We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little piece of paradise...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bedouin Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bedouin Moon Hotel
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Little piece of paradise...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Spent a blissful week here, learning to dive in the Reef 2000 centre next door. Hotel very friendly & felt very safe as solo female traveller. The gardens are beautiful at night & pool is lovely. Food great & decent price. Lucy makes a good cuppa in the mornings, too - what more could you want?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    121
    14
    9
    4
See reviews for
29
119
141
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I've been staying in Bedouin Moon and diving with Reef 2000 in 2013. It's a good, relaxed place to stay in Dahab, good food (Burgers & Tajine). The best part, however, is diving with Reef 2000! I would recommend the hotel because of convenience to dive with reef 2000!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Diver_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

The Bedouin Moon is a great small hotel, with a great location if you are looking for some peace and quiet. Away from the more crowded Lighthouse area (5 min by taxi- you pay L.E10 per ride) or about a 30-minute walk if you are up to it.
The hotel itself has beautiful architecture. My room, which had a sea-view- was extremely clean and nicely decorated. The rooms can stand a bit of renovation and heavier curtains to block the sunlight, but they are lovely and warm.
The Bedouin Moin staff; Yasser, Seoud, Mohamed and the others were extremely helpful, and very accommodating and professional. It is also very safe; I stayed for 4 days there and it felt like home.
The hotel's diving center Reef 2000 is one of the most professional centers I have dealt with. Becky runs a tight ship and my dive guide Kamal was very professional, focusing on safety on each dive.
Dahab is safe people, this lazy town has not changed in the last year. I do not get the travel ban on it from European countries! It is heart-breaking to see all the shops dying for tourists and work. There has not been one single incident in Dahab since 2006.
Anyway, go to Dahab, where the sun is shining, people are friendly and prices are great.

Stayed there from 7-12 April 2014

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I booked a package of hotel and diving at the Bedouin Moon and Reef 2000 for March 2014. I wasn't aware of the "Amber" code from the government before travel and frankly there was no indication in the Dahab area of any trouble at all. The hotel was extremely welcoming, all the staff were excellent and went out of their way to give extra. As they had vacant rooms part way through my stay I was offered a free upgrade to a superior room. The breakfasts truly are wonderful and I recommend the freshly made pancakes as a precursor to diving.

Reef 2000 were also fantastic. My package covered my OW Referral Dives and 6 additional dives. Having successfully completed the referral dives Reef 2000 easily converted my package to the Advanced course so I was able to complete that too. My instructor (Adam) was just brilliant. Professional, fun and made every dive a real joy. A bonus was having Jonpaul Hosking, a professional photographer, come along on my Deep and Drift dives so I concluded my diving experience with some of the most wonderful pictures ever.

This is definitely a place to visit for amazing marine life and a lovely welcome at the hotel. I recommend taking Mosquito spray as I got bitten to pieces!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room if you want the view or the new superior rooms which have great showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pickjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Have just returned from my first visit to Egypt - against travel advice - I decided to take the risk and go - WHAT risk - this is one of the safest places I have ever been - The hotel and Staff at both the Bedouin Moon and Reef 2000 were friendly and helpful - and made my stay amazing. I stayed at the hotel for two weeks - the food is fantastic and the hotel has a very homely feel - Gilly is fabulous and I now have a new friend - I will definitely be returning to this amazing place - Dahab is great but I didn't get to see very much of the surrounding areas - my main purpose of the holiday was to Dive - and I certainly achieved that during my stay (20 Dives) Thank you so much everyone for making me feel so welcome and I look forward to my return visit. Please IGNORE the negative travel advice - I have no idea who or why this is being written - Dahab is the most relaxing safe place to visit .

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are amazing - sun rise is a must to see (although you have to wake a little early )
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed here for the second time in March for five nights. Bedouin Moon remains a very, very friendly place- well suited to lone travellers as well as families and couples. Yes, it's a bit rough round the edges but it has everything that you might need including good dark curtains which is important when you want to lie in. I note that the showers have been upgraded and hot water availability is constant. The food is good, particularly breakfast which is generous and designed to set up divers for the day and includes pancakes, french toast and lots of local delicacies. Gilly and Flo will make you feel at home as will all the rest of the staff. Rooms are quiet. I recommend 26 which has sea and mountain views - it's upstairs and close to the swimming pool which is a charming little oasis up the hill, at the back of the hotel. I hear nothing but good things about the high standard of Reef 2000's dive training - Adam, Flo and Mo are famously patient and nothing is too much trouble for them by all accounts.

The hotel is home to three pet dogs - Mama Maya, Archie and Duke. They are very friendly beasts and 12 cats - also gorgeous. Your kids will love them. There is a lovely fire pit area where everyone can chill of a night for a beer and a chat. All the animals are well cared for living on a designer diet of top kitchen scraps etc. Be warned that the dogs are nervous around Bedouin because Bedouin are not that keen on them...

Dahab is so short of tourists. It is tragic. There is NOTHING to fear and you will rarely find such kind and friendly people as the Bedouin and Egyptians. Go! Snorkelling and diving are both fantastic. Be sure to spend some time up at the Blue Hole which is just wonderful. Dahab is a perfect place for people of all ages to chill. If you hate Sharm as I do, you will love Dahab. It is not sophisticated but is local and colourful and you will actually be helping the Egyptian economy rather than pouring money into the hands of American corporates. If you want sterile and shiny, don't come. Dahab is about sea, people, goats and camels! There are some beautiful horses that you can ride.

You can get a taxi from Sharm Airport to Dahab for anything between £20 and £40 one way. Security on the road has been upped to include 3 check points. The road is being patched up post the recent floods so journey times are slightly longer- allow 1.5 hours instead of one.

A taxi from BM to town is a mere UK £1 or you can easily walk. It is perfectly safe to jump in the cab of a bedouin pick up. THey are honourable people. Just agree your price before getting in.

Restaurants that are good in town include: Blue House (Thai), Nirvanna (excellent Indian - just like eating in India), Shark (local), Mona Moma's (local), Kak Kok (local) and Yum Yum (falafel house). I suffered no bad stomach issues at all altough I am prone to them.

Easy jet flies regulary to Sharm. You can get a return for as little as £224. This is a bargain - it's a long way!

So, forget Europe. Give Africa a chance. Egypt is a truly amazing place. You will rarely find hospitality as warm as what is on offer here.

Room Tip: 26 - mountain and sea view - at end of corridor - very, very quiet with good balcony..Good little fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josephine66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Bedouin Moon is in a good quiet location on the edge of Dahab - away from the busier centre of town where most of the hotels are located. Also an easy walk into the town centre. Despite the FCO warnings, felt extremely safe (including walking into the town centre and back at night) and there was not even a hint of trouble. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly and offered excellent service. Good breakfasts too. The rooms are 'rustic' - a bit rough round the edges but also have a certain charm (bear in mind this is a 2 star hotel, so don't expect flawless rooms). The pool is set in a beautiful peaceful spot in the garden with views of the mountains and sea - although the water is very chilly at this time of year (March)!

We dived with the centre attached to the hotel, Reef 2000. The Reef 2000 staff were excellent and tailored the dives to exactly what we wanted, offering considerable flexibility. They provided a very high level of thorough instruction and dive guidance and we felt in safe and competent hands. I would strongly recommend them for any dive trips or courses.

Room Tip: Whilst the 'sea view' rooms are more expensive, you also have a road view and as such they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlyB2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
2.3 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
0.2 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.9 mi away
Penguin Village
Penguin Village
#24 of 52 in Dahab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.9 mi away
Acacia Dahab Hotel
Acacia Dahab Hotel
#6 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedouin Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedouin Moon Hotel

Property: The Bedouin Moon Hotel
Address: Blue Hole Road, PO Box 60, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
#3 Family Hotel in Dahab
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedouin Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedouin Moon Hotel lies just north of Dahab bay in a stunning location where the Sinai Mountains seem to kiss the sea. You can watch the lazy, wind-ruffled waves lap the shore from any of our sea-view rooms or from the front terrace, where a buffet breakfast (lunch and dinner too if you wish) are served. All our rooms are en-suite, with air conditioning and boast unrivalled sea views across the Gulf of Aqaba or inspiring mountain landscape views. The hotel hosts a relaxed, comfortable feel and among other facilities you will find our stunning secluded swimming pool surrounded by colorful desert gardens, where you can sit back, have a drink and enjoy the best views in Dahab. Our facilities include REEF 2000 DIVE CLUB, a PADI 5* Golden Palm Resort and IANTD Technical Instructor Training Facility, who can cater for snorkellers and divers of any level. We also host yoga classes and yoga teacher training courses as well as massage therapy. Our international menu offers a delicious array of food that can be enjoyed in the restaurant or the pool bar. Free wireless internet is available throughout the hotel. Wind- and kitesurfing, desert trekking, boat and camel safaris can be arranged. So let's fly you to the Moon …..! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Bedouin Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedouin Moon Hotel
Bedouin Moon Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing