time to enter the sea. We found the sea was calmest around 3pm.

The food was more limited than when we visited last year but again, due to the lack of guests, this was understandable. You can get pizza, burgers, hot dogs or chicken sandwiches from around the pool (all lovely) and the evening meal was always nice. Towards the end of our stay, we requested the chef cook something a bit different for us which he did without question.

Dahab town is a cool little place if you want to escape the hotel for a night. It's not busy or geared up for clubbers but is a relaxing place to sit and have a few beers. I took my 2yr old son and happily went into the town with him and my mum on a couple of occasions and felt 100% safe. If the shop owners called us to go in their shops, we just said no and they left us alone.

All in all, if you're looking for a relaxing and quiet holiday, this is a great choice. There is no evening entertainment or pool games but this is exactly what we love about the place.

We were probably a bit spoilt but have no doubt the service would have been the same if the hotel had been busier.

Last thing to mention is how great the staff were with my son. They were constantly checking he had juice, made sure his toys were ready around the kids pool every morning and just generally made a big fuss of him everywhere we went which was lovely. It's a great place for toddlers who love to run, explore and swim.

Room Tip: Level 4 is nearest to reception, the restaurant and evening bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhereNext66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
7.1 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
2.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
2.1 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#7 of 52 in Dahab
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
693 reviews
1.3 mi away
Happy Life Village
Happy Life Village
#14 of 52 in Dahab
546 reviews
3.7 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort

Property: Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
Address: | Qunai Valley, Dahab 46617, Egypt (Formerly Sol Dahab Red Sea Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dahab
#10 Family Hotel in Dahab
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located next to 18,000 m2 of private sandy beach overlooking the Gulf of Aqaba Three swimming pools (two for adults and one for children), one of them heated in winter The resort captivates the senses with unrivalled facilities and a relaxing atmosphere. Great diving spot and world-famous windsurfing destination 217 fully furnished rooms, family rooms and suites overlooking the sea Great choice of restaurants and bars to delight your taste buds and indulge your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Dahab Bay View Hotel Red Sea And Sinai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing