We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time here, and will never return for a 3rd.”
Review of Jaz Dahabeya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jaz Dahabeya
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
sxylass07
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“2nd time here, and will never return for a 3rd.”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Returned yesterday after a lovely delay on flights there and back due to Greek airspace.

When arriving at the hotel i was very excited as have stayed in this hotel before reviewed it on here with a 5/5 rating however i don't feel this is what me or my husband got. The hotel certainly isn’t a 5star hotel anymore i would rate it 3star, and do not know where the 5star material is.

3months before we were due to go, i emailed the hotel requesting a king size bed and not 2 single beds, or single beds pushed together we have stayed in Egypt 5times before so are fully aware of what to expect, they replied to this email saying that it was no problem and looked forward to meeting us again. When walking into my room i was greeted with 2 single beds not even pushed together! immediately i told them that i wasn’t happy with the room that i had requested my double bed 2-3 months prior when the hotel was 50% empty and had also printed off the emails as proof. After 10mins they came back to me told me that they hadn’t received these emails, and that i was lying, that the hotel was now full and this was the only room i could have. (we knew for a fact that the hotel was 70% full at there most).

Room - room is very basic was cleaned everyday very well by the cleaners but it doesn’t help by the fact the room needed a serious revamp the walls needed painting the tiles were scummy and stained etc, but like i said the cleaners were fantastic. If you do require coffee/tea then you will need to bring your own kettle as they do not supply anything.

Pool - the pool was clean most days however on a few occasions we did see ticks in the pool, and another poo in the pool! but it was all cleaned and rectified very quickly it was no fault of the hotels.

Restaurant/Food - Many themed nights however always the same food, pasta, chicken, beef, salad. The lasagne would come out most days but they would put a different label on it so one day it was lasagne, the next lasagne bolognaise (it was identical). By the end of the first week we were sick of the food if I’m honest and did go out for dinner which we have never done in Egypt before. The breakfast was continental same everywhere. The only complaints i have about the breakfast was every time we went to breakfast there was nothing left just empty things, we then went and found something else (with great difficulty as it was merely an omelette or cereal to choose from left.) almost every day we had almost finished our breakfast before we were offered coffee or tea which started to really annoy us.

The restaurant was extremely understaffed on our second week, most meal times we had almost finished our food before we were offered drinks, and on the occasional times that we did see a staff member to get a drink we ordered 2 or 3 as we knew we wouldn’t get another. We wouldn’t have minded the fact they were short staffed if they had set up a drinks station or left water out etc for us to serve ourselves, but nothing was done for us.

Animation - the animation was okay, they seemed to take far too many things seriously and at times i felt they were slightly threatening, we did laugh with them many times however we didn’t want to take part in any activities as it wasn’t fun it was far too serious and if anything went wrong or you missed the ball you would be hurled abuse by either the guests or animators would start getting tetchy.
Holly & Tony were by far the best animators out of all of them, Holly was very child dominated you could tell she loved her job and she was fantastic at it, we wish her every happiness and luck in the future, Tony was very friendly and not pushy at all and you could tell that at times he was getting sick of the seriousness of the games too himself. Messi was okay however he needs to tone down his obsession with females Russian in particular and watch how he addresses people as many times i felt he was very very aggressive with me and the language barrier didn’t help things. As far as we were concerned there were only 3animators when actually there were 4, the chief of animation didn’t do a thing; he just sat in the animation box and played on his laptop. We got sick to death with watching him do that especially when one of the days the animators were short staffed due to days off and he didn’t help once! just sat on his laptop and didn’t deserve the be paid when the others were all running around doing the work.

Water- and i repeat again WATER, there are leaflets and signs everywhere saying that you must drink water as it is so hot in the country however what they dont tell you is you must pay for the water! they expect you to pay 10-11 English pounds for 1 litre x6-12 bottles of water and forbid any food or drink from outside being brought in! we ended up going to the shop 1 hotel down to the left and got 1litre of name branded water for 3egyptian pounds! Peanuts!!!...

We went to masbatt the local town and it was the worst and most terrifiying experience of my life and I will never go again, we were sworn at cursed and threatened with death all because we said no thank you at going in there shop.!

The bar staff and pool staff made this holiday for us, thank-you too all of the Mohammad’s, Fawsy, and George we love you all and wish you all the luck in the future.!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMUNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    212
    43
    15
    13
See reviews for
221
432
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We agree entirely with the previous review and feel it is spot on. We too became very annoyed with the loudness and too enthusiastic intrusion of the animation team who simply would not let anyone relax in peace and quiet ( which looking around most guests seemed to want as after all this was supposed to be a time to chill out and relax) we spent our time on the loungers on the beach and still heard the loudness and could not escape the animation team looking for 'team players' nearly all through the day, not leaving you alone for a snooze or read without keep shouting around asking for volunteers to play. The other big annoyance when all you wanted to do was relax was the continual pestering of the people from the massage tent, the beauty centre and the trip sellers who just didn't take the hint whenever you smiled and politely said no thanks. It became very trying by the end of our two weeks. It was a real shame because we felt the hotel was described as a relaxing quiet place in the brochures (and was the sole reason for us choosing this particular hotel) but unfortunately the people running it seemed to think everyone wanted music and action going on all day. It spoilt what should and would have been a great relaxing place. There were no groups of teenagers there so why try and make the place geared for them. It didn't really make much sense and I'm sure there were others who shared our views. A great shame and for that reason we will not be visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kas01uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We booked this hotel as we wanted to stay and dive in Dahab, the reviews on TA appeared to be very favourable and Thompson gave the hotel a 4+ rating. We looked forward with great anticipation to the holiday.

The travel was as one would expect - relatively uncomfortable - but the plane left on time and we were transferred to the hotel with a minimum of fuss. Check in was swift and as the restaurant was still open when we arrived we had a meal before obtaining the room key. The room was adequate with twin beds, safe, bathroom, storage and a good AC unit.

We were ‘given’ 2 small bottles of water in the room on arrival and told that if we wanted more (bottled) water it was chargeable (we were on an AI plan). ‘Free’ water was obtainable from the bars but by the glass not the bottle. We opted to purchase 12 x 1.5L bottles (~£10) so that we had a ready supply at any time of day. All drinks/snacks taken from the mini-bar were chargeable and as we were close to the pool bar (where both were available) we did not use that facility. It’s not unusual for the mini-bar to be chargeable, even on an AI plan, and the fact that water was available from the bars meant that that did not cause us any problems.

The hotel itself is nicely laid out with AC in the reception/bar area, a nice seating area on the balcony over looking the pool (with bar service), a pool with swim-up bar and a beach bar. All drinks (on AI) were local varieties, the beer was OK, the white wine drinkable and the spirits deserving of a good quantity of mixer. Snacks were available morning and afternoon at the beach and pool bars and whilst many people did take advantage of those we did not.

The staff were very good, always friendly and helpful and seemed genuinely pleased to see you, we really could not fault them. The exception to that was the animation team. On our first morning we checked out the beach, the loungers were very close together - too close for our liking, so we opted for loungers around the pool. All was well until the animation team arrived, they appear to be unable to function without loud throbbing (inane) music blasting out from approximately 10:00 to 17:00. We appreciate that for some activities, aqua-aerobics for example, music is an aid to exercise but is completely superfluous at almost all other times. The vast majority of people, and at times there were only a handful of people around the pool, were quietly lazing around, reading, chatting or just listening to the wind through the palms - basically just relaxing. The last thing they needed was to have their peace and quiet disturbed in such an intrusive and ill considered manner. People did complain and for 3 days the volume was slightly reduced and turned off for a couple of hours over the lunchtime period. The aural assault then began again in earnest, I suggested to reception that it was too loud but nothing was done. When I asked the team to turn the volume down they reluctantly did so but I could still hear it over my ipod. This may, to some, appear to be a grumpy old fart having a moan but even if they had played my favourite music it would have been intrusive to other people. It was not necessary, was unprofessional and spoiled the ambience around the pool and would be a major factor in us not returning to the hotel.

Onto the food, oh dear! Breakfast was the best meal of the day with freshly cooked eggs, rosti, sausage, salads, cereals, cold meats and pastries. Lunch and dinner were poor with little variety and what there was was either bland or over salted. Meat was tough and indeterminate, the exception being the roast chicken and lamb. Dinner was supposed to be a different theme every evening. Our game was to ignore the notice which told you what the theme was and then tried to guess it, we got the Mexican night correct, that was all. I spent a week eating chips - not what I go on holiday for - and we even tried eating lunch in the beach bar (pay extra) which did nice sandwiches (with chips) but we slightly begrudged the small amount extra we had to pay. Overall we did not go hungry but the hotel really needs to improve the food on offer, not even 2* in our opinion.

There were plenty of water sports and excursions on offer and was told that they were enjoyable and good value. I cannot comment as the only facility I used was the dive school associated with the hotel. This was, for me, the best part of the holiday. The dive staff were friendly, professional and safety conscious and took us to some great sites. They also allowed qualified people to dive independently which was liberating.

Overall we felt that the hotel did not live up to the hype on TA or the 4+ rating given it by Thompson. It is a shame as the hotel is in a good position, has good facilities, is well maintained and the staff (with obvious exceptions) very good and attentive. It would not take too much effort to turn this hotel into somewhere we would recommend but as it stands we would not return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank diverNewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

what a great place can't believe it took me this long to go to egypt..
ibertoel dahabeya is a fantastic place to stay. everything is so close that you don't have to go far to do anything. we arrived to a warm welcome and as it was late we were left snacks in our room. straight away we felt a home. we were looked after from day 1. we had so much fun with the staff they were all great. the hotel was clean the food was great with different dishes from around the world to choose from. if your into diving or snorkeling then this is the place to go. all of the staff were fantastic but i would like to mention Moustaffa and Emad (for the coffees in the morning and the service you gave us every meal time THANKYOU!) George Mohammad Farag and all the bar staff, Messi, Tony and Uli the funniest and friendliest animation team ever, we loved your antics, dancing, music, games and not forgetting AQUA GYM!!! (loved it) All the staff at the dive center Sam for taking us on our very first dive and Hamada for getting us through our open water dive course. Sam and Alex who ran the boat trips.. Reda the taxi driver out the front of the hotel he took us out a few times and looked after us. he dropped us off to go snorkeling and picked us up on time. he also arrange to take us back to the airport for a very good price. Also the young lad who ran the little shop on the beach and the bedouin tent.
I would definately return to this hotel. i cannot fault it..

Room Tip: we had the ground floor room next to the restaurant and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2011

First visit to Iberotel Dahab. Stayed for 11 nights during early September. FAB, quiet, relaxing holiday! Great hotel & staff!! Aready booked for March/April 2012!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This was our third trip to the Iberotel Dahab and already booking for next year, If you’re looking for a relaxing holiday without the kind of entertainment Sharm and other large hotels offer then this is for you. We had two weeks total relaxation with both pool and beach all within 10 mtrs of each other.
This time I took my daughter with another couple Quad Biking and incorporating the snorkelling at three pools and then out into the mountains. This was through the shop next to the supermarket just down the road from the hotel, well worth £30 for almost 4 hours fun, don’t pay 3 euros for a scarf but go to the shop next door and get one for £1.
I also went on the “deep sea fishing trip” with Sam who will pester you around the pool which ended up 2 hrs trawling and 1 hr hanging a line over the edge of the boat! Not what I expected but depends what you like.
Staff all great and you will find that they will help and have fun with you. They can’t do enough for you but just have a laugh with them as they love to have a good laugh. Try and speak their language as they will teach you some great sayings.
Don’t be put off by the 1hr transfer it’s well worth it.

Room Tip: Pool View is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Wow what an amazing Hotel. A little piece of Paradise as my girlfriend called it. This truly is a great hotel. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The location is great. Dahab is obviously an up and coming area as there are very few build and running hotel from what we saw. The rooms were of a good size and had everything you needed. The cleanliness and tidiness is amazing. Definitely worth getting a pool view room as you get views of the pool and sea. Food was of a good standard with a wide choice.The hotel itself is very quite and almost felt like we had the place to ourselves. The pictures do not do it justice.
DO NOT CHANGE UP CURRENCY BEFORE YOU GO!!!
This really is a must. We changed up money prior to leaving and thought we got a really good exchange rate HOWEVER.......
Due to the troubles in Egypt everything you can or would want to buy is priced in Sterling or Euro's. If you pay in Egyptian they will charge you an exchange rate of something like 10.3 meaning you will pay a lot more for anything you buy! This really is a big money saving tip! IF YOU ARE TAKING MONEY AWAY TAKE STERLING!!!
We paid for an excursion with Thompson through the holiday rep and due to the above paid a lot more than if we had paid in Sterling. We choose the Ultimate Desert Experience. This consisted of quad biking camel ride and tradition show and food from the Bedouin's. We were not told that you had to buy goggles and scarf's from the quad biking centre at a cost of around £4 per person. The quad biking was really good however you will be in a large group of around 30 people. The camel ride was extremely disappointing only lasting around 10 minutes and travelling around 100m. The traditional Bedouin dancing and food was anything but. They arrived in cars to a pre build stage area with flood lighting, sound equipment and serving area. The dancing was really really bad which was followed by the worst impression of belly dancing anyone has ever seen. The food consisted of salad, pasta, rice, BBQ chicken and sausages not exactly traditional food. My suggestion if you are looking to book an excursion is forget the packaged traditional things and sign up for the quad biking. You really wont be disappointed and it will be a lot cheaper. The Hotel is truly amazing and a must for anyone going to Egypt.

Room Tip: Poll view room will give you a pool and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ian218202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.2 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#8 of 52 in Dahab
384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon Hotel
5.2 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
707 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
1.8 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Dahabeya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Dahabeya

Property: Jaz Dahabeya
Address: Lagoon Area, Dahab, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Dahabeya)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dahab
#1 Spa Hotel in Dahab
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
#6 Family Hotel in Dahab
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jaz Dahabeya 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaz Dahabeya is situated directly on the sandy beach of the natural lagoon by the Red Sea resort of Dahab, just a one hour drive from Sharm El Sheikh International Airport and only two hours from Taba International Airport. You can reach Cairo in around six hours, driving through the beautiful mountains of Sinai. Away from it all and not as bustling or as yet commercial as some other Red Sea resorts, Jaz Dahabeya offers serenity in an unspoilt landscape with some of the best adrenalin fuelled watersports action and diving in the world. The scenery surrounding the hotel is breathtaking, looking over the lagoon to the mountains of Sinai and Saudi Arabia as a backdrop. The bay is one of the most sought after destinations for windsurfers keen for the ultimate challenge and many other attractions, such as the Mountain of Moses, St. Catherine Monastery and the Coloured Canyon are close to hand. Service and warm hospitality complete the picture as Jaz Dahabeya has won several awards including Holiday Check 2005, TUI Holly Award 2006 and L’Tur best 100 hotels word-wide in 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jaz Dahabeya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Dahabeya Dahab
Iberotel Dahabeya Hotel Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing