We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penguin Restaurant

Penguin Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 106 Restaurants in Dahab
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

we went one night omg it was lovely...well worth the money not expensive at all..the staff were really nice and the air con was wonderful, the food was lovely...best Chinese iv had in years...wish I had one near where I live...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenguinDiversDahab, General Manager at Penguin Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for a very nice review ,we wish you a safe travel and hope to see you again soon for a longer time in Dahab,
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
287 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good food, Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Staff here are so attentive and are always so friendly.
The beer is chilled so cold - perfect after a days diving and the food is yummmm and good value, cheaper than most places along the boardwalk!
The upstairs lounge area is so peaceful and relaxing in the evening and always a good atmosphere. A cool place for meeting other travellers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shilohmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenguinDiversDahab, General Manager at Penguin Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taken the time to write this nice helpfull review ,we are doing our best to have you like your stay with us,offering a good qualty food with good prices,
Have a good day and we will be looking forward to have you in our place again soon,
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
127 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Another Dahab restaurant with very good food and atmosphere. Right on the sea. Service was first class.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank wearnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenguinDiversDahab, General Manager at Penguin Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you,
it is very nice to have you eating in our restaurant,have a lovely day from sunny Dahab,
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New owner from April here to make a mark”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

New Brazilian owner started working in April and has redesigned the dishes and ensuring good service and food is always given. It is slightly away from the main strip, which makes it more relaxed and cheaper than the majority of restaurants.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mtp99mjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenguinDiversDahab, General Manager at Penguin Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank youi for a nice review you made for us,
Yes Chris has made a good efort to make this place bitter ,and we wish hime a good luck with his new travel,
thanks and ahve a good day,
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Egyptian food in Dahab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

I spent over a week in Dahab and this restaurant has the best food in town!! Good atmosphere near the beach with a chill out area and a huge terrace!! I had the privilege to personally meet the Chef who is enthusiastic with Egyptian food, there's also fresh pasta and pizza in the menu for the less adventurous. Unmissable is the fresh fish they offer every day. I do personally recommend the Ramses chicken pot and the Baklava for dessert!! The staff is really friendly and kind. I already recommended this place to my friends and I will return for sure!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RacheLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenguinDiversDahab, General Manager at Penguin Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taklen the time to write this nice review ,Yes our chef is egyptian and love his job which makes a big deferance in the taste,specialy with his egyptian home made food.
Have a good day and please keep recomending our place and send us more friends,
Take care and see you soon again we hope,
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penguin Restaurant also viewed

 
Dahab, South Sinai
 

Been to Penguin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing