We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always improving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“always improving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was our 4th stay in Sheikh Ali. I cant give enough praise to the staff in both the hotel and the restaurant. Nothing is to much for them and a very special thanks to Salem , who after day one understood my desperate need for a strong coffee early in the morning brought it over without even asking me. The rooms are fantastic and big and the staff keeps everything very clean and tidy. This place is for me the best hotel in the world. We will return !

Room Tip: ground floor garden, 1st floor terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheovanEeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear TheovanEeden,

Thank you for yet another visit – and another review to our Tripadvisor page. The support and enthusiasm from our returning guests is a true inspiration. A BIG thank you from us all!

Your coffee is ready for your next visit :-)

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort,
Rasha, Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
70
34
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed at the Sheikh Ali for one week with friends and family for a week of diving and sun! I've visited Dahab many times over the last 8 years and the Shiekh is easily the best hotel I've stayed in in town!
Beautiful big rooms, comfortable firms beds, with dressing area, huge living room and a wonderful walk in shower. Air conditioning is good, and can be set to fan, which for me helps so as not to dry out the already dry desert air. My room had a southern aspect balcony overlooking a calm and peaceful pool area which allowed me to get all of the afternoon sun.The hotel is not on the beach but in retrospect this was a positive because the sea front is a very loud and bustling place so peace prevailed!! The location is still good just a two minute walk and your at the best restaurants and bars Dahab has to offer. I would suggest the path to town could use some extra lighting.
The staff make the hotel. From the owner who is welcoming and always available to the front of house and cleaners. Special mention must however be reserved for the restaurant staff. They seem to of been hand picked from what used to be the best places in town, as they're all familiar! Always friendly and the food; steaks, pizza (fresh from an authentic pizza oven!) salads and omelettes. Chef Ahmed was even willing to go off menu and cook me up some things I asked for, and always cooked beautiful food!!
The hotel also offered a massage service which was great, and anything you needed arranged; flight transfers, taxis, restaurant reservations, etc.
Really have no complaints, and am already looking forward to my next trip!!

Room Tip: A room on the north side of the hotel gets the afternoon sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Richard I,

Thank you for choosing Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort for your last Dahab holiday. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and would like to thank you for sharing your experience with other Dahab travelers.

We have noted your point regarding more lighting in the path through the garden to the centre of town. Many thanks for pointing out all the positives during your stay, the restaurant staff, food, location, peace and quiet and all the additional services. The restaurant staff are pleased they could make you happy and send their regards to England.

We look very much forward to having you here again, we aim to offer you an even better experience next time!

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort,
Rasha, Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I have recently got back from an enjoyable 9 nights at Sheikh Ali Resort. The hotel is small, clean and tidy, however like the rest of Dahab, it's full of scrounging cats! The rooms are spacious an great value. Big walk in showers and big king sized beds. The pillows, however were a little hard. I asked for them to be changed, which was done immediately by the house keepers, but there wasn't a massive improvement. The service in the restaurant is good and the waiting staff are really friendly. They have an Italian trained chef, who cooks very nice pizzas in their brick pizza oven by the pool, which we had a couple of times. All in all, one of the better hotels in Dahab. I would certainly return for the value for money.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Luke B,

Thank you for your stay with us and for taking your time to write a review here on Tripadvisor.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, the service and the cleanliness, and found your stay to be good value for money.

I am also delighted to let you know that at the time of writing we have two vets at the hotel, doing an amazing job reducing the number of future cats in the area. Originally an initiative from the dive centre management and last time done about a year ago, we plan to do this at least once a year as this is really the only way to deal with the matter in a humane way.

We have also taken note of your comment about the pillow. In fact you are the first guest mentioning this but as we would like to make everybody happy we will certainly keep some softer pillows available too.

We look forward to seeing you again in Dahab and Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort in the near future!

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort,
Rasha, Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

This is review from someone who has lived in Egypt for a few years and stayed in a few hotels that claim to be 5 star many have not been a patch on this place.

I have just come back from 3 lovely days at Sheik Ali Resort largely down to Rasha as nothing seemed to be much trouble. This is a real gem of a hotel! From Booking (Thank you Guro) right through to check out it was a pleasant professional experience. The rooms are spacious. The whole complex is spotless. The food- the breakfast could be better but lunch and evening meals were excellent Restaurant Manager Tito really made eating at the restaurant a very enjoyable experience (we would recommend the Meat balls). It has a town centre location but the double glazed windows mean you don't have to stay up all night due to the very loud music coming from the strip.

I would thoroughly recommend the Sheikh Ali and have every intention to stay again.

Pros:
Location
Animal friendly (Lot's of friendly cats, which might be a problem for some) It wasn't for me
Rooms
Staff
Food

Cons:
Tours (Price was good but mini bus was not great! We only took 1 Tour)
Hotel Taxi is a little bit of a steep price for a return ride to the free beach.
It doesn't have access to it's own beach but there are plenty of options
Pool Very cold

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaOldaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear VictoriaOldaker,

Thank you for your stay with us and for choosing Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort for your Dahab holiday. We are pleased a seasoned Egypt traveller like yourself found a stay with us to be a pleasant and professional experience from beginning till end!

We appreciate all your positive feedback and have taken note of your comments for further improvements. The beach location is obviously not something we can do much about and pool heating is on the future wish list. However, we are disappointed that the minibus for your trip wasn't great. We are in the process of changing supplier for our trips and excursions and have great hopes for a general improvement of our tours.

Furthermore, we are aware that others may offer cheaper airport transfers, but on this point we will most probably not make changes for two reasons: As a Bedouin owned hotel we do our best to ensure that the native Bedouin benefit from the running of the hotel, both as employees and as drivers and we want to pay them fairly. Secondly, we receive so much positive feedback on our Bedouin drivers’ safe driving habits, non smoking policies and general attitude that we wouldn't want to lose them! We trust our guests appreciate the service offered and agree with us that one generally get what one pay for.

We hope to seeing you again in Dahab in the near future. As long as we can add more STARS to our team, we can do without the hotel classification stars :-)

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort,
Rasha, Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Been here in october 2013 the hotel is super clean. Rooms are new and spotless. The staff are very friendly. 3 mins walk and you will be at the center of the city and by the beach. Food wasn't the best thing in the world but still alright. Nice and clean pool. Good price.I'd definilty come again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moe-gammal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Moe-gammal,

Thank you for your stay with us and for sharing your positive experience here on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future to an improved restaurant experience.

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort,
Rasha, Gabaly, Guro and the Sheikh Ali team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Sorry for the late review!!

I stayed here in March 2012, after being recommended by the owner of the Backpacker lodge round the back (where I had stayed the previous week).

I had some business to attend to , and needed somewhere more relaxed so I could study for a couple of days so I came to the Sheikh Ali for a couple of days. The staff were really helpful, and the one guy offered to lend me his Egyptian phone so I could take a conference call from the UK (as it's cheaper).

The rooms are large and clean, modern and luxurious and the aircon is great.

Dahab is full of cats , as you all probably know, so I awoke one morning to find a new friend relaxing in my room, after I left the window open.

I would definitely return here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agapis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Agapis,

Thank you for your stay at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort. No need to apologise, we are just happy you still have such fond memories of your stay half year later!

We are delighted you enjoyed the room size and cleanliness and the staffs helpfulness. We hope you enjoyed your new cat friend in your room too, but would like to take this opportunity to advise future guests with cat allergies to keep windows and doors closed. That said, we are currently having two vets staying at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort and they are doing a great job reducing the number of future cats in the area in a humane way.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort,
Rasha, Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

First trip to Egypt and we had a great stay in this hotel. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay very enjoyable. We have no complaints and would recommend this hotel as an excellent base to explore Dahab.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear arnw,

Many thanks for choosing Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort for your first Egypt holiday. We would also like to thank you for booking your first holiday to Egypt in such historic times!

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your recommendation to other Dahab visitors. We hope to seeing you again for another great holiday in the future!

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort,
Rasha, Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
2.1 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
1.4 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#7 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
0.1 mi away
Acacia Dahab Hotel
Acacia Dahab Hotel
#6 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort

Property: Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort
Address: Mashraba Palm Tree Garden, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dahab and the Sinai are full of amazing spaces on land and in the water. Echoing the open spaces of the Sinai landscape, our light and airy pool-side suites welcome you to a revitalizing break away. At Sheikh Ali Resort we have created space for you to be truly free and relax your mind - in your room, in yourself and in our natural surroundings.At Sheikh Ali, we have brought together the best of what Sinai has to offer. Red Sea diving and snorkeling, wind- and kite surfing can easily be arranged from the hotel. Deep desert treks and trips to Mt Sinai, St Catherine, Canyons and the Bedouin village of Ras Abu Galom are other highlights in our nearby surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing