We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest Holiday Ever”
Review of Happy Life Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Happy Life Village
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Greatest Holiday Ever”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

What can you say. This is a Gem in the desert. The staff,the food,the peace and quiet we loved it.
I have been in a lot off countries on holiday and work related,plus three times to Sharm but this place beats the lot. If you are going to Egypt for the first time or have never been outside Sharm, you have to go here. We will not be going anywhere but here in February, the weather is just an extra to a fantastic group of staff. You will not want for anything. If you love snorkelling it's right on your doorstep and there is a scuba centre on site. There is no hassle from the local Bedouin people they invite you to have a tea in there tents right on the sea front,lovely people.
There is also a Health Spa on site which we used every morning for a relaxing massage before relaxing for the rest of the day. Trips into Dahab are free and only take 10min and your bus waits while you shop. So thanks to all the Staff, Mohamed , Samar,Kloud,and all the reception people and we will see you all next February .

Room Tip: They are all well located some straight out onto the lovely gardens and the upper floor rooms either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MayfieldBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    199
    54
    17
    13
See reviews for
124
227
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I can't say enough how much we enjoyed our holiday. Upon arrival we were greeted and given a free room upgrade from a family room to a suite which was very clean and spacious.

Room service was daily and of a very high standard. Spotlessly clean every day.

Food quality was excellent, clean and varied on a daily basis. One meal beef fillet steak and lamb chops were available. Fish night had a variety of very fresh seafood. Lots of yummy options for vegetarians. The restaurant staff couldn't do enough for us. The children looked forward to seeing them. Thank you Kiro, Mohamed, Nasmin, Rimer, Joseph, Alfie and everyone else. The fact that we never ill once says it all really.

The animation team were amazing. Our children didn't want to spend time with mummy and daddy as they loved them. It was like having a new family. Mahy, Maro, Alex and Tifa you were amazing.

Rajey at the beach bar appeared every day with our usual order of refreshments within minutes of us arriving at the beach.

Diving with Lagona divers (on-site) was of an excellent standard. The house coral reef at the jetty was beautiful. Amazing variety of aquatic life even just looking into the water from the surface.

Quad biking with Ibrahim was a highlight. Rode into the mountains and had tea and food with the Bedouins.

My 11yr old daughter fell in love with horse riding and spent many hours with Abdo (Ushof) getting private lessons on his gorgeous Arabian horses. Even went swimming with horses in the lagoon at Dahab.

Felt very safe at Happy Life which was only 5-10 mins from Dahab town on the free shuttle bus or a taxi.

Don't usually holiday in the same place but we are looking at returning next year next despite the current Egyptian revolution. Any trouble definitely has not taken place in Dahab or the Red Sea resorts. Security on the transfers from Sharm airport to Dahab was excellent.

We were all so sad to leave and have made many new friends from Egypt, Georgia, Germany, Poland, Russia and the UK who we have spoken with since returning to the UK.

Thanks again to everyone.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have a better Sea View. Tell reception what you prefer on arrival and they will st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cabma7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Suitable for those wishing to relax, calm, quiet, with a beautiful reef just off brzegu.Centrum diving and entrance to the sea only from the platform. Excellent cuisine, all dishes fresh and varied. Discreet service, beautiful views, very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: The hotel rather for lovers of snorkeling and diving, but everyone will find an area for themselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hela888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akyaka, Turkey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We as I write this review are at The Happy Life Hotel, it is our second visit to this wonderful place,not sure about the previous review as we find the service and all the staff exemplary,as we arrived at the beach this am our coffee was served within minuets without having to order it,no waiting at all, as soon as you finished they came to see what they could get you next!!!!!!!!!!!!!the same in the dinning room we are being treated with the greatest respect @ civility. Food is of 5* quality & quantity. We have another 2 weeks of bliss,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAMROD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freising, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 10 days at Happy Life from 2 to 11 January 2014. We landed after curfew hours and had to stay the first and last nights at a resort in Sharm.

We chose this resort because it looked completely isolated and quiet. We wanted to relax, tan, swim and just be. The hotel achieved this flawlessly as it was quiet and seemed cut-off from the world. From that perspective, we were satisfied with our choice of hotel.

However, certain aspects could be improved in our eyes, mainly with regards to the food and bar staff. Contrarily to what many others wrote, we were disappointed at every meal, but it was all small details that could easily be fixed. For instance, the dishes are not labelled, and because some of the dishes are foreign, you would not know what you were being served. There were roughly 5 Chefs standing behind the buffet, and very rarely would they come forward to explain the dish. Most of the time they would simply stand there and chat amongst themselves. The food was often lukewarm because of the sheer amount of food and low number of guests. So the dishes would sit untouched for a long time. The chefs would not change or reheat the food so it stayed this way. The waiters had basic English skills and would not ask questions when they misunderstood us. They would often bring the wrong drink, water instead of wine, Sprite instead of sparkling water, etc. Again there were way too many waiters for the amount of guests so we were expecting to be well taken care of. The pool and beach bar staff would not serve beverages before 10 a.m. So having a coffee at the beach had to wait. The staff wasn't doing anything in the meantime, so it was a bit upsetting to have to wait. The sun would set behind the mountain at 3:30 p.m. so the days started early in order to pack the most sun and snorkel time. The Philo bar could have been a nice place to chill at the end of the evening, but it did not have the free Wifi being advertised, it was patchy at best. The bar played no music, had no ambiance and was decorated like something out of 1930's Midwest America. You could hear the "Barman" click on his mouse on his computer behind the bar. There were no cocktails being served there, no party happening either!! It could have easily been so much better!

Personally I became annoyed with the frequent macho behavior as I walked close to the service staff. Though I was with my husband at all times, the male restaurant staff whispered behind my back in Arabic, laughed and would look at me in an inappropriate way. At the end it tarnished my holiday a bit, as I clearly would never want to wander alone.

The rooms were clean and the grounds were beautiful so I have nothing bad to say about that. The beach was amazing, the snorkeling as well. If it wasn't for the restaurant staff, I could dream of living there!

The transfer hotel in Sharm was the Grand Oasis. Here it was the opposite of Happy Life in Dahab. The place was crowded, had loud clubbing music on the beach buuuut the restaurant was great, staff was attentive, dishes were labelled, there were no chefs idling behind the buffet, food was hot, etc. that being said, I would prefer to stay at Happy Life because all we wanted was peace and quiet, not a beach party.

We did the Quad ride activity twice with Abdul and those two times were the highlights of our trip. We wished everyone at that hotel was like him! He was funny, attentive to our personality and basically tailored the excursions to our liking. That guy is smart and we wish him all the best.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank VanessaMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smhslm
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed at Happy Life over Christmas and New Year and had a fantastic time. The hotel is very clean with amazing views and every single member of staff we encountered was friendly and attentive. I have some food allergies and the chefs were more than happy to cook my own pasta or prepare me a meal that I could eat; on one occasion there was garlic bread which smelt amazing and, so that I didn't miss out, the chefs made me some garlic potatoes, which were lovely. The food is the best quality and variety we have had in 6 AI visits to Egypt. There were also some nice little extras like candy floss or popcorn once a week.
The rooms were bright and clean, we started in 11B8 which is upper floor and has a lovely view over the bottom pool/beach (block 12 is closer to the beach). During our stay we upgraded to a family room for £10 per night, we had room 34B2 which had a lovely view across the sea to Saudi Arabia. Two rooms, one with a child's bed and one with a double bed, plus a full size bath with shower, all nice and clean.
The massages at the spa were lovely and all the staff at the spa are great. Go and see Naser at the Florena restaurant right at the end of the hotel beach, he is a genuinely lovely man who will make you a great Egyptian tea and shisha; he can also organise trips.
We loved our stay at Happy Life, thanks to all of the amazing people we met. Special thanks to Kero, George and Mena in the restaurant; Albert at the pool bar and Ahmed from the spa, as well as everyone else who made our holiday so special.

Room Tip: Block 36 is closest to the beach and is all family rooms; block 12 is closest to the beach for stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smhslm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Happy Life to find some winter sunshine. The reviews made it stand out from the other hotels in the area due to the comments about the staff. We were not disappointed by our choice, what smiley, friendly, helpful people they were. All of them, security, gardeners, waiters, everyone that works there smiles and chats to you.
The dive centre that is on the Happy Life site is also a fantastic place, nothing is too much trouble and it's well worth seeing the reef.
There is actually no need to dive,you just climb down the steps and stick your face in the water and see amazing fish and coral all around you.
We had no concerns about our safety and felt well looked after and safe at all times. It is such a shame the hotel is only partially full and that these lovely people are lacking guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hills51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
8.4 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
1.3 mi away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
3.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
694 reviews
3.4 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#7 of 52 in Dahab
374 reviews
4.9 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Life Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Life Village

Property: Happy Life Village
Address: Wady Quonay | P.O. Box 47, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dahab
#3 Spa Hotel in Dahab
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Life Village 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Happy Life Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Life Village Dahab
Happy Life Village Hotel Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing