We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely peaceful hotel with charming surroundings and people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mirage Village Hotel
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful hotel with charming surroundings and people”
Reviewed 16 June 2009

I stayed at Mirage for 7 nights with my boyfriend after a weekend of Cairo chaos. We had contacted the hotel directly before enquiring about a dive course and found the package very reasonable for the Open water dive course with virtually free accomodation with breakfast.
We were warmly welcomed and shown around. it's quiet at the moment as it is so hot but the hotel was intimate and it was great being surrounded by plentiful Bedouin cushions and staff being extremely attentive. Our room was a little basic but better than we expected and the air conditioning was a treat. Hot water too whenever we wanted. My boyfriend was ill with the famous 'Dahab dash' diarrhoea and vomiting (me too but not so bad) on our first night from eating at one of the busy town restaurants (Shark). Mirage were extremely sympathetic and the wonderful Said (waiter, cook, doting on any need!) prepared special food for him and we were fine when sticking to the food there.
The location was ideal, a 5 minute walk to town. it's quiet and so peaceful with a lovley bedouin area overlooking the sea and beautiful view of the Saudi Arabian mountains. It was great to be away from town because everytime we walked to town we got so much chat from all the restaurant front boys and venders. It was so nice to escape that at Mirage. We had to delay the start of our dive course due to our illness and Mirage immediately accomodated this. We had one to one tuition (2 dive instructors) who were patient and great fun.
We only wish we had had more time there. It is the kind of welcoming and relaxing place that you could stay for months!! Definitely worth another visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla2009Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    45
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
13
52
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2009

The location of the hotel is among the best in Dahab. In fact, the city lies on two small gulfs. The Mirage is located in the one of the two which is way more quiet (much less discopubs and restaurants and noisy and kitsch bars) and windy. It is very easy to reach the zone where the fun and the food are, but, staying at the Mirage, you avoid all the downsides of living too much close to it.

The room was ok, though a bit expensive (it was high season, we paid around 26 euros per night for the room, after having asked for a discount). It was not that nice, but the AC was working, as well as the hot water; it was silent and quite comfortable, that, in the end, is what you're looking for if you go to the seaside (and in Egypt it is quite difficult to find better alternatives for the same price).

The guys at the reception were quite friendly and nice. The breakfast is good, and there are some spots in the hotel where you can relax properly (check out the beduoins pillow area on the beach!).

In a few words, a place that could easily be improved in many ways, but a very good option in a town which is blessed by the sun and the sea, but which have forgotten the privileges of remaining quiet and nice.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2009

As a single female traveller I wanted somewhere safe, clean, friendly, relaxed, comfortable, quiet but well located and welcoming. I felt so at home at Mirage Village, I needed somewhere to recharge and this was the perfect place. Not just the location but the people who manage Mirage Village are wonderful. Everyone knew my name and I learnt thiers giving a greater sense of being at home. Even tho there are 20 rooms there I never saw more than 3/4 people at any one time, making the stay even more relaxing. They also have a dive school attached as well as provide treks to Sinai Mountains, Camel Safaris, Day trip to Petra and so on. It's a perfect place to stay if you want somewhere homey and welcoming. The room is simple but clean and quiet, the bed was comfortable and it was wonderful to hear the sound of the waves as I went to sleep / woke up. I would recommend this place to single travellers as well as couples.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surya_smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
droitwich, worcestershire, england
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2009

salem and all of his staff made us feel at home straight away, they could not have done more for us. the rooms were clean and comfortable and the restaurant was excellent.
we will definitely be visiting the mirage again in the near future.
once again , our thanks to everyone at the mirage for an unforgetable holiday.liz,ashraf,lyn and adriano

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleopatraandantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2009

I just recently returned from a trip to Dahab and stayed with the folks at the Mirage Village and found them to be everything that the majority of the preceding reviews said - honest, attentive, friendly, and very helpful. I was picked up from Sharm El Sheikh airport on time, drive to the hotel and received by the manager. I stayed for 4 nights diving, windsurfing and climbing Mt. Sinai. During the entire time there I asked advice from the staff told me what they knew and also presented me with their prices and ability to excursion. They were never pushy and also never tried to discourage me from shopping around. The hotel's location is an easy 5 minute walk to the main boardwalk area in Dahab but since it is slightly around the bend of the bay on the coast, it is quite and not mixed up in the noise and sometimes slightly dirty main walking area. Perhaps the best part about the Mirage is that all the room have their own hot water heater. So, whenever you go to take a shower, you have the hot water waiting for you. In the middle of summer this may not be a problem, but in late April and early May you can get a few chilly days and having nice warm water made a real difference.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venturemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2009

Stayed for two weeks in April, very relaxed, peaceful place to stay.
Very good , well priced food with great service (thanks Said.)
Just a couple of minutes walk to the main beach area of Dahab.
Basic room with on suite- but for the price a bargin.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.2 mi away
Dahab Divers South Sinai Hotel & Dive center
0.1 mi away
Blue Beach Club
Blue Beach Club
#20 of 52 in Dahab
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Coast Hotel
Coral Coast Hotel
#28 of 52 in Dahab
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
0.7 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
506 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seaview Hotel Dahab
Seaview Hotel Dahab
#23 of 52 in Dahab
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mirage Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mirage Village Hotel

Property: The Mirage Village Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 46, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Mirage Village Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We hope we can help you find whatever you are looking for in a holiday... Be it breathtaking scuba diving or desert safaris...or just relaxing in the sun and enjoying bedouin hospitality at its finest. Come and visit the beautiful Coral Reef of the Red Sea on the doorstep of MIRAGE VILLAGE. Enjoy the adventure of DAHAB under and above water and relax on the private beach of the MIRAGE VILLAGE . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mirage Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirage Village Hotel
Mirage Village Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing