We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dahab's Best”
Review of Ghazala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ghazala Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Dahab B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mussoorie, India
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Dahab's Best”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Our stay at Ghazala was our longest in all of Egypt (1 week) and we've been impressed; it's on par with our favourite hostel in Cairo in terms of best experience. The staff here (hi, Ahmed and Joe!) has been incredibly helpful, setting up tours and helping with some unusual questions. The owner, Joe, is almost always around and available to assist and answer questions, not simply handing things off to his staff. The rooms are large enough and aren't overkill in size - which is great, because there's plenty of beach to enjoy, lounge chairs and free WiFi that's accessible in the restaurant as well as the rooms. The hotel can also arrange rental snorkel gear, which is wonderful, as there is a reef in excellent shape right outside!

The only suggestion we have is to either provide anti-mosquito plugins for the rooms, or for guests to bring bug spray along; Dahab seems to be mosquito breeding grounds, and you're particularly susceptible in the evening and overnight hours.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maitreyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    41
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
27
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Being to Dahab late May'13 just for a weekend, experience was great!
Jo, the owner, is the most relaxed, helpful and cool person!

Rooms are simple, but cozy, and most importantly very clear. Staff are helpful and smiley, but the best of all is the private little beach, where the restaurant and the lounge outdoors area is placed. AMAZING. Food is also good, nothing fancy., but good quality and tasty

to visit!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lampros B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Ghazala is really the best place to stay in Dahab / Sharm El Sjeik! Great staff, great food, very calm, totally chill,... and all that for a great price!!
Nice rooms, beautiful garden and great breakfast on the beach!
Back at home we discovered a little souvenir: I'm pregnant and in august we're expecting our little Ghazala-girl :-)
We definitely go back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I am reluctantly leaving a review on here because secretly I don't want too many other people to find out how amazing this place is for fear I'll never be able to get a booking! Joe and his really lovely staff do a great job of making this simple budget place feel like the biggest bargain ever. The rooms are simple but nice and the courtyard and private beach are both wonderful. The campfires and Bedouin tea and singing/miming/jokes around the campfire are all a huge added bonus. The food is a bit more pricey than the accommodation but the breakfasts, milkshakes and juices were some of the nicest fare we had in Dahab so it's totally worth it.

We were really made to feel like part of the family and - even after a four day stay - were very sad to leave.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank galaxyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

It's a lovely place with nice people that like to fool around. The snorkeling outside of Ghazala hotel is amazing. They even organized a pick-Up at the airport which also brought us back, and everything worked fine.
Thanks and see you soon

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Lovely people, very well run and well organised, a super restaurant and Ghazala made our trip to Dahab very special (our kids loved their pancakes and hot chocolate too!) Would definately recommend. We were actually staying next door but used Ghazala instead of our place every day!
There is fantastic snorkelling on the reef just out from Ghazala particularly on a calm day and an easy walk into Dahab itself. It is a 15 minute walk to the lagoon which is a beautiful beach for swimming with kids

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareCollins73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

It's a perfect place to have a really good rest and relaxation. A very convenient location - one can easily reach the center of Dahab or a secluded shore. Very cool and friendly staff, a cosy restaurant on a beach with great food, fantastic atmosphere...
I've spent two weeks there and it was a wonderful time in Ghazala!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.3 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
507 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
699 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
0.3 mi away
Acacia Dahab Hotel
Acacia Dahab Hotel
#6 of 52 in Dahab
274 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#7 of 52 in Dahab
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghazala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghazala Hotel

Property: Ghazala Hotel
Address: El Mashraba, Dahab 04108, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ghazala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing