We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem with a great swimming pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Octopus Garden Resort
Ranked #42 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Cairns Region, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden gem with a great swimming pool”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Octopus hotel is an oasis amongst the hustle of Masraba- as soon as you walk in you feel at home. The pool is the perfect place to lounge around and enjoy the simple way of life. The rooms are clean and ideal-after all Dahab is not the place to spend inside your room! Go explore this beautiful area- go diving, hike Mt Sinai, ride a camel, star gaze in the desert, ride a bike- all this can be arranged by the helpful staff!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquaox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    8
    1
    3
    7
See reviews for
2
5
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
new west, bc
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Very close to the beach. Quiet area, very clean rooms, good location. Hotel can arrange trips for you. We did not have daily housekeeping but staff clean whole building very nicely. No curtains in the windows, so bright! Hotel arranged our taxi trip to Jordan border for a very good price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaywithanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Well i was satisfied at the beginning of my stay there.I was supposed to stay for a week at the hotel and I was shocked that on my 3rd. day there the guy at the reception came and told me that there's a tour group coming and he needed to give me a king size bedroom suite instead of the two bedroom suite I was already in or if not he suggested that he could find me another hotel for the same price I was paying.I just packed my things and left the hotel and told him that I didn't need his help because its not that hard to find another hotel and I was really disappointed because it was my 2nd. time there and the guy already knew me from before...but anyways the hotel location is nice it's like near to all the places u need to go also its near a supermarket and the pool is pretty cool too but the rooms are not clean enough and they have a very low quality service there and their internet connection is so sketchy.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MohammedGabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2010

I stayed for 4 nights over New Year. The hotel is in a great location, close to all the cool hangouts and near grocery, bank, internet, etc. It is beautiful with trees and clean pool. I decided to switch rooms from 2 single beds to a double bed, the staff was very nice and helpful, they had no problem accommodating me. I was happy with the bathroom, showers & hot water worked. For the price ($20 canadian/night), I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SD_Backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Stayed in Octopus for 5 days. Ziggy was great along with the dive team and other members of staff who made us feel at home. The bathrooms let the rooms down but all have hot water and for the price you don't expect 5 star accom and we were backpacking so have seen worse... There is a lot to do around the hotel and it is a great base for trips, diving and snorkling. Would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueroyals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2009

I got bitten by bed bugs over a hundred times, but that didn't seem to worry the manager. Because his hotel couldn't have bed bugs - it was probably just me. Ehm? Right. Almost funny the way how rude this guy was, but I wasn't laughing after two weeks anymore. Scratching, yes. I would seriously NOT recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaskolnikovAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dahab hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

We stayed in this hotel for a week and we found that eventhough the price is very reasonable for the location and the facilities, THE SERVICE IS VERY DEFICIENT.
The main inconvenients that we found were:
1. There is no cleaning service for the rooms!! (e.g. Towels and linens were never changed, the bathroom was cleaned and trash can emptied just once in the whole week.)
2. The overall maintainance of the rooms is poor and the linens are worn out. (e.g. During the whole week that we stayed there the toilet leaked flooding the bathroom, and despite asking repeatedly for a solution, no one cared to repair it).
3. The staff's main interest is to sell tours and trips. Other than that no attention is paid to the requests and needs of the tourists.
Overall we do not recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Price, Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness, Staff
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.0 mi away
INMO Divers Home
INMO Divers Home
#30 of 52 in Dahab
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dahab Plaza Hotel
Dahab Plaza Hotel
#22 of 52 in Dahab
331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dyarna Hotel
Dyarna Hotel
#44 of 52 in Dahab
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Star Of Dahab Hotel
Star Of Dahab Hotel
#35 of 52 in Dahab
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Daniela Village Dahab
Daniela Village Dahab
#19 of 52 in Dahab
221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Octopus Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Octopus Garden Resort

Property: Octopus Garden Resort
Address: Masraba Street, Dahab, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Octopus Garden Resort is a cosy and quiet resort in relaxed Dahab. We provide excellent guest services and we want to make your stay one to remember. Lounge around the swimming pool among the palm trees and the flower garden - or go on one of our organized tours in the Sinai. Or come to our divecentre PADI S-35282 and enjoy the best of the Red Sea! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Octopus Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Octopus Garden Hotel Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing