We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hipster Hangout”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ghazala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ghazala Hotel
Ranked #2 of 27 Dahab B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Hipster Hangout”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

A cool place to stay. Ghazala is perfectly located halfway between town -- with its extensive collection of restaurants -- and the laguna where all the fancier resorts and windsurfing and kitesurfing stations are located. The hotel is right on the beach and its promenade, and boasts a neat restaurant and a bedouin set up, complete with cushions and rugs. The rooms themselves are relatively spacious, and are all ensuite, with basic but functioning WC facilities. Best of all is the atmosphere: it is friendly, with guests getting to know one another and socialising together, whether within the hotel or elsewhere. Ghanim is in charge of the restaurant, while Joe, the proprietor oversees the hotel facilities themselves. So if you are a sole traveller this is a good base to set up camp, or if you are in a group Ghazala is an equally prescient choice. Enjoy. I will be back...

Room Tip: The closer to the beach, the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0llingSt0ne2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    40
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
27
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We've been to Ghazala a few times now. It is laid back, easygoing, simple and straightforward. A pretty quiet location (very quiet for Dahab) but within easy walking distance of the centre of town, and with enough local shops and beer spots that you don't ever have to go anywhere. Actually has its own beach, which is not common in Dahab.

I don't want to pay a fortune. I don't need gold taps and 24 hour room service. I do need somewhere clean, comfy and welcoming. Very happy with Joe and his team. Will certainly go back.

Room Tip: Rooms right on the beach are the noisiest. Come in a room or two from the beach, and it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiveObsessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

this is one of the most cosy place in Dahab, friendly atmosphere, super good and healthy food, reasonable price for an hotel with their own beach! if you dont fancy to swim from the reef table you can rent a bicicle here and ride all the way south to the lagoon were the free beach is...basicly it has all what you need to make from your time in sinai a real resting vacation. the staff is willing to help you for any escurtion you may like to do.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rico_ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This place is by a long shot not the Hilton, but it's not supposed to be. It does however do the job and does it nicely. Rooms are air conditioned and cable TV is in most rooms, bathrooms are clean, service is friendly and prices are not bad. It's at the very end of the vibrant Mashraba scene so peace and quiet are definitely there, the center is a 10 minute walk. Have nothing bad to say about this hotel, will definitely return.

Room Tip: First room overlooking the beach, triple beds (good value), downside is a small TV (unlike most of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mina_Kelada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This place was recommended to us by some friends who like diving and love going to Dahab to get away from it all at the weekends. We live in Cairo and this place is such a contrast however this boutique hotel is a real gem. We have been several times and intend to go again and would recommend it as a great place to simply chill. The hotel is small but really friendly the owner Joe has a great attitude in running this place.The staff are friendly and very helpful and the place is clean and tidy and well kept.
I know people have different tastes and it all depends what you are after. This place is simple straight forward and does great breakfast's and is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUFTUMinCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I just loved this place, where you could walk right out of your room, across a few feet of colorful tile courtyard, through a covered cabana and right to the beach. Since nobody gets up very early in this sleepy little village, I had the beach to myself to watch the sunrise over the Saudi Arabian mountains. Joe and his team were available to serve at any time, but you could just sit and read too with no one to trouble you. Since the hotel is at the end of a long stretch of beach restaurants, it's very quiet too, and quite a welcome relief to the noise of Cairo and the cities. The food was great, and one night we had goat for dinner, roasted Bedouin-style over coals buried in the sand. The price was very accessible and made it possible for me to stay in this location much longer than I'd anticipated. Thank you Joe and team for a terrific visit.

Room Tip: Rooms a little away from the beach are quieter because sometimes rambunctious dogs scramble on the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrytravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

After much research, we settled on Ghazala, and we're so happy we did. They picked us up from Sharm airport, which helped us avoid the taxi mafia.
Joe and Garnim told us to treat the place like our home, and that we did.
Ghazala is situated almost at the very southern end of the boardwalk, so you're away from the restaurant touts. The rooms are clean, very comfortable, and excellent value. We could hear the crashing waves from you room..... They have their own small private beach to chill on as well and an enclosed, but airy restaurant for if it's windy. The food's delicious and they serve Saqara Beer and shishas too.
Bike rental, laundry, all the services you might need, all with a smile and some friendly banter.
Massive thanks to the team at Ghazala, you made the last few days of our trip just perfect. Chris and Sandy

Room Tip: They're all great, but the closer you are to the sea, the more likely you are to have it lull yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrismeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.3 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
484 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
2.4 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Acacia Dahab Hotel
Acacia Dahab Hotel
#6 of 52 in Dahab
270 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
0.2 mi away
Penguin Village
Penguin Village
#26 of 52 in Dahab
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghazala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghazala Hotel

Property: Ghazala Hotel
Address: El Mashraba, Dahab 04108, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Ghazala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing