We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodation and not that cheap, good for backpackers.”
Review of Sunrise Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dahab
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunrise Lodge
Ranked #20 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Dahab
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We booked here with a Groupon deal which was supposed to have made it much cheaper but when we arrived we weren't convinced and compared to other much better accommodation in the area we decided to move to the Blue Beach Club Hotel.

This accommodation is ok if you want very basic or are backpacking and want to be close to the 'strip'. We had to ask for our room to be cleaned and considering all toilet paper goes in the bin and not down the toilet a daily room clean would have been appreciated! The beds were ok, the air conditioning was good and location was convenient but a bit noisy.

You could have stayed cheaper in Dahab if you are on a real budget but for a couple of pounds more you could be staying somewhere much nicer with a pool, restaurant, bar and services such as diving school or massage/treatments etc.

I would not stay here again and would only recommend it to people looking for basic accommodation and not scared of a few exposed electric wires in the wet room! As with other recommendations stay away from room 5!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haribo143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

Budget lodge with ensuites suitable for young couple or as in my case scuba diving from the lighthouse area. Typical Bedouin style lodge with outdoor sitting area on cushions and rugs Ahmed is the on site handyman guy who is very helpful (taxis arranged) This is not Sharm el Sheik and doesnt try to be so has no pool and facilities. Anyway the sea and cafe/ restaurants are less than 50 metres away. All windows have fly screens and sleeping wasn't too difficult in the warm evenings (A/C) Nearby prices were keen with beer at 10 E.pounds at happy hour 5-9 pm .Steaks were 80 Egyptian pounds and good breakfasts 20 E.pounds. Too many dogs roam the area but they tend to sleep a lot in the heat but can be noisy early morning At about £20 per night you are in the middle of the action ..Great thai restaurant nearby at 60 E pounds a main course and Jays bar alongside with entertainment and reasonable food and prices .Discounts on the diving centre arranged and this was excellent

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianjaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

My self and my girlfriend stayed here for 2 weeks end of April start of may and had a brilliant time at sunrise. Yes it's not 5 star but get everything you need. Rooms are kept clean and tidy on request by Ahmed who we found very helpful and friendly and got anything we needed.
Jays was brilliant,owners and staff were magic and we made good friends here. The whole experience of Dahab was magical and we did not want to leave. We will return to dahab and sunrise lodge!! Ross+Tina X

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossco1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Sunrise lodge has a lot going for it. The location could hardly be better: within a flip-flop throw of the seafront with it's bars, shops and restaurants, yet no noise (with one notable exception I will explain shortly) reaching it from any of those. The area gets no motor or pedestrian traffic to speak of.

Hence one would expect it to be very quiet - the main reason for me to book. And during the day, it really is an oasis of quiet and peace.

Rooms are nothing extraordinary but equipped with everything you'll need. They are spacious and clean, featuring the shower cubicle-with-toilet arrangement that will be very familiar to asia travellers. The beds are great - large, with good quality mattresses that appear to be new, and clean linnen. Air condition is working well but should only be needed at the height of summer or if you have to close the windows because of noise (more on that shortly) . The (impressively huge) egyptian cockroaches will only very occasionally be sighted, provided you don't bring any food into your room. There is a fridge for storing foodstuff in a seperate room, a very sensible idea. There is insect netting on the windows.

Ongoing cleaning is by request - tell Ahmed when you'd like your towels changed or your bathroom cleaned and he will make it so. He is an all round good egg, hard working, reliable, friendly and extremely helpful, and Claire (the owner, absent at the time of my stay) should be very happy to have him running the place.

There is a folder with tips and recommendations - I have tried 2 of them (Big Blue diving and Kings Safari Tours) and found them both excellent.

That's the bit I enjoyed writing. Sadly there is more.

Sunrise Lodge consists of 5 ground level rooms around a courtyard. Unfortunately that courtyard inspires some guests to hang out all night until 05:00 in the morning and have a little party, with chatter, laughter, drinking and smoking odd herbs. This is a problem for anyone wanting to sleep at night. On 2 occasions guests brought back groups of hanger-ons who didn't even stay at the lodge but decided it's a good place to party on after they appearantly got thrown out of some bar. Needless to say, polite requests to consider others were met with ridicule and expletives, and since it is illegal and unethical to hit people, and since there isn't any staff at the lodge at night, there is really nothing one can do. When told of the problem in the mornings Ahmed was genuinely distraught that we weren't happy but there is nothing he felt he can do either. Even he can't work a 24 hour day. This happened on multiple occasions during my stay.

Another problem - occuring twice a week - are the wonderful rooftop gigs at Jay's bar. This is the swiss-owned place affiliated with Sunrise lodge. Normally no noise from there reaches the bedrooms but Mondays and Thursdays there are live gigs on their rooftop. Go and join in if you can, the music is great and you won't be able to sleep anyway, even with earplugs and closed windows, until they stop around 02:00 or so.

Yes there is a dog there. He's got a lovely personality, friendly and laid back, but of course being a dog he does what dogs do - namely bark at all hours at night and relieve himself in the courtyard. You do need to watch your step.

After the first night in room 5 we asked Ahmed to change rooms. The idiosyncracies of the sanitary arrangements mean there is frequently a backlog of sewerage in the drains outside rooms 4 and 5, resulting in a faecal smell wafting into the bedroom. Room 5 can get particularly whiffy due to an aerated drain cover directly in front of the window. Ahmed kindly changed our room the next day, and room 3 was totally unaffected.

Finally, the place is a tad overpriced for what it is. GBP 20.- per night for a 17 night stay is about GBP 3-6 more than we would have paid elsewhere in Dahab for a similar standard (yes I did ask around, at the end). Note Sunrise lodge quotes the price in GBP, thus the customer will pick up any deterioration in currency exchange when paying with Egyptian currency. No cards are accepted.

Would I go back? Probably not for that price tag, and not at all unless I'd come with a group of like-minded people who take over the entire place. There is a very large number of accomodation options available in Dahab.

Should you go? Depends: If you like going out and socialising at night, relaxing during the day, and not exerting yourself too much, this is a great place to stay if you don't mind paying a bit more. As I said, during the day it really is supremely quiet and peaceful.

If - like me - you're there for the diving and need your sleep at night, and you're not in a large like-minded group, you might want to look elsewhere. For a place without inner courtyard.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 4+5 as they get faecal smells from the drains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobetrekkerOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Great location, in the centre of the beach promenade strip but about 20 metres behind the beach-front buildings. Very small complex of only 5 rooms, overseen by Ahmed who is the local friendly 'fixer'. Linked up with Jays Restaurant for breakfast, which IS on the beachfront - toddle out of your room and have breakfast overlooking the water.

Had a communications hiccup with the airport transfer so make sure you have local phone numbers in hand, as the average taxi driver will not be able to find the place.

Hammock is great! As is the shaded bedouin-style lounge area. We were there in Feb - sun wasn't TOO hot, so would have been nice to have a couple of reclining lounge chairs inside the complex.

Dog lovers will be happy! Resident dog is a handsome German Shepherd / Akita / cross named Foxy - friendly to people and keeps the cats off of 'his' territory!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ava F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I've just spent a week diving in Dahab and I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay than Sunrise Lodge. It is centrally located, but set far enough from the boardwalk to be tranquil at all times, and the courtyard with cushions and a hammock is lovely. Claire, the owner, was superbly helpful by email before I arrived and then a brilliant source of information (and laughs) while I was there. Ahmed, who helps with the day-to-day running of the place, was always smiling and happy to help. The room was clean and well-serviced, the shower was hot and powerful and I didn't see a creepy-crawlie all week. Best of all was the price - I paid about GB£12 a night.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I stayed at Sunrise Dahab for 9 days in November 2011, had a fabulous time at the lodge and in Dahab.

The rooms were clean, spacious and even have a walk-in closet. The lodge is about 20m from the boardwalk and beach, which is lined with beachside cafes and dive shops.

Claire, the owner, was helpful with suggesting places to eat nearby and excursions in Dahab. She recommended a trip to a beach camp north of Dahab and a dive shop on the boardwalk, both turned out to be a great experiences.

I would definitely consider staying at Sunrise Lodge again if I came back to Dahab.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shimmermoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
0 mi away
Dahab Plaza Hotel
Dahab Plaza Hotel
#18 of 53 in Dahab
344 reviews
0 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 53 in Dahab
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Jaz Dahabeya
Jaz Dahabeya
#1 of 53 in Dahab
947 reviews
0 mi away
Dyarna Hotel
Dyarna Hotel
#46 of 53 in Dahab
73 reviews
0 mi away
Le Meridien Dahab Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Lodge

Address: Masbat Bay, Dahab, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Dahab
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunrise Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing