We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, comfortable, a bit tatty but can't fault it for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bedouin Moon Hotel
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Basic, comfortable, a bit tatty but can't fault it for the price”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The hotel isn't constructed to developed world standards (door frames aren't quite square, the steps aren't exactly the same size etc). It is also a bit tatty, with some loose / chipped tiles, cracked paintwork etc. However, for the price it is comfortable, the staff are friendly, and the breakfast, nutritious and satisfying, if basic. I have stayed here twice now and would stay again.

On my second stay in December the mosquitoes were out in force in Dahab and made trying to fall asleep a bit miserable. The hotel isn't adequately protected against them (there was a screen door on the toilet window only, and only one bed in a twin room was protected by a mosquito net) so you will need to deal with them if you stay here when mosquitoes are active. After getting bitten for two days, I found the below strategy to be effective in minimising bites.

1) Use a plug in repellant (insecticide based) during the day.
I picked one up in a pharmacy for 25 Egyptian Pounds. This device halved the number of mosquitoes in the room.

2) Use a knock down spray on the remaining mosquitoes before sleeping. These sprays are available everywhere in Dahab and also provided by the hotel.

3) Put on some insect repellant (also easy to find in local pharmacies)

4) Wear long sleeved clothes (if you can get outdoors / adventure clothes impregnated with permethrin even better)

5) Turn on the A/C whilst sleeping. For some reason, after the A/C was turned on, the mosquitoes would get noticably agitated, and land less frequently.

I found doing the above would minimise bites. Although the above seems a bit convoluted, the construction standards meant there were plenty of gaps for the mosquitoes to infiltrate the room, necessitating multi-layered protection. For instance, without using the knockdown spray, mosquitoes would buzz incessantly, making falling asleep difficult, even if you knew you were protected by the repellants and long clothes. If you don't use the repellants and don't wear long clothes, just using knock down spray on the mosquitoes in the room, more will infiltrate the room after you fall asleep and get you.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    122
    14
    9
    4
See reviews for
31
120
141
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Spent two very chilled weeks here diving with Reef 2000. As others have said, if you're after 5 star luxury this hotel wont be for you. But if you need to relax in a friendly place, this hotel is ideal. Rooms are basic but clean, there were alot of mosquitos but a net was provided in the room.
For divers, this place is perfect. Most of the other guests were divers and were all friendly.We were very sad to leave and we're already plotting next years visit.

Room Tip: Pick a sea view room to get woken up the sea..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scrawn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORIAN5
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

i received my PADI card through the post today. And with it came the memories of the week i spent at this hotel and the guys at Reef2000. First time travelling alone and it was brilliant - the staff and the other divers make you feel comfortable and welcome - the room overlooked the mountains and although basic i wasn't paying for frills but for diving. The hotel was clean and quiet and the whole of the area you learn is basically a hippy town of divers, windsurfers yoga centres and restaurants and with an air of chilax. This is not sharm, nor does it want to be - where sharm is more blackpool this place is more Glastonbury in the chill factor.

If you want to dive and learn to dive come here the guys are friendly intelligant not arrogant and want the best from you to pass and to be able to take you on some great dives -

if i had the dough now i would be typing this from there now....

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CORIAN5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ealing, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Spent a week at the hotel while diving with Reef 2000 (Thanks to Sarah and the team for the great organisation and Akram for getting me through my Open Water!). Had a mountain view room, it was very basic but perfect as others have said when you have such great hospitality from the hotel staff and great company in the other hotel guests. The restaurant is very good value and the food is good.

The hotel staff make every effort to make you feel welcome and are always happy to ansswer any questions/give you any advice. Would 100% go again. No complaints, just very happy!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam_Fox87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

It's only rated at 2 stars but what the heck, it is perfect for a dive trip and that's probably the main reason you will go there. Some people (mostly singles) were there to chill and do yoga in an out-of-the-way place and it's well suited for that too.
Just a basic hotel, I paid a little extra for a sea view room which meant I got a nice sunrise view as well. Room was a decent size, 2 beds (really hard!) shower room and loo as well as a balcony. Nice and clean. Air conditioned. No TV or tea-making facilities but who needs that when there is always good company on hand.
It has a small restaurant for breakfast which also does light meals all day long. Staff were cheerful and helpful and security was good. No unpleasant surprises at the end either as prices were all very reasonable.
All in all great value for money and a perfect base for a dive holiday. Recommend it!

Room Tip: Rooms either view the mountain or the sea (at extra cost). Nothing much between them really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 34StreetRodMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We first visited the Bedouin Moon in 2009, and were a bit put off as it seemed somewhat run down. We went again in november 2011, mainly because we wanted to dive with Reef 2000 again, and were gratified to find that the hotel was fine, with fewer flies (which are a problem throughout the area) and very clean. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Recommended if you want a basic hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This is a 2 star hotel so don't expect 4 star luxury. That said I had a great time at the Bedouin Moon. The rooms were clean, the staff were very friendly - even gave me a card when they found out it was my birthday -, the food was good and the pool bar relaxing.

The guests were also interesting. When I was there, there were no large groups, just people on their own or in small groups. This made for a very friendly atmosphere and, for example, one evening the group at dinner consisted of 3 english, 2 danish, 2 dutch and a french lady. All the different groups seemed to get on from the divers, yoga devotees and the just here to relaxers. The whole atmosphere seemed to be a up-marker back-packers hostel.

Would I go again, well most probably not with the family, but by myself - certainly.

As for the Reef 2000 dive Centre - no complaints there either. The staff were friendly and kept the parties on the small side, no groups of 10 or more all jostling around and, as expected, knew their way around the local dive sites.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
2.3 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
0.2 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
698 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
4.9 mi away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
6.1 mi away
Happy Life Village
Happy Life Village
#15 of 52 in Dahab
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedouin Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedouin Moon Hotel

Property: The Bedouin Moon Hotel
Address: Blue Hole Road, PO Box 60, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dahab
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedouin Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedouin Moon Hotel lies just north of Dahab bay in a stunning location where the Sinai Mountains seem to kiss the sea. You can watch the lazy, wind-ruffled waves lap the shore from any of our sea-view rooms or from the front terrace, where a buffet breakfast (lunch and dinner too if you wish) are served. All our rooms are en-suite, with air conditioning and boast unrivalled sea views across the Gulf of Aqaba or inspiring mountain landscape views. The hotel hosts a relaxed, comfortable feel and among other facilities you will find our stunning secluded swimming pool surrounded by colorful desert gardens, where you can sit back, have a drink and enjoy the best views in Dahab. Our facilities include REEF 2000 DIVE CLUB, a PADI 5* Golden Palm Resort and IANTD Technical Instructor Training Facility, who can cater for snorkellers and divers of any level. We also host yoga classes and yoga teacher training courses as well as massage therapy. Our international menu offers a delicious array of food that can be enjoyed in the restaurant or the pool bar. Free wireless internet is available throughout the hotel. Wind- and kitesurfing, desert trekking, boat and camel safaris can be arranged. So let's fly you to the Moon …..! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bedouin Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedouin Moon Hotel
Bedouin Moon Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing