We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bedouin Moon is a Jewell.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bedouin Moon Hotel
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Dahab
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We returned recently from our dive trip to Dahab and would definitely recommend the hotel and dive centre. 
The hotel is good by Egyptian standards being well managed and staffed by friendly employees.
The rooms were clean and adequately appointed, don't expect villeroy and bosche in the bathroom, rather a utilitarian space for practical use.
Full stars to the Chef, the food was so we good chose to only eat out once (and we like our food). The menu will satisfy your curiosity for a week and if staying longer the quality will draw you back. I enjoyed some of the  best fish suppers I've ever eaten.
The pool isn't large but it easily coped with all the visitors on our stay and the pool bar is close by and well stocked with large freezers, food ordered here in the day was always as enjoyable as our evening meals.
Reef 2000 are the onsite dive centre, they were efficient and every bit as  amenable as the hotel. I enjoyed the shore diving as much as jumping from the back of a boaenable enough to want to go back. The dive sites are as good as many in Sharm, some better and a lot less crowded, if you fancy jumping the midweek boat trip is quality, when I went there were only 7 divers, bliss.
There's a wonderful dog at the hotel called Solo, if our circumstances had been different we'd have loved to have brought him back to the UK as our pet. Sadly he's only got sight in one eye, either a victim of another animal or the intolerance of the local population. We took to him so much he shared some nights with us on our cool floor, he's such a great character, wait and see him around the pool!
I can't say enough about the experience we had, thanks guys for the great conversations at the pool bar and in the restuarant. Overall a great trip, this is one hotel  we feel will be hard to beat and firmly recommend it.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

The Bedouin Moon is in a great location. The atmosphere is friendly and staff are lovely and they have an incredible dog called Solo that will make you smile. What a perfect place. I would have given it a 5 star without hesitation, if it wasn't for the fact that I was appalled to find out how they deal with the hotel cat population and I feel this has to be said. Instead of neutering the resident cats (which in Egypt is not very expensive), every so often when they become too many, they make them disappear. It's not clear what happens to them, but even if they are just dropped somewhere else far away from the hotel it's a death sentence to most of the animals and a long + cruel one for that. I think most resorts in Egypt deal with this in a similar and rather inefficient way - this is why the problem never ends - but there are some establishments out there that are being proactive and are starting to change things for the better. My message to Bedouin Moon is: take a stance, neuter your resident cats. Let your guests know and put it on your website. It will only have a positive impact and make you stand out from the crowd. I would love to come back again, but under these circumstances I can't. Thanks

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Simone1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEDOUINMOON, Manager at The Bedouin Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Simone1411

First of all we are happy that you have enjoyd the "friendly atmosphere, the lovely staff and the great location" of the Bedouin Moon Hotel and the Reef 2000 Dive Club.

We are as well glad to hear that you would have given us 5 stars without hesitation.

Let me please explain you the situation with the cats at the Bedouin Moon Hotel and in Dahab:

First of all we all really like cats.
I for example have 2 of them - both rocked up at the Bedouin Moon Hotel one day and I have adopted them and brought them home to my house.
So most of our staff has done in the past.
You will hardly find a member of our staff that does not look after at least one Ex-Bedouin-Moon-Cat.

The main problem is that the number of cats is increasing every few months.
We have neutered lots of them already, but this does not solve the problem as there are lots of cats in Dahab and they are very smart and go to the places where people respect cats.
As for example the Bedouin Moon Hotel.

But even with neutering and adopting cats the number of cats is increasing continously.

As some our clients do not like to be surrounded by cats we had to act and relocated most of them.

Be assured that no cats have been harmed, but we were forced to take action to protect our clients.

Thank you for your understanding

the Bedouin Moon Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

TBM is a wonderful place to stay. A short taxi ride (or longer but more interesting beach walk) from the centre of Dahab, it's quiet, very friendly and superbly run. The rooms are clean (and scrupulously cleaned every day), AC-ed and contain a fridge for keeping water or anything else cold. Food is served all day, and in the evening you can eat more traditional Egyptian food or a range of 'international' dishes (pasta, burgers etc) with the sea a stone's throw away (albeit over the road, but a) it's quiet and b) you can car watch as they travel along with no lights....) If, unlike us, you're more adventurous and ant to eat out in Dahab the hotel has a contract taxi that'll whip you up to the Lighthouse strip for 10E£ (cheaper than flagging one down).

This doesn't seem to be, and hopefully will remain so, a hotel for groups out for a Big Week - stick to Sharm please - but is perfect for families (there's a lovely pool), couples and those just wanting to spend their week or two weeks unwinding. And of course, there's the excellent Reef 2000 dive club on site, too, and as we were here to dive they get 5* as well.

Oh, and before I forget: there aren't many hotels that allow you the room until 7pm on check out day...

If you want a friendly but not fancy (and I mean that in the best way) place to welcomed then TBM is for you. If we ever return to Dahab this is where we'll stay.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms (2nd floor) are even quieter than the others!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duffa101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Just returned from another great two week stay at the Bedouin Moon, They still have great food served all day, The staff will bend over backwards to help you in anyway they can and the value for money is never better, Very well done to David and all his staff. At the same time we had 8 days of fantastic diving and managed to talk Mo in to taking us to some new sites as well as the old favourite's. can't wait to get back out there and do some more and catch up with the gossip from our old friends and hope fully make some new ones.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good it makes no difference if you have a mountain or sea view I have tryed both o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This was our second stay at the Beduoin Moon and it was equally as great as our first stay. Whilst the hotel rooms are basic, they are clean, comfortable and the hotel and dive centre staff are brilliant. We love the friendly relaxed atmosphere; the handy location of Reef 2000, the on-site dive centre; the knowledge and patience of the dive guides and instructors, they really look after you; and the friendly guests that seem to be drawn to the Beduoin Moon. Yet again we met great people and dived some amazing reefs. We love the fact that we tend to finish both daily dives by late lunch, leaving time to lounge by the gorgeous pool or sip a cold beer whilst catching up with friends on different dives. (They keep dive groups small). The hotel seems to attract solo guests as it's so easy there to make friends. It also offers Yoga if you're so inclined. The morning breakfast buffet offers a good range of basics, with freshly made omlettes, pancakes and french toast, ideal for setting you up for the day. Other hot and cold food items are available for lunch and dinner if you didn't want to head into Dahab centre, and whilst it's a basic menu, the food is always well prepared and tastes great. The hotel even has it's own resident pet dog, Solo, a gentle mannered and friendly dog, though if you don't like dogs he won't bother you as there's always someone around wanting to pet him. The location is just North of Dahab centre, though it's always easy to get a 'taxi' and usually costs between 15 to 20 Egyptian pounds depending on how many of you there are for the short ride into town, just negotaite the price before you set off. (That's roughly only £2 a journey!) The location is conveniently near some of the best dive sites in Dahab and the hotel even has a house reef across the road. Top tip, if not already included in your package, arrange your transfers from Sharm through Reef 2000, better value than the travel companies and a comfortable air conditioned ride. All in all we love this place and will definitely be back for more.

Room Tip: We've only ever opted to stay in the basic, mountain view rooms which we think are fine, but if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I had a fantastic time at the bedouin moon hotel. And really cannot fault the service we recieved. We booked into a sea view room and it was just perfect for us. On our first night the Air on broke and it could not be fixed so we were straight away given a new room.
Breakfast had a huge choice everything from egyptian to continental and even eggs/pancakes/omlettes cooked to order. The attached dive centre is also fab felt comfortable enough to leave my partner behind and go diving without him.

The location is a bit out of town therefore the hotel is very peaceful.The walk into town took a bit of getting used to in 40 degree heat however there are 2 routes one along the beach and the other through the local town which is good for cheap local shopping and food!!! There is always the option for a taxi and if there is not a driver available (there almost always is) Reception can arrange one very quickly!! Fab stay and will definately be back to bedouin moon next time in dahab.

Room Tip: We had a sea view but even the view we saw of the mountains would have been nice to look at
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacqui909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I stayed at the Bedouin Moon in for four nights in early July to do some diving with Reef 2000. The rooms are spacious and spotless, the bed comfortable and the pool great for a relaxing dip. Breakfast is varied and thre is a selection of hot and cold food to fill your dive booties with. It's only a 1.50 euro taxi ride from downtown, and closer to the Canyon, Blue Hole, and Bells dive site entry points than most dive centres that are in the town centre. The dive team are very efficient and very friendly and dive groups are small: the most divers I had in a group with me was three.
If you want a night out, there are plenty of places to go to in Dahab for dinner and drinks, though dinner at the hotel is as good as most places in town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristopherBartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
2.3 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
1.8 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 53 in Dahab
569 reviews
1.9 mi away
Acacia Dahab Hotel
Acacia Dahab Hotel
#6 of 53 in Dahab
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#3 of 53 in Dahab
722 reviews
6.1 mi away
Happy Life Village
Happy Life Village
#12 of 53 in Dahab
571 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dahab Plaza Hotel
Dahab Plaza Hotel
#18 of 53 in Dahab
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedouin Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedouin Moon Hotel

Address: Blue Hole Road, PO Box 60, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
#5 Best Value Hotel in Dahab
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
Price Range: £16 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedouin Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedouin Moon Hotel lies just north of Dahab bay in a stunning location where the Sinai Mountains seem to kiss the sea. You can watch the lazy, wind-ruffled waves lap the shore from any of our sea-view rooms or from the front terrace, where a buffet breakfast (lunch and dinner too if you wish) are served. All our rooms are en-suite, with air conditioning and boast unrivalled sea views across the Gulf of Aqaba or inspiring mountain landscape views. The hotel hosts a relaxed, comfortable feel and among other facilities you will find our stunning secluded swimming pool surrounded by colorful desert gardens, where you can sit back, have a drink and enjoy the best views in Dahab. Our facilities include REEF 2000 DIVE CLUB, a PADI 5* Golden Palm Resort and IANTD Technical Instructor Training Facility, who can cater for snorkellers and divers of any level. We also host yoga classes and yoga teacher training courses as well as massage therapy. Our international menu offers a delicious array of food that can be enjoyed in the restaurant or the pool bar. Free wireless internet is available throughout the hotel. Wind- and kitesurfing, desert trekking, boat and camel safaris can be arranged. So let's fly you to the Moon …..! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bedouin Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedouin Moon Hotel
Bedouin Moon Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing