We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Active and fun but over-developed and claustraphobic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
“Active and fun but over-developed and claustraphobic”
Reviewed 9 July 2010

If you're an experienced traveller - Dahab's Coralia, as well as the other hotels all along that stretch, is no romantic chilled getaway. It is sports and tour orientated, with concentrated development along the shoreline and near dead coral reefs in the sea. Tourists are packed tightly along the coast line, with little way of escaping the tourist buzz if your holed up in the big hotels. The beaches are narow and windy, though you'll frequently get a spare sun lounge due to everyone sailing/windsurfing. If you're there just to replicate life at home but in sunny climes, this place is great.

Dahab village is no more, but over developed (and still going as you'll see) staffed with young Egyptians from the mainland with no real knowledge of service. Their understanding of the local area is limited to the same old repetetive locations (white canyon, camel rides, st catherines, diving holes .etc) and thin at best. Their initial enthusiasm quickly evaporates when they pick you up for these tours - our tour guide from was a crook and we reported him to the tourist police. A walk through the centre is filled with persistent offerings to eat/drink or go camel riding, and not responding is often treated as a slight and you're sure to get a comment as you walk by. The restaurants all serve the same dishes, unless you try the one or two thai places, and are on the whole tasteless affairs unless your lucky.

The most regrettable part of the trip was the total destruction of the coral reefs along the coast line directly in front of Dahab's hotels. They are decimated, whatever the hotel or tour guide try to say, they are rubble on top and sparse of life down below. Tourists walk all over the reef in special coral shoes sold everywhere in the town but wholly condemned by one or two diving specialists I spoke to. If you're also looking for a starry night , forget it, Dahab's ever growing glow paints the sky a recognisable faint orange, just like over European towns. You'll have to step out into the desert for that but the camel tours will only take you to the edge of the town and the taxis will refuse, yes refuse, to take you.

If you have never been outside of green Europe, this place is a hoot. If you've travelled and have high expectations (and possible a bit miserable like me) then don't go there, find something else.

Dexl

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dexl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed N, General Manager at Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with us.

We are sorry to read that you have had such a disappointing experience at IBIS STYLES Dahab Lagoon .

Please note that your comments have been passed to our team to assure this unfortunate experience will not occur again.

Hopefully, we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The IBIS STYLES Dahab Lagoon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    238
    49
    25
    14
See reviews for
220
180
41
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wonderland
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Great vacation! Nice, spacious getaway spot! Absolutely best positioning in lagoon! Local, Thai, Italian cusine.Professional, very friendly and helpfull staff!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bond78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed N, General Manager at Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor , following your recent stay in ibis styles Dahab lagoon, I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.
We are delighted to read your great review post your stay in ibis styles Dahab lagoon. It gives us great pleasure to know that your stay was a memorable one. We are also pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us highlighting your good experiences and the service provided by our colleagues.
We have communicated your feedback to the entire team at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2010

With 2 young children holidays can be less than relaxing ! But all this changed at the Coaralia Club in Dahab. Lovely hotel with superb staff where nothing is too much trouble. The rooms were beautifully clean and our room attendant Hamdy did a wonderful job. Thanks for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hurford924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed N, General Manager at Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor , following your recent stay in ibis styles Dahab lagoon, I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.
We are delighted to read your great review post your stay in ibis styles Dahab lagoon. It gives us great pleasure to know that your stay was a memorable one. We are also pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us highlighting your good experiences and the service provided by our colleagues.
We have communicated your feedback to the entire team at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rösrath
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Coralia Club is a hotel in a beautiful park with a spacious beach. We have been there at least 20 times, as the windsurfing station is unique and the sport conditions perfect.
The hotel receives their guests with typical arab hospitality, the staff is very friendly. Two persons merit special mention: Mohamed Fawzy from the Sunset bar and Rafaat from the restaurant. Both serve their guest in an excellent way, making our stay extremely pleasant.
A renovation of the rooms, in particular the noisy aircondition, would be an advantage. The meals are moderate, small improvements could do a lot here. Why not reintroduce a salat bar as in earlier times? A pasta station that just trows precooked noodles with precooked gravy in a pan is not worth it. Please make the omelette for breakfast fresh from the eggs, not from a premixed pot. The dessert bar is delicious, special thanks to Abd el Nasser.
The Thai restaurant is very tasty (but comparatively expensive).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spacerabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed N, General Manager at Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with us.

We are sorry to read that you have had such a disappointing experience at IBIS STYLES Dahab Lagoon .

Please note that your comments have been passed to our team to assure this unfortunate experience will not occur again.

Hopefully, we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The IBIS STYLES Dahab Lagoon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Hotel Complex & Rooms
#####

The Hotel complex is very spacious, with lots of free space and lots of green grass between the bungalows, which make this - in my opinion - one of the nicest places to stay in this beach.

Also, for surfers and kiters, the closeness to the excellent Harry Nass Center #1 makes this a natural choice to spend your surfing holiday.

Pool: Hotel also has a nice pool, but I didn't even use it once this summer. Beach is even nicer!

The rooms (I stayed in Category A, they also have a Cheaper Category "B" and the better "Deluxe" Rooms) are nice and come with a terrace that's really nice and also useful to dry your windsurfing clothes (bring along some cord so you can build yourself a clothesline!)

Rooms are equipped with a small minibar (which you can take drinks from at very european prices, for example 1,75€ per can of coke), or you can of course also use it to keep stuff cool that you bought yourself in Dahab city.

Also in the room is a small TV with a selection of international TV programs. The room is equipped with air conditioning which is quite loud though! Bring along earplugs or stay in a "Deluxe" room which has - from what I heard - much quieter air conditioning.
Electrical outlets in the room are Europlug 250 V unearthed, seeing how some cables are really (torn?) out in the open is somewhat shocking at first, but since it usually works and I'm not going to touch those anyway I guess it doesn't matter too much.

My Room service (Mr. Ebrahim) was very friendly and kept the room in good order even though I often didn't make that an easy job for him :-) So far, I never had any trouble with leaving valuables (= Digital Camera, iPhone, Laptop, etc) in the room, which is the most important part of a good room service for me.

Regarding Service: The Egyptians (not only the room service) are in general very friendly. Giving them an occasional tip (as is customary) of course also helps.

Food:
#####
General: Breakfast and Dinner Buffet is included. Multiple restaurants in the hotel complex offer food (Italian / Thai / Sandwiches / other stuff) for lunch. Excellent for surfers is the "Sunset" Bar right next to the surfing station, which allows you to order stuff from the Italian restaurant without having to leave the beach.

Food Quality: Very mixed.
- Italian Restaurant (lunch): Could be so much better if they actually put reasonable amounts of Tomato on their food (for ex. on pizza & noodles). Somehow, they don't and that really affects their food quality. Prices: 4-7€ for pizza if I remember correctly.
- Breakfast Buffet: I was quite happy with this, no complaints from my side. Good pastry, good waffles.
- Dinner Buffet: Very mixed quality, meat quality sometimes excellent (mostly beef), but also often not so good (chicken was problematic sometimes). Some of the vegetables good, some really bad. Lasagna as usual suffered from total lack of tomatoes. When they start barbecuing, they usually let stuff on it till it's completely burned, so try to make sure to get the meat before it's black :-)

My opinion: If you are flexible you will usually find something good. If you are limited in your choices, for example by being a vegetarian you might run into trouble.

Internet & Telephone Connectivity:
#####
If you need Internet access, they will charge you through the nose. More than 10€ per hour is at least in my opinion not a price but total rip-off. The 24 hours that can be had for 20€ have to be used nonstop, so for 2 weeks with internet you will pay 14x20€=280€. What a joke.

Rooms cannot be reached directly from outside, but it's possible to call the reception and let them put you through to the room. I would recommend buying a prepaid phone card, those are very cheap and you can then be called for free on your Egyptian mobile number.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnybodyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed N, General Manager at Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor , following your recent stay in ibis styles Dahab lagoon, I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.
We are delighted to read your great review post your stay in ibis styles Dahab lagoon. It gives us great pleasure to know that your stay was a memorable one. We are also pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us highlighting your good experiences and the service provided by our colleagues.
We have communicated your feedback to the entire team at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2010

I had a great holiday at Red Sea with my friend.I was an amazing holiday.We spent 1 night at Coralia Club Hotel in May. The hotel is located near the beach. You can watch sea & windsurfers from your room balcony.The rooms are clean,cute,airconditioned but some of them need to be redesigned. General manager of the hotel is gong to make some rearrangements in the hotel,ex. the are going to built spa center .Condition of the hotel is perfect just 2-3 min from seaside.The beach long & clean.Especially good for child.Waterside is shallow.If you want you can just lay down on the beach and have sunbath or you can do watersports,scubadiving,snorkelling,windsurf,etc.The hotel staff were very friendly,helpful & polite,especially guy at the Mai Thai restaurant,Nasser. The food that i ate in Mai Thai restaurant was perfect,especially the fish & the salad.
In August or November i will go to this hotel again with my family and friends.
Coralia Club exceeded my expectations and was great value & a very friendly place to stay.
Thanks for everything.Next time i will stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coconut_girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed N, General Manager at Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor , following your recent stay in ibis styles Dahab lagoon, I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.
We are delighted to read your great review post your stay in ibis styles Dahab lagoon. It gives us great pleasure to know that your stay was a memorable one. We are also pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us highlighting your good experiences and the service provided by our colleagues.
We have communicated your feedback to the entire team at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petach tikva
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

we love coralia we are coming from Israel twice a year to the same hotel - coralia .
we love the place , the room is near the water, the first thing that we see when we open the door is a big blue sea .the food is very good the staff is very friendly and professional .
my kids 11.5 and 13 are waiting for our next vacation on july 2010

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanitaatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed N, General Manager at Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor , following your recent stay in ibis styles Dahab lagoon, I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.
We are delighted to read your great review post your stay in ibis styles Dahab lagoon. It gives us great pleasure to know that your stay was a memorable one. We are also pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us highlighting your good experiences and the service provided by our colleagues.
We have communicated your feedback to the entire team at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.
– General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
5.1 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
3.0 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#7 of 52 in Dahab
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
1.4 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
498 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jaz Dahabeya
Jaz Dahabeya
#10 of 52 in Dahab
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon

Property: Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
Address: PO Box 23, Dahab, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dahab
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
#7 Family Hotel in Dahab
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coralia Club Dahab Hotel Dahab
Coralia Hotel Dahab
Dahab Coralia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing