We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Holiday Despite the UK News”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dive Urge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dive Urge
Ranked #1 of 27 Dahab B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Holiday Despite the UK News”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Just returned from another fantastic 2 week break with Dive-Urge. Despite the UK Foreign Office website, my arrival and transfer to Dahab was no different than on previous visits. I was picked up promptly and was in Dahab an hour later. Apparently the curfew as reported on the UK Foreign Office website had been lifted for Sharm and Dahab a day or so after it was first put in place.

As normal, the facilities, service and diving were all top class and I must take this opportunity to thank Lynne, Helal and the team once again for making my stay so enjoyable and relaxing. The camel dive safari over 2 days was very special and one I would thoroughly recommend if you like the wilds, fantastic camp food and above all remote (read pristine) diving - a photographers paradise.

In summary, a truly fantastic and memorable break.

Thank you.

Melvyn

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melvyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cameleyes, Owner at Dive Urge, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Its true, there are no problems in this area at all, but so nice to hear this from a guest too, so thank you for reassuring everyone that it is business as usual here. We are glad you had a top time here at Dive Urge and enjoyed our new 'overnight safari' so much too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
50
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Just come back from a 10-day stay at Dive Urge and had the most wonderful time. Really attentive staff, more like family really (thanks Issimi) and Ahmed our diving instructor was patient and an excellent teacher for me and the wife and kids. I recommend the camel ride to the Bedouin meal/barbecue in the Sinai hills which was amazing. The diving is really cool, it was our first time but we all came away with our open water PADI qualification and the diving highlights were a turtle at the Lighthouse reef, and the Eel Garden reef which is on the doorstep. Fantastic to have breakfast in the Food Urge restaurant watching the sea and Saudi Arabian mountains in the distance. Good food all round too - we ate every meal there. We shall return ! I've rated this as 5 stars only because I can't rate it as 6.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stirling T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cameleyes, Owner at Dive Urge, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
We love your comment " I've rated this as 5 stars only because I can't rate it as 6 " it says it all. Look forward to having your family back for their PADI Advanced Course soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

This has to rate as the best holiday we have ever had as a couple with adult son. Something for everyone, two first time divers and one 'lounger', just looking to chill out and relax. Our first trip to Egypt, so - unsure of what to expect - we booked for one week only. What a mistake. There was so much to do, so much of local interest and such a chilled, comfortable and special place.

Why?

The diving instruction was first rate, thanks to Ahmed who took us from complete novices to 'cult members' in three days. This is the place to learn. Considerate of different levels of confidence and fitness - we had one-to-two instruction for our PADI OpenWater course, and our son - who is not naturally adventurous - went on to do his PADI Advanced course one-to-one. That individual level of attention really makes the difference. And the setting is glorious, great coral, fish ..... (My swimming pool review - there isn't one, but you won't get a better reef right in front of your room!)

The non-diving chilling part is just as good. This is a genuinely relaxed spot, beautiful location and lovely garden/beach area to lounge, paddle, chill with a book, snorkel the shallow reef, toddle along the beach, stroll into town or to the Bedouin market, enjoy a fresh fruit juice, or gallop on the beach at sunset on a beautiful Arab stallion. It's all there! And contrary to reports in the UK press about 'trouble' in Egypt, there can't be a safer, more hassle-free place to go these days.

What makes it so special though is the Dive Urge 'crew'. Friendly, organised, professional service like this is a hard recipe to get right. But Lynn, Hallil, Injie and the team manage to make you feel at home and spoiled all in one. Special mention to (spelling) Insemie, our great drivers and the chef who cooks up a storm. Nothing is too much trouble here.

So 'bright fishes' all round! We are already planning our next trip - two weeks this time!

Right now, I can't think of a place we would prefer to be. Thanks to all.

Room Tip: We stayed in a sea view room and our son had a garden room, we would happily go back to either, alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superpuma_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cameleyes, Owner at Dive Urge, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for your review and the 3 key things you enjoyed; the diving, the chillin' and the crew here, we look forward to your 2 week holiday next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

I stayed at Dive Urge with two friends. It was a great holiday and excellent diving. Kimberley was our dive leader and she got the tempo and sites just right. All the staff and the centre were like family and they seemed to guess what we wanted even before we'd thought of it ourselves. We went on 13 dives in 6 days which is sort of tiring, so being able to relax back in the centre was important. The food in Food Urge was very good, breakfast was excellent and there are also plenty of other eateries within 20 minutes walk.
Overall the experience was even more than we wished for or expected.
If you want 5 star pampering then this probably isn't the place for you. But if you want a place to feel at home and hope to dive some beautiful sites along the coral reefs in the Red Sea then you won't be disappointed.
We were picked up from and delivered back to the airport without too much fuss.
Thanks again to Dive Urge for a wonderful week - see you again.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room which was a double and it was pleasant and gave me a private retreat. Two people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard_labinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cameleyes, Owner at Dive Urge, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
I love that you felt like family while you were here, we didn't have to try hard though as you were all lovely and very well behaved, we look forward to a return visit from you and the gang soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Just back from an excellent week down in Dahab with DIVE URGE, really good professional dive centre with friendly and competent staff and dive teams.

The facility includes everything you require, from clean and comfy accomodation through to a beach side restaurant where the service from Nassimi (spelling?) was superb.

The dive centre equipment is in good condition and the local dive spots are close by, the diving experience is good for novices through to very experienced.

Would highly recommend for small groups, singles and families.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are about 30 metres from the sea and 20 metres from the dive equipment and very com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 908steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cameleyes, Owner at Dive Urge, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
It is so nice to see a group of friends enjoying the club and so glad you all enjoyed your holiday, we look forward to your speedy return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I originally booked for just one week, but liked Dive Urge so much I stayed for the whole holiday (two and a bit weeks). Ahmed was a great dive instructor, very thorough and friendly, and took the time to show me as many interesting dive sites as possible. Food and room perfect, very chilled atmosphere which was exactly what I was after. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful - Naseemy is a legend and Injie was very welcoming and made me feel at home. The location (fifteen minutes walk from the centre of dahab) was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardperrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cameleyes, Owner at Dive Urge, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments on both our club and more importantly the hard working folk here. We do all love what we do and where we do it and it was a real pleasure to have you here for your extended holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubeck, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Wow.. My wife and me stayed for 7 days @ DiveUrge and it was just brilliant. Really nice and relaxed atmosphere, a wonderful staff and perfect equipment. The rooms with garden view are just right for the holiday.

Even after one week, we feel really recovered and most of the time it was just us two and the guide on a dive, uncomparable to a trip with 6+ Divers in a group.

This place is special and we've seen a lot of bases all over the world so far. Sure, it is a bit more expensive than other places in Dahab, but it's definitely worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IT4n6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cameleyes, Owner at Dive Urge, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thanks for a great review, we keep our dive numbers small so you can really enjoy your diving and we are so glad you and your wife had a nice break. +
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
3.2 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
1.2 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
1.1 mi away
Acacia Dahab Hotel
Acacia Dahab Hotel
#6 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.4 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#7 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dive Urge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dive Urge

Property: Dive Urge
Address: El Melal Street | South Sinai, Dahab, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dive Urge is a PADI Resort offering a personal,peaceful & professional retreat for divers wishing to holiday away from the crowds. Set on the shores of the famous Eel Garden Dive Site, just five minutes walk from the main bay of Dahab. Our family run club offers a unique 4-1 policy for all divers, which keeps the groups small and your enjoyment level high. We offer the highest standards of attention and care for all our guests. Our home from home feeling appeals to all holiday makers; singles, couples, groups of friends and of course families too. Our number one rating in Trip Advisor and Cert of Excellence, 3 years running, also speaks volumes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dive Urge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing