We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply great place to stay.”
Review of Happy Life Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Happy Life Village
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Simply great place to stay.”
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Stayed here for a week at he end of Ramadan. The hotel was at full capacity for the festive days marking the end of fasting with quite a few egyptian holiday makers. I went there for diving and wasn't disappointed with neither the hotel nor the diving.

This is a 3* property don't forget but with 4* allures particularly where food is concerned. I have added 2 photos showing the dessert buffet at breakfast and at dinner to give you an idea. Coffee is not brewed but comes in soluble sachets, it's drinkable. The wine comes in the 3 variations and is absolutely tasty. I had booked half board and my bill came to 77 € for the week with several lunches at the pool bar restaurant, wine, beer and loads of mineral water. Coke, Fanta and 1,5 L Nestle mineral water are LE 7, pint of beer and glass of wine are LE 14. A bottle of wine LE 70. Pizzas to steaks from LE 30 to 70. Up-grade from HB to AI is € 15 PPD.
The GM is on site all day long, some of the the personnel can be a bit amateurish but that gets sorted out by the good humoured experienced and senior staff,

The rooms lack some ambiance and seem dated but the a/c works well and is adjustable, the beds mattress was just right to my liking, the water in the bathroom is hot and clear (don't drink it). The buildings with the rooms are 2 floors one upper with a balcony and the lower with a terrace. The beach towels are supplied. Bring your own shampoo.

The beach is not sandy but stones and you need water-shoes for protection. The pontoon has 2 comfortable steps to get you out of the water and is only 2 m high if you like to jump in. I am told there is lots to see for the snorkelers right there at the house reef.

Quad tours are on offer on site as well as camel and horse rides. There wasn't much going on at the "beach-night-club". There is a souvenir shop and a tiny min-market shop with limited choice. The hotel offer a free shuttle to downtown Dahab 3 times a day at 12:00, 18:30 and 21:00 return is 2 hours later. There is no ATM at the hotel, you need to go to Dahab for this.

The Orca Divers are attached to the hotel and I have a separate review on Scubadviser.com. Note there is a large dive gear shop downtown.

There is a couple of "bedouin style restaurants" next door very popular with divers that come here from Dahab and even Sharm to have lunch and a rest between dives.

The clientèle was mostly german speaking, egyptian families, central european, did I hear french ? some english speaking , some russian speaking etc. nobody pushing and surprise, proper queuing at the buffets! Dress code ? no swim wear in the restaurants. The GM's family and one of the owners/investors with his family stayed there for the holidays I was told. I wish I had stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hikerLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    203
    54
    17
    13
See reviews for
125
228
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We eight arrived on the 5th August for two weeks holiday and checked into three lovely rooms all close together, the staff could.nt do enough for us all fantastic from the reception , restaurant , pools and room boy ,and even the driver Omar who was fantastic and on hand when we needed to go to the hospital with my mother, special thanks to Mohamed (restaurant superviser) and Maggott, the staff were all fantastic and did not stop running around all day and always had smiles on their faces, the food was good but a bit samey but hey what do you expect for the money, pancakes were lovely, the wine in the restaurants was very good, the rooms were kept very clean as was the pool and pool area, its well worth a visit on the free shuttle to Dahab, and the snorkling is very good, the evenings were quite but it was also very hot so it was nice to sit in your air conditioned rooms, which was also vey efficient, all in all very good place to go for a holiday, oh and treat yourself to a massage ( best ones i have ever had, I had three) FANTASTIC

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesley580425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We travelled on the 5th August for 2 weeks. We were a large party including young children, and teenagers. The staff were all extremely helpful and really cannot do enough to help you. The waiters were lovely and very attentive.They were literally running around the whole time. My mum had extreme tummy trouble due to the heat and Mohammed the waiter's supervisor was particularly good as was Maggot and were having delicious soup made up to order.Said at the pool bar was very friendly and the waiters came round every few minutes to serve us. The food did get a bit samey and boring during the second week. The wine was nice but you could only get it at lunch and dinner. The animation team were around the pool during the day We had young children with us but we never found the kids club.The eveningswere a bit quiet. Everyone disappeared and we never did find out where they all went! The house reef was amazing! All in all a good holiday. Oh and the massages were brilliant!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazzy1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Just got back from a week at happy life

First impresions what a dump drove in past the building work and main reception was a bit shabby , Room was ok bit dated but what we were expecting. great veiws of beach and the local shacks camals wandering past , went for a wander around and was very impressed with what we saw, food is good better than i was expecting having been to sharm before service great nothing was to much trouble pools clean realy good bars the top bar was great the staff were very goodcould not serve you fast enough the bottom bar was good george the waiter brought drinks around all day no fuss or hassle chatted and made you feel like you were on hols looked after the kids 3 teens even brought my 16 year old a fancy fruit cocktail on here birthday.food at the bar was cheap and good the kids wanted pitza one night and cam to about £10 for 4 great value And i gave no tip to any staff until we left. The beach tent was how ever a bit naf beach cleaned every day and snorkling of the jetty was good the hotel dogs are realy freindly and follow you if you go for a walk on the beach in all great cheap hotel only rated 3star and when all the building work is complete which is a new pool ,enterance ,resteraunt ,and reception this will be a very good hotel so go now before they put the prices up.you will enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waynefromwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We've recently returned from 2 weeks All Inclusive at the Happy Life. We stayed late July/Early August. Travelled on excellent flights with BA (booked ourselves) into Sharm, but booked hotel with Olympic Holidays. Absolutely excellent value for money!! We must have drunk at least £750 worth of various soft & alcoholic drinks throughout the 2 weeks and boy do you need them!! It was very hot!! 35-40 oC. This was our 3rd visit to Egypt, having stayed at the Hyatt Regency & Sol Y Mar Sea Star in Taba on previous trips.
Location - the hotel is approx 9km to the south of Dahab set in it's own walled grounds. There are no other hotels nearby.The management provide a free shuttle bus 3 times a day (about 10/15 mins) into Dahab. Well worth the trip. Here's a tip - when you arrive let everyone off the bus first and let them walk down the street ahead of you. They then act as fodder to the gauntlet of shop & restaurant owners who are lined up to grab you as you walk into town. The hotel are in the process of building more rooms and consequently there is some construction work ongoing (although you would not have known). Also be prepared for a bumpy arrival at the hotel, as they have not yet built a road.
The hotel itself, including the grounds, pools & rooms were kept clean & tidy. 3 different pools; main pool with water slides & kids pool was the centre of attention most days with the animation team in attendance with water polo, water aerobics, poolside games, kids mini disco & more. The other 2 pools were quieter if you didn't want to be bothered by the noise, music & activities. All pools were serviced by a pool bar with all drinks available. Snacks & Ice cream also available for AI guests.
Food - Not one of us had any food poisoning issues at all! Yet at 5* Hyatt Regency we were both quite ill for 2 days! Please be aware that the chefs & restaurant staff were wearing gloves, the management had installed and were promoting use of hand sanitising gel on entry into the restaurant and that hot food was kept hot and salads/cold food was kept under cling film. Fresh pancakes & omeletes for breakfast with fresh fruit, cereal, bread/toast, cheeses & continental meats. Tea, coffee & fruit squash or water available. Lunch - variety of dishes but always fresh pasta/gnocchi & salads. There was usually beef, chicken, fish & vegetable dishes available. Also a kids corner for those that can't do without burgers/frankfurter sausages & nuggets. Evening meals were also good
- usually had several theme nights including BBQ (Chicken & Ribs) nite, Pizza nite & and another fish BBQ with whole BBQ'd fish.
The sea was stunning! Beautifully clear water. Some of best snorkling & diving I've ever done. With the backdrop of the Sinai mountains & Saudi on the horizon it was spectacular. For any divers or prospective divers I would highly recommend you use Poseidon Divers in Dahab (ask for Crazy camel camp) or see their website. While the hotels dive club is OK they cater mainly for german, russian & polish guests and I did not see their PADI credentials/rating. Poseidon are 5* PADI rated , have a 5* trip advisor rating and the service is excellent.
Having read one of the previous reviews,we did not experience any problems with thieving, despite leaving camera's, watches & dive gear lying around in the room. All rooms are equipped with a lockable safe which we did use.
I would rate it as a good 3 star, Spectacular location, Superb value for money. If your looking for a nice peaceful holiday in a stunning location - this is it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevie_c9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We have just returned from a 2 week family holiday to Happy Life Village.

The Hotel: The grounds were well kept and the pools were great, however, a number of kids (mine included) and one of the animation team came up in a rash which was quite painful. We think this was probably due to the chemicals in the pool and it was reported. I would recommend you take some sort of barrier cream (sudacream) if going with kids just in case. Also, the towel man was reserving beds for people (for a tip) at the slide pool so most were gone very early but didn't get used until lunchtime quite often!

Rooms: We had a family room which was very spacious, however, the bathroom urgently needed a revamp and the air con was very noisy but we got used to it. We had a good view of the sea. The rooms were cleaned quite well every day. We did not have anything go missing from our rooms despite leaving perfume, DS games and small amounts of change laying around.

Food: We thought the food was pretty good for an A/I, my only complaint would be no fruit juice. None of us were ill apart from the usual holiday tummy, which is probably caused by heat and cold drinks!

Staff: The guys by the slide pool worked very hard and do a lovely iced coffee! Getting drinks at mealtimes could be rather slow and often resulted in getting 2 lots as you order again after waiting so long. Reception staff were fine with us and the on site doctor was very good. The animation team were great and were what made the holiday for my kids.

The other guests: There were hardly any other brits at this hotel (partly why we booked it) which meant that most of us chatted to each other at some time or other! It was nice to see my kids playing with German and Eyptian kids, and for us adults to talk to other nationalities, it reminded me of my backpacking days. It's just a good job everyone speaks English!!!!! :-) We didn't have any problems with other guests being rude or pushing in queues etc. The Germans are very competitive at Water Polo, but then so were we!

The weather: Too hot for me - I wouldn't go again in August!

The Sea Life: In the words of my 8 year old "awsome". We saw so many fish of different varieties, it was amazing. Better than the Great Barrier Reef and a lot more easy to access. My husband and son did some dives with Poseidon in Dahab and were very impressed with them.

Dahab: I liked the town, admittedly we only went along the front which had a mixture of souvenir shops, supermarkets an chemists as well as plenty of restaurants and bars. We went to Same Same (but different) for delicous milkshakes and had a meal at Ali Baba's - very good, bit of an experience!

Excursions: We did an overnight trip to Cairo booked through Fiona of Dahab Travel. It was very good but a very long drive.

All in all a great holiday! Feel free to ask any questions.....
Plumx

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plum1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Happy Life, beautiful pools, grounds
Poor rooms
Poor food
THEIVING CLEANING STAFF
We had perfume & cigarettes stolen from our room
had a chat too Maggot( yes thats his name) about it
it became very clear that he was aware of a problem with
staff stealing from rooms, unfortunatley he left it too late
to do anything about this, he was more concerned with
what would be wrote on trip advisor.
To our shock & horror the couple in the next room to us
called him to their room, the guy had gone into the safe to get his dive
money out, only too find £120.00 had gone, again maggot knew of this problem
the couple concerned wanted the police called in, but he would not do this
after a long time arguing with him he eventually agreed to give them there money back in euros.
The one thing i would like too say is the bar staff at the slide pool were fantastic,
but thats not enough for me to go back, my other half would go back to Dahab for the diving, but not to Happy Life.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pinkwelliesDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
8.4 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
0.0 mi away
Dyarna Hotel
Dyarna Hotel
#44 of 52 in Dahab
71 reviews
4.9 mi away
Dahab Plaza Hotel
Dahab Plaza Hotel
#21 of 52 in Dahab
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
3.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon Hotel
4.9 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Life Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Life Village

Property: Happy Life Village
Address: Wady Quonay | P.O. Box 47, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dahab
#3 Spa Hotel in Dahab
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Life Village 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Happy Life Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Life Village Dahab
Happy Life Village Hotel Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing