We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shokran شكرا”
Review of Dive Urge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dive Urge
Ranked #1 of 28 Dahab B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bray, Co Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
“Shokran شكرا”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

It takes exceptional skill, teamwork, and attention to detail to provide a laid-back stress-free environment, whilst ensuring a professional and quality approach to diving.

At Dive-Urge, they get it exactly right – a holistic holiday and diving experience, whilst taking care of the environment above and below the water, with respect for the local culture and people.

After five days great diving, I headed off on memorable trip to St Katherine’s Monastery and Mount Sinai. Although I had organised this myself, Dive-Urge were very supportive in providing transport and helping to ensure the whole thing went off smoothly.

Thanks to the whole team – keep up the great work, and I hope this visit won’t be my last!

Room Tip: 25m one way to get your gear, 25m the other to eat or chill by the water's edge. What more could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidR506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne G, Front Office Manager at Dive Urge, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for your kind words.
Glad you had such a great trip and hope to see you here again soon.
Best Fishes
*
*
><}}}*>

Kimberley Britten

Office Manager
Dive Urge Dive Club
Dahab, Red Sea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
52
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Hi (we ) Darren and I sue have just returned from our first trip to DIVE URGE , the whole place is SO laid back , wonderful staff especially Kimberley who s always smiling :), and nothing is too much trouble , bootiful place for a real chill out x room with a sea view amazing xx I left with a tear : ( xxxxxx thank you to you all xxxx what an AMAZING PLACE X next time I might even dive xxxx sue xxx

Room Tip: Sea view x but all room really nice x
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne G, Front Office Manager at Dive Urge, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for such a lovely review. It was great having you both here and we really hope you come back again soon.

Best Fishes,

*
*
><}}}*>

Kimberley Britten

Office Manager
Dive Urge Dive Club
Dahab, Red Sea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Following a search in early 2010, I found information on Dive Urge on Tripadvisor. From the Tripadvisor, I soon established that this was the place I wanted to learn to dive. Despite delays due to volcanic eruptions, Dive Urge did a fantastic job managing my ever changing itinerary and I finally got wet in May 2010. My instructor Ahmed was brilliant - he was skilled, understanding, patient and had an amazing skill of finding the smallest of critters on the reef. During my stay I successfully gained my Open Water and Advanced. Above water, Lynne and her team provided a friendly, accommodating and always helpful service and made my stay most enjoyable and so relaxing.

Since my first visit, I have have returned to Dive Urge twice and each time has been memorable and very different. For folk who are looking to learn to dive, wish to have a more relaxing dive holiday than say a liveaboard or are interested in uw photography, I cannot recommend more highly the Dive Urge team or the great shore/day boat dives and beautiful reefs of Dahab. Melvyn M

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melvyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We had a brilliant week diving in December 2011, my wife was a nervous learner and received 1-1 tuition for her PADI open water. Now she wants to go back - so success! It was lovely to be staying in a place largely run by Egyptians, and everyone was incredibly friendly, kind and efficient. There is a relaxed atmosphere, the rooms are clean and comfortable and we felt safe at all times. The diving was superb, and being able to walk out to the eel garden straight from the hotel was a real bonus. It's a 5-10 minute walk along the beach to the centre of Dahab - just the right distance for convenience without the noise and mayhem. Being able to pay our bills in pounds stirling was also useful as the local cash machines don't always work. We look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I discovered Dive Urge in July 2011 when I visited with my partner and completed my PADI open water. I fell in love with the place - so much so that I returned for Christmas with my teenage son. We both completed our advanced course. My son had only ever dived in the UK and was completely blown away by the most amazing diving. Dive urge is a hidden gem in the quieter part of Dahab run by the most beautiful people. Staff are wonderful, food is brilliant, location is fantastic and diving is out of this world. We really had the most wonderful time and a Christmas not to be forgotten. And yes we are heading back again later this year!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NessienooBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2012

It is impossible for me to think of Dive Urge without a big smile appearing across my face. I have stayed there a few times now, staying both at the club and in the holiday apartments (about 2mins walk from club if you're r-e-a-l-l-y taking your time).

Dahab is a beautiful place, and its dive sites are amazing. Dive Urge makes it even better though through their amazing staff, fantastic food, brilliant accommodation and location. Their passion for people, the environment and diving shines through everything they do, and that's what will make your holiday - whether you're a diver or not!

If you're not a diver, I would recommend giving it a go here. I was a qualified diver before going but I've watched, dived and spent time with numerous people undergoing PADI certification during each of my visits and the instruction at Dive Urge is probably the best I've seen. In addition, their dive centre facilities and equipment (dive and first aid) are all of a very high standard.

Ok, stop reading and go book your holiday at Dive Urge - I promise you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Excellent place ideal for divers of all levels and families. We stayed there with two other famiiles (in total 6 adults and 6 kids) and we all had a fantastic stay. Lovely and very accomodating staff, great dive instructors, fantastic dive sites and unforgattable food! Definitely recommended for those who want to have a great dive holiday but also for those who do not feel confortable with diving and simply want to enjoy real Egyptian atmosphere.
We will surely go there again!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFFE3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
3.2 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
1.2 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
694 reviews
2.4 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#7 of 52 in Dahab
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
498 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
1.0 mi away
The Bedouin Moon Hotel
The Bedouin Moon Hotel
#11 of 52 in Dahab
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dive Urge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dive Urge

Property: Dive Urge
Address: El Melal Street | South Sinai, Dahab, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dive Urge is a PADI Resort offering a personal,peaceful & professional retreat for divers wishing to holiday away from the crowds. Set on the shores of the famous Eel Garden Dive Site, just five minutes walk from the main bay of Dahab. Our family run club offers a unique 4-1 policy for all divers, which keeps the groups small and your enjoyment level high. We offer the highest standards of attention and care for all our guests. Our home from home feeling appeals to all holiday makers; singles, couples, groups of friends and of course families too. Our number one rating in Trip Advisor and Cert of Excellence, 3 years running, also speaks volumes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dive Urge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing