We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Heaven”
Review of Happy Life Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Happy Life Village
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Happy Heaven”
Reviewed 30 October 2009

We have started booking hotels the last few years just by the reviews on trip advisor and I'm glad we did with this hotel.
Cant really add anymore than what has already been said about this place,it really is a little hidden gem and you do feel your somewhere different.

Just a quick run down rooms are clean and comfortable,restaruants are plentyful with a good selection of food (the pasta is the business) the 3 pools are really big with plenty of room for everyone (you get a clean pool towel everday) staff are good and are paid very little they like to joke around with you,the beach is not the best and is just dust really so if you are looking for a beach holiday then its not for you but if you like snorkeling/diving then its a definite YES.

It's VERY quiet in the night as most of the guest there are there for the diving and snorkeling so early to bed for most guest's,they do have a belly dancer show 1 night a week which is good and a bit cheesy but thats it,if your All Inclusive and dont want to be caught paying for extra drinks make sure you turn you watch forward 5-10 mins in the evenings same as "some" of the bar staff.....Hmmmm!!

On the beach turn right and there a few tents/cafe-bars go for some Egyptian tea and just chill out and watch people diving...the very last tent is owned by Abdel he just opened it the week we were there he used to work in a hotel and saved up all his money to open his own place pop in and have a cuppa with him he really is nice wise fella...with a cockney accent!

Another funny thing at Happy village there are 2 dogs that wander around the hotel as if they own the place but the Egyptians will go nowhere near them...the Sandy coloured one loves tourists/children and likes to just to hang out with you not begging for food but if you are an Egyptian she starts barking and chasing waiters,cleaners,bar staff around the pool...shouldnt laugh but it is funny to watch just as your swimming in the pool to see a dog chasing a waiter around the pool :-)

Definetly get the hotel bus into town we caught the 18:30 back by 21:00 this seems the most popular as the restaurant is still open when you get back.We booked our Blue Hole trip in Dahab town on the front next to the pedestrian hump back bridge £20 each included camel ride,snorkeling,transfers...Really good day out

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JACKKLAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    199
    54
    17
    13
See reviews for
124
227
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrocław
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We spent there lovely family holidays NOV 2008, 2 adults + 1 kid of 3 and infant 6 months, all iclusive option.
Location was the greatest attraction for us, we hate that "vacation factories" where you have chains of hotels along the beach and you can never be alone but in the toilet.

Dahab itself is a bit sleepy and a bit hippie lovely town, so it was good recommendation for this travel anyway, and Happy Life Vilage is about 10 km south from Dahab. See it on google maps, nothing else to say (however the aerial view is outaded there, there were 3 pools completed inNov 2008 while there is just 1 visible on maps.google).
Hotel: big but not crowdy (especially autumn - few people), generally clean (of course the stuff has never been trained to wipe mirrors properly etc, but no insects), green - with big attention to plants.
Animation - only in the beach in autumn, and not really pushy, some volleyball and belly dance.
Food - not bad variety for Egipt, fresh fruits and fish! No health problem after :D.
Service - VERY nice, TOO nice, you nearly feel obliged to tip them - but they fully deserved it, and even if you dont tip - they are equaly nice and helpful.

Of course you must be aware it's Egipt, so get ready for Egiptian way of "Italian Cuisine" etc.
A stay there must be boring for singles looking for social life - Dahab is 20 min by bus (3 ferry-bus daily for free from hotel).

Some remarks:

- no hotels arounds - just temporary snorkeling camps
- guests - mostly Czech, some German and Russian,
- hotel located in a bay with mountains from the west - sun sets behind the mountain is 1 hr earlier then elsewhere in the area (in autumn it was about 4.30 pm).
You can admire lovely sunsets 6.00 instead :D
- great reef on hotel beach
- you can hire camels or horses to ride
- small trip recommended to St Catherine (?) monastery - we missed it, :(

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We arrived on the 10Sept2009 for two weeks, we would have stayed longer if we could.
Bobbie and his wife from Belfast who reviewed this hotel in Jan 2009 were there again and I have to admit that they were right about everything. We found the staff brilliant, helpfull, good at their jobs and very attentive. The waiters in the restaurant must get a special mention, Mohammed, Mina and Dave(not his name but thats what everyone called him) drinks arrived on your table as soon as we walked into the restaurant, refills were just as quick, never having to wait more than a few minutes even when they were busy. The beach was okay, not white sand but passable. The reef is accessable from the beach or into deep water from the jetty. The fish were amazing and plentyfull, so if you go buy an underwater camera, it won't be wasted. Dahab is a short taxi ride away and well worth a visit. The people are friendly and not as pushy as other parts of Egypt.
Mina taught us a phrase to use, mfish faduc ! Im sorry for the bad spelling but it means I have on money, and it works! I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to get away from it all and Chill it is perfect and we will definately return again next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bebington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

This is the most amazing place we have ever stayed. We spent a fortnight at the hotel at the beginning of August and loved it. The hotel is out of the way, so if you like to be right in the thick of it this isnt the place for you, but this suited me and my boyfriend perfectly. The staff were amazing and really made the holiday. A special thanks to Mohammed who we adored! He made the holiday with his friendly and welcoming manner. We also thought Mina was great and couldnt do enough for us.
The pools are great and the house reef was out of this world. The beach is not a has no sand more gravel but the snorkelling was ace.
The food in the restaurants was varied and tasy and the chefs were really helpful too. Overall this is an amazing place and one we cant wait to return to.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimeechaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Myself and my partner stayed at happy Life between 2nd – 16th July 09 and found it to be a fantastic resort. The complex is huge with three swimming pool and decorative gardens running alongside mountains which lead down to a private beach. Very pretty.

When we arrived our bags were taken to our room by a helpful porter who showed us where everything was and made sure we were comfortable. All the apartments face the sea so have a good view but as ours was in the middle of the complex we had a lovely pool view with an ocean back drop. The room itself was very spacious and airy with a TV, fridge, safe and very good air con. All rooms have a good size terrace or balcony.

The hotel has two restaurants, The Love Boat (shaped like a boat!) for breakfast and dinner and an older restaurant for lunch. The food was always lovely with a good selection – fresh omelets and pancakes made to order at breakfast and themed nights such as a fresh fish platters cooked to order and BBQ’s at dinner. Afternoon tea was also served at the pool bar each day with pastries and cakes available. There are four bars across the complex, two pool bars, an English themed bar and “Bedouin tend” on the beach where evening shows are put on. All the waiting/bar staff were great (especially Mohammed), always on hand to bring over a drink should you be nearing the bottom of a glass or to clear away used plates etc. All pool and bar guys were also fantastic, really attentive and very friendly always stopping to have a chat with you.
Even though Happy Life is very secluded there is plenty to do. The on site dive centre (Orca) is very professional and offers daily diving and snorkeling trips to various points of interest (we visited the Blue Hole to snorkel on one occasion which I would really recommend) and you can also hire diving or snorkeling equipment to explore the “house reef” located on the shore at Happy Life – well worth a look, some amazing fish and coral. We also went on an excursion to Mount Sinai though our tour company which is another trip not to be missed.

We took advantage of the shuttle bus run by the hotel to visit Dahab centre a few times throughout our trip. I would recommend visiting in the evening rather than the day as this was when the town came to life. Dahab itself is quiet and sleepy and very relaxed. I loved its hippy feel.

I really would highly recommend this hotel; I really couldn’t fault it and would definitely return there. A wonderful relaxing two weeks.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickieWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BELFAST N. IRELAND
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Simply beautiful - Happy Life Village should have a 5 Star rating it is amazing. We were so lucky to have found such a lovely corner of the world and do travel 3 times a year. This holiday was just so special as the hotel and scenery were amazing.

The Staff throughout the hotel from Management down were the most professional and courteous we have ever experienced they did everything possible towards a brilliant holiday and we cannot write highly enough to commend their efforts. They were just lovely.

The hotel was beautiful, well spaced with lovely gardens, pools etc., the room was spacious, very clean (cleaned daily) great air conditioning and the view from the room simply stunning. No photo of the scenery or the hotel would do it justice.

The food served throughout the hotel was lovely and varied. Each day we had different meals and there was nothing that was not available. The Restuarant Staff could not do enough to ensure that each guest was taken care of - they were amazing from Management to the Waiters - the Restuarant Manager Mohammad was a true gentleman and so professional -

We loved this hotel and location so much we cancelled our original planned holiday to enable us to return in September 09.

The snorkelling is a must - the most beautiful sights and plenty of trips available. We would like to visit Luxor 'The Valley of the Kings' during our stay.

A brilliant Hotel/Staff/Food and location!!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VERONICA015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire uk
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2009

The holiday with the perfect host Mohammed and his wonderful staff.Having read many reviews, we totally agree with all the comments written and would like to add a few more.
Mohammed the resturant manger set us a bit of homework each day to learn some egyptian words ,and before we left we were stringing small sentances together, which made mohammed`s beaming smile even brighter ! This hotel could not be faulted and our return date should not be long coming WHAT VALUE FOR MONEY.We meet a lovely couple from Stoke Jackie and John who we spent some quality evenings with thanks to you both from Jan and Chas.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chas1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
8.4 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
1.3 mi away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
3.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
694 reviews
3.4 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#6 of 52 in Dahab
374 reviews
4.9 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Life Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Life Village

Property: Happy Life Village
Address: Wady Quonay | P.O. Box 47, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dahab
#3 Spa Hotel in Dahab
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Life Village 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Happy Life Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Life Village Dahab
Happy Life Village Hotel Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing