We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”
Review of Marine Garden Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dahab
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marine Garden Camp
Ranked #6 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed at Marine Garden Camp for 2 weeks over christmas and new years 2012 and we loved it so much! It started to feel like home almost instantely. The camp is so cozy and there's plenty of nice places to hang out, our favourite place was the chill-out area by the beach which was the perfect spot to view Dahabs gorgeous sunrises!! The location really was perfect as well. We really don't have anything negative to say except that we had to leave :( We tried some of the seafood that they served at the camp and it was soo delicious and really good value!

The guys who run the place and work there are really friendly and helpful in every way and help to make the atmosphere of this place so great!! When there was a misunderstanding concerning our taxi to the airport we had to wake them up at 3:30 am and they still arranged so we where sitting in a car within 10 minutes, thank you so much for that, you really saved us! Can't wait to come back, and if you are going to Dahab you should really stay at Marine Garden Camp!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks, and it felt like my home...I cried when I left.

It is of course for budget travellers, you get a simple room with a bed, and a bathroom (if you wish, there are rooms without bathroom also). Room has a fan, no AC.
The shared bathroom and shower was very clean (actually I preferred to use that instead of my own shower).
A shared kitchen, that was not so clean. But who cares.
Internet is working most of the time, but best just outside the room.

Some guests have been coming back here yearly for more than 20 years (I met 2 of them).
Location is at the calm side of Dahab, which is extremely nice. Just 3 min walk, then you are in the middle of everything.
Smoothie and coffee you can have at Chez Karim, just beside M G, and breakfast at Sindbad (beside Chez Karim)

Mohamed, the manager, is extremely nice, he went with me to the mountains one whole day, it was great.

Dahab is perfect for solo travellers, you meet a lot of extremely nice people all the time.
If you like yoga (ashtanga), Birgit is an excellent yoga teacher, that teach just close to MG (Blue Beach Hotel and Coral Coast Hotel) . Also Sarah is very good (kundalini yoga). I can´t wait until I can go back! Damn, maybe I should not post this, maybe I will not have a room..:/

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peggybundy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marine G, Manager at Marine Garden Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments, Peggy. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and we hope to see you again very soon. We will always have a room for you, so please don't worry! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I was livin there for serveral month. I just loved it. The location could not be better. It is just 2 minutes to city but very quiet.
The guys who are working there became my friends.

Every time I am going to Dahab I will always go there.

ma salama enjoy

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timur_Y14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marine G, Manager at Marine Garden Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Hi Timur

Thank your for your kind review. You will always be a friend now and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dahab soon.

Best wishes

Mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

we didnt stay in the camp, we hired the beach apartment in assalah, which is owned by the same family, we had a fantastic experience living with the local people, the apartment is located right on the beach, which has wonderful views. The apartment is all new inside, with 2 goodsized bedrooms a bahtroom with shower, a large open plan living dining area, and has a roof terrace which is great for sunbathing. We had a fab holiday here and would recommend it to anyone, you can walk to masbat no problem, through the streets or on the beach, taxis are no problem, the shops around sell everything you need and are a very good price...we had all our dry cleaning done for less than £5 this included bedding, towels and all our clothes, and we had some clothes beleive me....We stayed for 15 nights and really didnt want to come home....We are going back very soon and have already booked the apartment again. Loved it so much it was an experience we both want to live again.
I also have to add we ate quite a few nights at Marine Camp and have to say the food was about the best you can get in Dahab, it was Good Quality and Very Cheap....Everyone in the camp made you feel welcome and you just wanted to go back and see them....

Room Tip: The bedrooms have aircon, which is very good....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marine G, Manager at Marine Garden Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Thank you Miss Michelle - we hope you had a nice time here and we hope to see you again soon inshallah. The house is your house whenever you need it and you, your family and friends are welcome any time.

Best wishes

Mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Nice place for a chilled holiday on a budget. Very reasonably priced. Rooms are basic but clean and situated around a spacious courtyard. Staff is super friendly and welcoming. It's right near the water and only a couple minutes walk to the Lighthouse beach and all the shops and restaurants, but away from the noise and crowds. I'd say it's in a perfect location. Great place to experience local culture and meet new friends.
Added bonus- the best coffee and smoothies in Dahab are right next door at Chez Karim.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dervishdervish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marine G, Manager at Marine Garden Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our camp. Our place is yours, so please come back soon and you will be given another warm welcome!

Best wishes

Mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

If you're looking for a cheap stay in Dahab, Marine Garden is the place. Just outside the main strip, it offers decent rooms at very reasonable prices. It has a laid back atmosphere and the staff are pleasantly relaxed. THE place to chill!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyclingegypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marine G, Manager at Marine Garden Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Thank you very much for your comments - we appreciate it and look forward to your return to Sinai inshallah. All our very best wishes. Mohamed and the rest of the staff at the camp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CarinePDBDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.5 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 53 in Dahab
533 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dahab Plaza Hotel
Dahab Plaza Hotel
#24 of 53 in Dahab
336 reviews
3.7 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
INMO Divers Home
INMO Divers Home
#27 of 53 in Dahab
66 reviews
5.3 mi away
Happy Life Village
Happy Life Village
#13 of 53 in Dahab
557 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dyarna Hotel
Dyarna Hotel
#45 of 53 in Dahab
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Garden Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Garden Camp

Address: Lighthouse, Dahab, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Dahab
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marine Garden is a Bedouin Camp, a unique type of accommodation found only in the Sinai region of Egypt. It is ideal for the independent minded backpacker as we offer low prices, independency, and a truly laid-back atmosphere. Our camp is at the seafront in the Lighthouse area of Dahab and has unobstructed views of the Red Sea. The owners have worked hard to preserve the traditional Bedouin flavour of the camp. It is one of the few authentic camps left in the town. The emphasis is on partnership and sociability rather than on hard-line business.' ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing