We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Windsurfers paradise & more”
Review of Jaz Dahabeya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jaz Dahabeya
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Windsurfers paradise & more”
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Had a really lovely time in the Dahabeya - staff are friendly, rooms are nice and kept clean, food is good although sometimes lacking in variety. Breakfast and lunch are great, wasnt so impressed with dinner - wasnt bad for the first few days and there were some good points during the week but just got a bit bored.

The hotel looks massive from the pictures but is in fact quite compact, still plenty of room for everyone and meant there wasnt a massive walk from one place to another. Windsurfing and dive club on the beach - my partner and i arent divers or windsurfers (although we did give it go) but it didnt make a difference to us. On windy days the day is packed with windsurfers and there are at least 7 clubs along the beach. There are roped off areas to swim in but not really much snorkerling can be done (compared to places in sharm) unless you want to chance having your head taken off by a windsurfer! Prices are really competitive for watersports so make sure you haggle.

Overall i would definatley recommend this hotel, they also have a good entertainent team and kids club (i dont have kids but they have there own little play house - seemed good!). There is a bedouin tent in the evening where you can go and smoke the shisha pipe. Gym is a little ancient and i think i blew the fuse trying to sprint on the treadmill! There is massage as well. plenty to keep you occupied for a week!

We also booked some excursion through one of the local travel firms, which involved a day in the desert, sandboarding & lunch with the bedouins. I must say one of the most authentic trips i have had in egypt, not everyone cup of tea but brilliant. woudlnt recommend the sandboarding unless you like running up sand dunes in 40 degree heat! Again prices are really competitive as the egyptions have had a bad year so it is worth checking them out rather than going with the travel reps.

When you go into Dahab you find you get hassled quite a lot, but i think it is important to remember that these guys have been struggling over the last year and are just trying to make some money - yes it is annoying and gets old very quickly but they really dont mean any harm.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurajsxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    208
    43
    15
    12
See reviews for
200
426
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Our first family holiday to Egypt. It took a few days to get used to the dry, windy, massive desert heat. The Sea was warm and clear - perfect for swimming. Good windsurfing, not too many gusty days. A great place for people to learn. Glass bottom boat tours, water skiing, horse & camel rides on the beach, all within a few minutes walk. The hotel offers entertainment, they will fill your day with yoga by the pool, darts to volleyball. The team also takes care of the children, face painting, drawing to the nightly Kinderdisco. My 4 year old still asks to go back and visit with Uli. The small playground and house for kids if the perfect escape from the afternoon sun.

Our room was sea view. The cleaners kept it spotless and their daily towel and blanket configurations entertained our daughter. The entire staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful. The food was okay, you will not go hungry. We all had minor stomach problems, but with a daily Bioflorina, you should be fine. I think more people had problems from too much sun.

The best part of the day was around 17.00 when the sun went down behind the mountains and you could enjoy a beer on the beach. The all inclusive is the way to go.

You can walk the beach and a little outside of the hotel. The hotel offers a bus into Masbat 3 times a day. I ventured in one night for some shopping, no problems. There you will find a grocery store and several small souvenir shops. The hotel has a pharmacy right next to it, along with a little shop with drinks, fresh fruit and snack food. Get ready to bargain, they love it! We did not experience any of the demanding or pushy salespeople that we were told about. The beach and hotel always has visible security. Overall, we were happy with the trip and would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My wife and I were looking for a very peaceful and restful week in the Sun. The Iberotel Dahabeya provided us with just what we needed. The hotel was pretty empty even though it was half term. As a result there was never a need to queue for anything and you could always sit where you chose in the restaurant and on the beach. The hotel beach is excellent with much nicer sand than areas on either side. Being Egypt, the weather, of course, was wonderful with just a little cloud and lovely cooling breezes. It is a fantastic sight to see the sea so full of windsurfers and boats. We booked a couple of trips with Sam from Wave Aqua Sport - both very enjoyable with friendly and knowledgeable staff. Staff in the hotel went out of their way to be friendly. In the restaurant, Fawzy was always very helpful and Mustafa enjoyed entertaining us with his English. Ali in the Aqua Bar is an excellent staff member who really impressed us both. Our cleaner Mohammed was also very pleasant and did a fine job. Food was good quality, although not as much choice as in other AI hotels we have stayed in. It says a lot for Dahab and for this hotel that quite a lot of people seem to like to return here. We would very happily do so. Some people might feel that there is too little to do (and we certainly heard reports of being hassled in the town itslef which we chose not to visit). For us, however, doing nothing but resting and reading was just what we wanted and this was a perfect place to enjoy this.

Room Tip: We were pleased to have a pool view room. Although right on the beach, very few rooms seem to actual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

With a little anticipation having read some good and not so good reviews on this hotel we were not quite sure what we were going to get , but after arriving late we awoke to be very pleasantly
surprised we found the staff to be very friendly , helpful and polite and nothing was to much trouble the rooms although a little on the small side were clean and tidy food was always well prepared and cooked albeit a little to much the same , The animation team tried to get guests involved in various activities but not pushy ,children seemed to always be entertained with games , face painting competitions ect there were also water sports and trips available from the beach windsurfing , banana boat , waterskiing and a number of dive schools , i dive with poseidon divers who picked me up by car whenever i wanted and they were excellent , as is the diving , as a couple on your own with a family young or old i would strongly recommend this resort / hotel to anyone

Room Tip: i think all rooms are good , we stayed on the ground floor with a pool view and small terrace where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Davidgrimsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sxylass07
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Returned yesterday after a lovely delay on flights there and back due to Greek airspace.

When arriving at the hotel i was very excited as have stayed in this hotel before reviewed it on here with a 5/5 rating however i don't feel this is what me or my husband got. The hotel certainly isn’t a 5star hotel anymore i would rate it 3star, and do not know where the 5star material is.

3months before we were due to go, i emailed the hotel requesting a king size bed and not 2 single beds, or single beds pushed together we have stayed in Egypt 5times before so are fully aware of what to expect, they replied to this email saying that it was no problem and looked forward to meeting us again. When walking into my room i was greeted with 2 single beds not even pushed together! immediately i told them that i wasn’t happy with the room that i had requested my double bed 2-3 months prior when the hotel was 50% empty and had also printed off the emails as proof. After 10mins they came back to me told me that they hadn’t received these emails, and that i was lying, that the hotel was now full and this was the only room i could have. (we knew for a fact that the hotel was 70% full at there most).

Room - room is very basic was cleaned everyday very well by the cleaners but it doesn’t help by the fact the room needed a serious revamp the walls needed painting the tiles were scummy and stained etc, but like i said the cleaners were fantastic. If you do require coffee/tea then you will need to bring your own kettle as they do not supply anything.

Pool - the pool was clean most days however on a few occasions we did see ticks in the pool, and another poo in the pool! but it was all cleaned and rectified very quickly it was no fault of the hotels.

Restaurant/Food - Many themed nights however always the same food, pasta, chicken, beef, salad. The lasagne would come out most days but they would put a different label on it so one day it was lasagne, the next lasagne bolognaise (it was identical). By the end of the first week we were sick of the food if I’m honest and did go out for dinner which we have never done in Egypt before. The breakfast was continental same everywhere. The only complaints i have about the breakfast was every time we went to breakfast there was nothing left just empty things, we then went and found something else (with great difficulty as it was merely an omelette or cereal to choose from left.) almost every day we had almost finished our breakfast before we were offered coffee or tea which started to really annoy us.

The restaurant was extremely understaffed on our second week, most meal times we had almost finished our food before we were offered drinks, and on the occasional times that we did see a staff member to get a drink we ordered 2 or 3 as we knew we wouldn’t get another. We wouldn’t have minded the fact they were short staffed if they had set up a drinks station or left water out etc for us to serve ourselves, but nothing was done for us.

Animation - the animation was okay, they seemed to take far too many things seriously and at times i felt they were slightly threatening, we did laugh with them many times however we didn’t want to take part in any activities as it wasn’t fun it was far too serious and if anything went wrong or you missed the ball you would be hurled abuse by either the guests or animators would start getting tetchy.
Holly & Tony were by far the best animators out of all of them, Holly was very child dominated you could tell she loved her job and she was fantastic at it, we wish her every happiness and luck in the future, Tony was very friendly and not pushy at all and you could tell that at times he was getting sick of the seriousness of the games too himself. Messi was okay however he needs to tone down his obsession with females Russian in particular and watch how he addresses people as many times i felt he was very very aggressive with me and the language barrier didn’t help things. As far as we were concerned there were only 3animators when actually there were 4, the chief of animation didn’t do a thing; he just sat in the animation box and played on his laptop. We got sick to death with watching him do that especially when one of the days the animators were short staffed due to days off and he didn’t help once! just sat on his laptop and didn’t deserve the be paid when the others were all running around doing the work.

Water- and i repeat again WATER, there are leaflets and signs everywhere saying that you must drink water as it is so hot in the country however what they dont tell you is you must pay for the water! they expect you to pay 10-11 English pounds for 1 litre x6-12 bottles of water and forbid any food or drink from outside being brought in! we ended up going to the shop 1 hotel down to the left and got 1litre of name branded water for 3egyptian pounds! Peanuts!!!...

We went to masbatt the local town and it was the worst and most terrifiying experience of my life and I will never go again, we were sworn at cursed and threatened with death all because we said no thank you at going in there shop.!

The bar staff and pool staff made this holiday for us, thank-you too all of the Mohammad’s, Fawsy, and George we love you all and wish you all the luck in the future.!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMUNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We agree entirely with the previous review and feel it is spot on. We too became very annoyed with the loudness and too enthusiastic intrusion of the animation team who simply would not let anyone relax in peace and quiet ( which looking around most guests seemed to want as after all this was supposed to be a time to chill out and relax) we spent our time on the loungers on the beach and still heard the loudness and could not escape the animation team looking for 'team players' nearly all through the day, not leaving you alone for a snooze or read without keep shouting around asking for volunteers to play. The other big annoyance when all you wanted to do was relax was the continual pestering of the people from the massage tent, the beauty centre and the trip sellers who just didn't take the hint whenever you smiled and politely said no thanks. It became very trying by the end of our two weeks. It was a real shame because we felt the hotel was described as a relaxing quiet place in the brochures (and was the sole reason for us choosing this particular hotel) but unfortunately the people running it seemed to think everyone wanted music and action going on all day. It spoilt what should and would have been a great relaxing place. There were no groups of teenagers there so why try and make the place geared for them. It didn't really make much sense and I'm sure there were others who shared our views. A great shame and for that reason we will not be visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kas01uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We booked this hotel as we wanted to stay and dive in Dahab, the reviews on TA appeared to be very favourable and Thompson gave the hotel a 4+ rating. We looked forward with great anticipation to the holiday.

The travel was as one would expect - relatively uncomfortable - but the plane left on time and we were transferred to the hotel with a minimum of fuss. Check in was swift and as the restaurant was still open when we arrived we had a meal before obtaining the room key. The room was adequate with twin beds, safe, bathroom, storage and a good AC unit.

We were ‘given’ 2 small bottles of water in the room on arrival and told that if we wanted more (bottled) water it was chargeable (we were on an AI plan). ‘Free’ water was obtainable from the bars but by the glass not the bottle. We opted to purchase 12 x 1.5L bottles (~£10) so that we had a ready supply at any time of day. All drinks/snacks taken from the mini-bar were chargeable and as we were close to the pool bar (where both were available) we did not use that facility. It’s not unusual for the mini-bar to be chargeable, even on an AI plan, and the fact that water was available from the bars meant that that did not cause us any problems.

The hotel itself is nicely laid out with AC in the reception/bar area, a nice seating area on the balcony over looking the pool (with bar service), a pool with swim-up bar and a beach bar. All drinks (on AI) were local varieties, the beer was OK, the white wine drinkable and the spirits deserving of a good quantity of mixer. Snacks were available morning and afternoon at the beach and pool bars and whilst many people did take advantage of those we did not.

The staff were very good, always friendly and helpful and seemed genuinely pleased to see you, we really could not fault them. The exception to that was the animation team. On our first morning we checked out the beach, the loungers were very close together - too close for our liking, so we opted for loungers around the pool. All was well until the animation team arrived, they appear to be unable to function without loud throbbing (inane) music blasting out from approximately 10:00 to 17:00. We appreciate that for some activities, aqua-aerobics for example, music is an aid to exercise but is completely superfluous at almost all other times. The vast majority of people, and at times there were only a handful of people around the pool, were quietly lazing around, reading, chatting or just listening to the wind through the palms - basically just relaxing. The last thing they needed was to have their peace and quiet disturbed in such an intrusive and ill considered manner. People did complain and for 3 days the volume was slightly reduced and turned off for a couple of hours over the lunchtime period. The aural assault then began again in earnest, I suggested to reception that it was too loud but nothing was done. When I asked the team to turn the volume down they reluctantly did so but I could still hear it over my ipod. This may, to some, appear to be a grumpy old fart having a moan but even if they had played my favourite music it would have been intrusive to other people. It was not necessary, was unprofessional and spoiled the ambience around the pool and would be a major factor in us not returning to the hotel.

Onto the food, oh dear! Breakfast was the best meal of the day with freshly cooked eggs, rosti, sausage, salads, cereals, cold meats and pastries. Lunch and dinner were poor with little variety and what there was was either bland or over salted. Meat was tough and indeterminate, the exception being the roast chicken and lamb. Dinner was supposed to be a different theme every evening. Our game was to ignore the notice which told you what the theme was and then tried to guess it, we got the Mexican night correct, that was all. I spent a week eating chips - not what I go on holiday for - and we even tried eating lunch in the beach bar (pay extra) which did nice sandwiches (with chips) but we slightly begrudged the small amount extra we had to pay. Overall we did not go hungry but the hotel really needs to improve the food on offer, not even 2* in our opinion.

There were plenty of water sports and excursions on offer and was told that they were enjoyable and good value. I cannot comment as the only facility I used was the dive school associated with the hotel. This was, for me, the best part of the holiday. The dive staff were friendly, professional and safety conscious and took us to some great sites. They also allowed qualified people to dive independently which was liberating.

Overall we felt that the hotel did not live up to the hype on TA or the 4+ rating given it by Thompson. It is a shame as the hotel is in a good position, has good facilities, is well maintained and the staff (with obvious exceptions) very good and attentive. It would not take too much effort to turn this hotel into somewhere we would recommend but as it stands we would not return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank diverNewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
0.2 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#7 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
2.0 mi away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
1.7 mi away
Acacia Dahab Hotel
Acacia Dahab Hotel
#6 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Dahabeya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Dahabeya

Property: Jaz Dahabeya
Address: Lagoon Area, Dahab, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Dahabeya)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dahab
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dahab
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
#6 Family Hotel in Dahab
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jaz Dahabeya 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaz Dahabeya is situated directly on the sandy beach of the natural lagoon by the Red Sea resort of Dahab, just a one hour drive from Sharm El Sheikh International Airport and only two hours from Taba International Airport. You can reach Cairo in around six hours, driving through the beautiful mountains of Sinai. Away from it all and not as bustling or as yet commercial as some other Red Sea resorts, Jaz Dahabeya offers serenity in an unspoilt landscape with some of the best adrenalin fuelled watersports action and diving in the world. The scenery surrounding the hotel is breathtaking, looking over the lagoon to the mountains of Sinai and Saudi Arabia as a backdrop. The bay is one of the most sought after destinations for windsurfers keen for the ultimate challenge and many other attractions, such as the Mountain of Moses, St. Catherine Monastery and the Coloured Canyon are close to hand. Service and warm hospitality complete the picture as Jaz Dahabeya has won several awards including Holiday Check 2005, TUI Holly Award 2006 and L’Tur best 100 hotels word-wide in 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jaz Dahabeya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Dahabeya Dahab
Iberotel Dahabeya Hotel Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing