We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We have just returned from a two week stay at the Sheikh Ali (two couples and two teenage children). This is a real gem of an hotel! As the hotel has only 22 rooms the service is relaxed and personal. Rooms are large and well thought out. The whole complex (built around a good sized pool) is spotless, and the food thoughtfully prepared and tasty (Tito, who heads the restaurant staff, deserves a special mention). With a town centre location the hotel is conveniently situated for the sea front and local shops, restaurants, dive centres and other amenities. However, through clever design noise from the surrounding area is not a problem. Indeed, stepping through the door of the Sheikh Ali from the dusty streets of Dahab is like stepping into a tranquil oasis.
I would thoroughly recommend the Sheikh Ali and have every intention to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Andrew H,

Thank you for your stay with us and your great feedback and recommendation here on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted you had such a good time during your Dahab holiday. We are very happy you found the hotel facilities, room standard and cleanliness to be of high standards. We wouls especially like to thank you for mentioning the small size of the hotel and the personal service offered from our team.

Tito thank you and we all look forward to your return.

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort,
Rasha, Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
71
34
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2013

A family of five, we spent two weeks in July and August at the Sheikh Ali. We were most impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms, the pool and the hotel as a whole, the attentive service that could not have been better, and the quality and variety of the catering (with two qualified chefs), all at a family-friendly price. The suites offer palatial accommodation for two, and are easily large enough for three persons. Indeed, we saw little reason to venture out for meals at all. The hotel lies in a quiet location in Mashraba, a couple of minutes from the start of the bazaar and the beachfront promenade path that stretches for several miles in both directions with restaurants, cafes and tourist agencies as well as shops. Supermarkets and pharmacies also close by. Dahab itself has a relaxed and laid-back atmosphere, even the market store holders and restaurant promoters usually accept a polite 'no' first time. Heavy emphasis on diving and snorkelling, windsurfing and kite surfing are other watersports available. If you are not especially enthusiastic about desert trips however, whether on camel, quad-bikes or 4x4, then you might find the range of alternative pastimes a bit limited. But most people go to Dahab to relax. And for that, it is the ideal location. Much look forward to returning.

Room Tip: First floor suites offer greater privacy but ground floor if you want pool-side accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Nigel D,

Thank you for choosing to spend your holiday in Dahab and Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort. We are very happy your family and yourself enjoyed Dahab in general and Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort in particular.

Dahab is a perfect spot to escape day to day life for a little, weather that being underwater, in the desert of under an umbrella on the beach. We see that most families coming to Dahab have consciously chosen a experience based and genuine holiday for their children. We celebrate the attitude and do our best to let young family members have a great time during their stay here.

Many thanks for sharing the experience of your family Dahab holiday here on Tripadvisor, we are very much looking forward to you return.

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort,
Rasha, Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klagenfurt, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We spent a week at the hotel in July 2013 and were extremely satisfied with all services.
The staff was very welcoming and helpful. Our room was lovely and large, always very clean and provided all amenities one could wish for. The pool area was very relaxing with comfortable sunbeds and provided the perfect calm environment for ending an exciting day at the beach. The restaurant was really a surprise and after the first evening eating out we did not stray again: PLEASE follow the chefs and waiters recommendations and you will get the finest, freshest dishes you could hope for. We had excellent Egyptian food as well as extraordinary international cousine. Respect to the chef!
We hope to be able to return to this lovely place again in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasLangmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear ThomasLangmann,

Thank you for your stay with us at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort and for your great recommendation here on Tripadvisor.

Over the past months we have made considerable changes to the restaurant menu. We are therefore pleased you enjoyed the meals on offer and the personal recommendations from our chef.

Furthermore, we believe that the central location, high standards and overall facilities at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort is our strength. We want the hotel to be a comfortable base for those who want to explore the Sinai and the Red Sea, as well as a little oasis’ for guests who just want to relax by the pool.

Many thanks for sharing your experience and pinpointing our vision in your own words!

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort,
Rasha, Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 10 days this June and had the most lovely time. After reading lots of good reviews we were certainly not disappointed on arrival. Lovely staff, massive rooms, great pool with lots of space and beds and a very clean overall environment. So pleased we chose to stay here. Will definatley be back. Thanks very much

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckd80123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Beckd80123,

Thank you for your stay with us and for letting other Dahab visitors know about your positive experience here at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort. We are of course very happy to have so many nice Tripadvisor reviews - and we also know the expectations are high when new guests arrive. We are therefore delighted to read that your expectations were met and look forward to having you here again soon.

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort,
Rasha, Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at Sheikh Ali in June 2013 for two weeks and had great time. We had family room which is huge including two bedrooms and a living room. We booked the hotel through dahab.net and got a really nice deal as well, price for such accomodation was very affordable. Room, hotel in general and the pool area was very clean and in good condition. Restaurant serves good food with reasonable prices. Staff was friendly and ready to help all the time. Hotel is located in Mashraba area and is couple of minutes walk away from restaurants and shops. We had really nice holiday and would go back to this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peehoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Peehoo,

Thank you for your email and your wonderful words here on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay in one of our 2-bedroom suites, and at our great summer offer too. Many thanks for sharing your experience with other travelers, we hope to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort,
Rasha, Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I've had the pleasure of staying at Sheikh Ali three times now and it's always the same - fantastic!

In Egypt, quality and service tends to deteriorate after a new property opens its doors - however, Sheikh Ali has managed to stay on top of its game. The rooms are gigantic, clean and well air conditioned. The walk-in showers are a nice touch, as well as the large vanity (both inside the bathroom and in the small 'changing room' of the room itself) to unpack your belongings.

It's true that the hotel is not on the beach front, but I wouldn't let that deter you from booking here. Remember, Dahab may be 'on the water', but it doesn't mean it's 'on the beach'. Much of the coastline is much too rocky/coral-y/sea urchin-ed to enter with comfort and safety and the true 'beach' hotels are located outside of town (Meridien, Hilton, Mercure). There is something to be said about being able to walk to Blue House Thai or to yoga at Coral Coast and not relying on a vehicle to get you there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealisticTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear RealisticTraveler123

Thank you for your visits to Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort. It’s your place and you are welcome back any time!

We are very happy you like the facilities and layout of our rooms as well as the hotel standards in general. It can certainly be a challenge to keep the standards over time but we are lucky to have some truly dedicated team members who do their very best to maintain and improve, day after day. An equally big thank you to them all, and to you for pointing out their efforts.

Many thanks for mentioning the location and for sharing your favourite spots with other Dahab visitors. Speaking of sandy beaches, we could add that the public beach of Laguna is within walking distance too.

We hope to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort,
Rasha, Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed at Sheikh Ali Resort in May 2013 and we really enjoyed it. The hotel staff was very friendly and always happy to help. We arrived by private transfer, arranged by the hotel. Great service! The rooms are very, very spacious and super clean. All windows had mosquito nets, even the sliding doors to the balcony. Very convenient, since there were a lot of mosquitoes when we were there.

The Sheikh Ali hotel is perfectly located in a calm and quiet area just a two minute walk away from the street with all the shops and restaurants. As for the restaurants we preferred the ones on the south side of the bridge in the more 'low key' part of the boulevard. They provide good quality food for a very good price. We especially liked Funny Mummy, but also Meya Meya and Jasmin. And don't forget to try the fresh pizza's at the Sheikh Ali resort, and the falafel sandwiches at The King of Oriental Food (at the end of the alley just behind the hotel).
By the way: if you want a good massage, do check out the salon that is directly opposite the Funny Mumnmy restaurant. It's just upstairs and they offer supberb massages for a fair price.

During our ten day holiday, we used the Blue Ocean dive center which is located in the hotel's garden. New facility, clean and well run, with lots of space and friendly staff. We did some beautiful diving on several sites.

There are cats everywhere in Dahab, so also at the hotel and dive center. These cats are well taken care of and we enjoyed seeing the kittens play and explore the gardens. But if you are not a cat lover, Dahab is not the place for you. Some restaurants even provide water sprayers to get rid of them during your meal.

We went on a late afternoon trip into the desert with a Bedouin guide, had a wonderful climb / walk in the mountains and tea at the Bedouin camp while watching the sun go down and the stars appear. Beautiful, so we were really happy Rasha at the reception advised us to take this trip!

In short: we really liked the laid back atmosphere in Dahab and the Sheik Ali Resort was the perfect place to stay. We would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to go to Dahab.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Joris B,

Thank you for your stay with us and for your recommendation to future Dahab visitors. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the Dahab atmosphere and found Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort to be the perfect place to stay!

It is great to know that you left Dahab with some great memories of Red Sea diving, desert experiences, good food and friendly people.

We hope to seeing you again in the near future!

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort,
Rasha, Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
2.1 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
1.4 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#7 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
0.1 mi away
Acacia Dahab Hotel
Acacia Dahab Hotel
#6 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort

Property: Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort
Address: Mashraba Palm Tree Garden, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dahab and the Sinai are full of amazing spaces on land and in the water. Echoing the open spaces of the Sinai landscape, our light and airy pool-side suites welcome you to a revitalizing break away. At Sheikh Ali Resort we have created space for you to be truly free and relax your mind - in your room, in yourself and in our natural surroundings.At Sheikh Ali, we have brought together the best of what Sinai has to offer. Red Sea diving and snorkeling, wind- and kite surfing can easily be arranged from the hotel. Deep desert treks and trips to Mt Sinai, St Catherine, Canyons and the Bedouin village of Ras Abu Galom are other highlights in our nearby surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing